Community discussions

 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24055
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

RouterBOARD testing procedures

Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:32 pm

A popular question on the forum recently has been the performance testing procedure of RouterBOARD devices. Some people expressed interest in repeating the tests, or doing the same tests with some additional configuration. We have written a new article specifically for this reason, by using the RB1100AHx2 as an example:

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Pe ... _Generator
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
miahac
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Fri Oct 12, 2012 11:49 pm

WOW!
Network Administrator
Kansas Hosting and Wichita Data Centers
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1810
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:31 am

WOW!
+1

Good article. And its really good to see fast path :)
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1839
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

RouterBOARD testing procedures

Sat Oct 13, 2012 1:49 am

Good article. And its really good to see fast path :)
+1. I couldn't agree more. Very nice normis.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179

Next Training
https://www.cbrown.co/2019/04/08/mtcna-june2019-wv/
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:09 am

Good article. And its really good to see fast path :)
+1. I couldn't agree more. Very nice normis.
Great article, I agree. Thank you for the clear explanation on how to replicate your results. Traffic generator seems like another ROS tool that puts Mikrotik above the rest. ...I just don't see the point to fastpath if firewall and conn track have to be off. Can anyone explain in what situations it would be useful?
Last edited by rmichael on Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1839
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

RouterBOARD testing procedures

Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:17 am

If your router is acting purely as a router and nothing else.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179

Next Training
https://www.cbrown.co/2019/04/08/mtcna-june2019-wv/
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:30 am

If your router is acting purely as a router and nothing else.
Would Equal Cost Multipath still work with fastpath? If so I could use it to distribute traffic to multiple firewall/mangle boxes for higher throughput.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24055
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Mon Oct 15, 2012 2:59 pm

Simple* ECMP routes are the same as regular routes from IPv4 forwarding point of view

So, YES, fastpath will work with ECMP

* - no marks involved
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:33 pm

Awesome article!
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
User avatar
peterd
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:23 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:22 pm

@Normis

Did you claim your free MT license for the article ?;]
"I love it when a plan comes together."
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24055
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:28 pm

@Normis

Did you claim your free MT license for the article ?;]
I didn't write it ;)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
vicl
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:19 am

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:11 pm

A popular question on the forum recently has been the performance testing procedure of RouterBOARD devices. Some people expressed interest in repeating the tests, or doing the same tests with some additional configuration. We have written a new article specifically for this reason, by using the RB1100AHx2 as an example:

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Pe ... _Generator
I hope that's not the procedure you use to report your "rfc2544 thoughput numbers". There's a reason for the rfc, so that we all use the same test procedure.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:29 pm

no, this is only for users who want to test their routers and do some number crunching. RFC test is done one professional testing equipment other way, as you say - there would not be any reason to run them if they are not comparable.
 
elmer
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:02 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:52 pm

What about wireless testing?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24055
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:34 am

What about wireless testing?
You can use same technique
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
shahbazian
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:22 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Fri May 17, 2013 11:56 pm

Thank you Normis for article and explanation.
Learn MikroTik to improve your network.
( MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE, MTCUME, MTCIPv6E, MTCINE )
MikroTik Certified Trainer & Consultant
RIPE NCC Trainer
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Tue May 20, 2014 3:27 am

Great article...looking forward to seeing more detail on testing and performance of the variants of the CCR series
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
vancas
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:51 pm

Hello,

I am new to this forum and I would like to ask a question regarding these tests, in case one of you guys knows something.

I am looking at the routerboard metal 5SHPN specifications, that are provided in this webpage: http://routerboard.com/RBMetal5SHPn, and in the performance test results they are mentioning Gbit port.
However, the specs say that the device only has one FE port.

How can they perform a test on a Gb port, with achieved BW of 997.9M (packet size 1518), when the device's port is a FE one?

What am I missing here?

Thanks in advance for any replies.
 
Nikita
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:23 am

How to configure a Mikrotik Router to replace CPE (Customer-premises equipment) router?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24055
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:25 am

How to configure a Mikrotik Router to replace CPE (Customer-premises equipment) router?
for example the SXT devices already come pre-configured for CPE usage. All you need to do, is open 192.168.88.1 from the ethernet cable side, and enter the SSID name of the wireless AP.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
cicserver
Member
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:16 pm

How can we silumate pppoe connection on routerboard? example is i have CCR model and I want to test the resources / performance of RB as pppoe server by somehow simulating 1000 or 2000 pppoe connection? how can I do it ?
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:25 am

Could anybody make example for 2 routerboards connected wireless? normis?
 
