Community discussions

 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Bad capacitors on rb1000

Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:31 pm

RB1000 works, but randomly hangs. No diodes light. Power off, on - it help.
After openning case - capacitor are leaked.
It is know problem on rb450/450G and another models...

It is sad that the Mikrotik flagship is mounted such capacitors :(
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: Bad capacitors on rb1000

Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:41 pm

Deleted because not related.
Last edited by Dobby on Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Bad capacitors on rb1000

Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:05 pm

all caps have lifetime, how long this router was on?
 
chojrak11
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Bad capacitors on rb1000

Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:52 pm

I had some of those, too... It's a real plague in the industry. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague
Conductive polymer aluminum solid capacitors are also shown on this page :-)
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: Bad capacitors on rb1000

Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:16 pm

Deleted because not related.
Last edited by Dobby on Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Bad capacitors on rb1000

Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:21 pm

Hello honzam,

I would prefer to find some conductive polymer aluminum solid capacitors over the Internet.
They cost is much higher then the cheaper ones, but also the lifetime of those and your RB1000 is gaining up!!!!
Hello. I know these capacitors. We will soldering - rb1000 again come alive :)
all caps have lifetime, how long this router was on?
I'll try to find out and write ...
edit: Can you find out from the serial number? It would be faster
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
ohara
Member
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:30 pm
Location: Warsaw

Re: Bad capacitors on rb1000

Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:16 am

Conductive polymer aluminum solid capacitors are also shown on this page :-)
For somebody who is not familiar with capacitors like me, could you advise what type of polymer caps I should be looking for to replace bulged suscon 6.3V 560uf? Do I search for 6.3V 680uf polymer caps?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Bad capacitors on rb1000

Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:35 am

from S/N i can only tell when it was manufactured. And that is about 4 years ago.
 
KillerOPS
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:27 pm

Re: Bad capacitors on rb1000

Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:14 pm

Another rb1000 with bad caps. Same caps. It was working for a few years pretty well, until after a power loss the lan ports wouldn't come back up (although the device booted successfully). Quickly replaced with a rb750gr3, and opened it up to see what's happening, as I was suspecting some caps.
Of course, those 560uF caps were all leaked. Replaced them with 1500uF 10V and it works well.

If it's still open, I was wondering what JP6 and JP5 are for. Any hints?
Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests