Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

RB800 Operating temperature...

Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:26 am

Hi,

Just wonder know, in the system > health it's show the CPU or the environment temperature?
refer to the RB800 tech spec, Temperature range -75℃ to +65℃, this is CPU or environment?

any issue with this temperature (attachment).

thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24396
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:29 am

specifications talk about environment
RouterOS shows CPU
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:59 am

specifications talk about environment
RouterOS shows CPU
Dear Normis,
Then the CPU will hang when the temperature up to ??? degree ???

i notice it will hand when CPU up to 85 degree.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24396
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:00 am

85 is possible, maybe more.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:34 am

85 is possible, maybe more.

Dear Normis,
last question, the FAN power tapping is providing 5V ?? mA???
 
poli5681
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:47 am

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:11 pm

As far as i remember there was a hardware bug on the early RB800s, which led to incorrect temperature readings.
We currently still have 2 of them running, without any problems so far but with ridiculous temperature readings.
Soon after the issue was fixed; Still have one RB-800 here with a temporary fix for this issue; was published in the forum a while ago...
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Sun May 19, 2013 10:10 pm

-75 degree?!

Sure? Any project at very cold temperatures?

I have to make a project in fridges and freezers at very low temperatures.. I need examples please!
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24396
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Mon May 20, 2013 9:30 am

It should work, if you put it there before it gets to -75c. the board will keep itself warm, especially if it is in some enclosure. if the board has been frozen at -75c for some time, it could have trouble booting and would need some pre-heating. However, if you bring it in there, and turn it on while it is still warm, it should be able to keep working in -75c.

we could make a -75C tests of the RB800 in our temperature chamber, but it will take a few days for a result.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Mon May 20, 2013 11:11 am

-75 is too much. I need to use it in big freezers at -25. I think 433AH could work also.
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24396
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Mon May 20, 2013 11:13 am

I think all RouterBOARDs are tested from -35C
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2301
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Tue Jun 18, 2013 6:55 pm

It is posible downgrade CPU frekvency to 400Mhz on rb800? It show: Couldn´t perform action - frekvency is not suported on this board.
Solution?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2301
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB800 Operating temperature...

Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:41 pm

Solution is downgrade memory data rate
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cavok, sakirozkan and 24 guests