Nikita
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:03 pm

How to Setup a DHCP client on MikroTik Winbox?
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:35 pm

Have you read manual?
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1651
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:56 am

why in the www.routerboard.com site has been removed the performace test results from some products??

example:

RB951Ui-2HnD
RB951G-2HnD
CCR1036-12G-4S-EM
CCR1036-8G-2S+EM
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24055
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:18 pm

why in the http://www.routerboard.com site has been removed the performace test results from some products??

example:

RB951Ui-2HnD
RB951G-2HnD
CCR1036-12G-4S-EM
CCR1036-8G-2S+EM
we are adding new tests from new RouterOS versions. these will be back too
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

performance testing procedure verses production line testing QA

Sun Mar 29, 2015 8:00 pm

How are Mikrotik products Quality Assurance tested during manufacturing?

Example, if a RB has 1, 3 or 5 PCI card slots, are there dummy load cards inserted into each PCI card slot which draw the maximum amount of amperage/watts permitted by the PCI specifications? If not, then this could be a reason why brand spanking new RB boards are dropping like flies when you insert a R5SHPN and just a few seconds later - poof and the smoke comes out.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24055
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:28 am

Of course we test the device with all slots (no dummy load) loaded and working at full maximum transmit.

I have not heard of any devices that burn the card after initial run, you should email support and describe the issue in more detail, please mention serial numbers and setup specifics, so we can try to figure out the reason behind this.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures - update-->RESOLVED

Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:56 pm

Normis,

We have a 250 new cards, we were going to install. Out of the box, the first 10 or so quit working after initial wlan enable.

Here are some serial numbers. I have more also - but these are the ones I have in front of me right now:

Router Board 411
SN: 364904 A4B492/443
SN: 364904 7378AD/443
SN: 364904 753517/443
SN: 364904C7A8AD/443

R5SHPn
SN: 381501FFE 4B7/443
SN: 381501FFE 303/443
SN: 381501FFE 323/443
SN: 381501FFE 329/443
SN: 381501FFE 336/442

And yes - I have verified power supplies and antenna connections.

On new installation, it will scan (site survey), however when you start using it (connect) then it quits right away on 1-st wireless transmit packet.

The 411s appear to die and no longer function when the R5SHPn is removed (no PCI card).

What is the "/433" on the end of the serial numbers ?

Unless you say no, we are going to pop a new R5SHPn into a new 433 and see what happens.

HELP -

Tom Jones
FYI - we do know our WiFi. We have installed thousands...
- - - - - - -
Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures - update-->RESOLVED
Update - this has been resolved - working with Mikrotik
It was a board issue with the on-board voltage regulator -- which Mikrotik will make a part change to a slightly stronger voltage regulator.
Thank you Mikrotik :)
 
kyawkyawwin
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:18 am

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Tue Dec 29, 2015 3:19 pm

Great one
 
mecevdim
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 6:56 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:48 pm

Real world testing CCR1036-8G-2S+. Dropping one million packets in DDoS attack.

DDoS attack.JPG

Nice performance :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
SheilaCaba
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Wed May 11, 2016 9:08 pm

Hi..everyone. I am new to this forum. I am a RF engineer by profession. I found your article very interesting. Ofcourse this will help us with the router testing related problems as we face many while installing the different systems.

circuit board fabrication
 
p3rad0x
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:42 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Wed May 03, 2017 10:48 am

Real world testing CCR1036-8G-2S+. Dropping one million packets in DDoS attack.


DDoS attack.JPG


Nice performance :)
You should be able to decrease that cpu usage by dropping those packets in the Raw firewall table(if you are not doing it already)
There you go then you touched something ;-) : it only takes a change in wind direction to screw with your nat :-)
 
Leha
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:01 pm

Re: RouterBOARD testing procedures

Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:18 pm

Hi Normis,

I hope, I'am in a right toppic. You gave a link to the document http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Pe ... _Generator. In this document examples are shown using RB1100AHx2 and CCR1036-8G-2S+. What is with a RB2011 as a traffic generator? Of course, the data rate(s) may be lower. But does the RB2011 has the same features? What are the limitations?

Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: llag and 10 guests