Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
BelWave
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:49 am

2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:12 pm

Hello,

Why is it the 2011UAS-2HnD-IN is able to "see" and monitor a XS-1500 APC UPS on it's USB port, but not the smaller wall mountable ES500 or 550G APC UPSs? The RB493G with the solder jumper installed http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 78#p259164 "sees" all APC UPS models on it's USB port, but the RB2011 doesn't. I've tried older and newer APC UPSs with the old APC cable (RJ45 - USBa) and the newer APC cable (USBb - USBa).

It appears the RB2011 is only able to see the XS-1500 APC UPS and not any of the smaller wall mountable APC UPSs. The RB493G with the jumper mod is able to "see" all APC UPSs using either APC cable.

RB493G running v5.21 and RB2011 running v5.21. Tried v5.19 and v5.22 with same results.

Thanks,

Brad
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:17 am

Deleted because not related.
Last edited by Dobby on Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:34 am

We only support UPS SmartUps protocol. Some newer APC products use a different one, that won't be shown in RouterOS.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
BelWave
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:49 am

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:47 pm

We only support UPS SmartUps protocol. Some newer APC products use a different one, that won't be shown in RouterOS.
Hey Normis,

Thanks for the reply, but if it's a protocol issue why does the RB493G show the UPS on the USB port, but the RB2011 doesn't? Same RouterOS version, same UPS and same cable.

Also, we've tried older and newer UPSs with the same result...it seems the RB2011 is only able to see the APC XS-1500 and none of the older or newer & smaller 500's - 550's - 650's etc that are wall mountable. The RB493G shows them all and is able to monitor them all, so I would assume it's not a RouterOS protocol issue, but maybe only an issue with the RB2011?

Has anyone else here been able to monitor any other APC UPS? Or is the XS-1500 the only "known good" UPS the RB2011 is able to monitor?

Thank you,

Brad
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:13 pm

Deleted because not related.
Last edited by Dobby on Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:26 pm


So ask your self what you want to do if this is your company?
Perhaps I am false with this, but I prefer to be realistic.
Above is an opinion/speculation and not an official MT position.

To the OP - thanks for posting and making us aware of the issue. It would also be helpful to know exact APC models that do not work. In any case, if you have an issue with APC UPS Monitoring send a supout to support@mikrotik.com so they can figure out what's wrong.
 
BelWave
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:49 am

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:30 pm

Hello Dobby,

I appreciate your response, but I fail to see how this relates. We have been happy with the RB493G, but the extra port (10 Ethernet vs. 9) has been helpful to us. Additionally the sfp port is also of greater value to us than not having one on the RB493G. I was hoping the RB2011 would have a more powerful CPU than the RB493G and all GigE ports, but it currently doesn't. Hopefully the next version of the RB2011 will be priced higher and have two sfp ports, faster CPU and all GigE ports!

If we were to follow your SOHO logic...wouldn't it make more sense the RB2011 would work on smaller APC UPS models rather than larger models?

It would be helpful if you could share with us which APC UPS models you have found to work with the RB2011.

Thank you,


Brad
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:05 pm

Deleted because not related.
Last edited by Dobby on Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:27 pm

@rmichael
Above is an opinion/speculation and not an official MT position.
My name is not market red.
Under my name you will see the status called "member" and not "MikroTik support"
Under this is you will see non MikroTik logo.

For sure it is speculation, what else should it be, perhaps they will inserting this things later for sure,
if some other issues would be solved, who knows.

But what is not a speculation, is the field for what MikroTik was anoucing this device and I was not speaking
about the whole series! Some devices came in 19" rack mount cases and such cases are purely not for Home
and/or SOHO usage for sure.
My point is that it's pretty far fetched to justify RB2011 failure to connect with an APC by speculating it was a market positioning decision by Mikrotik.
 
midnightman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:22 pm

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Sun Apr 07, 2013 2:59 pm

Yeah :) RB2011 is not working with APC. Its maybe HW issue?
 
BelWave
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:49 am

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:03 pm

Yeah :) RB2011 is not working with APC. Its maybe HW issue?

Several weeks ago I started to work up a table comparing a RB493G (with USB 3.3VDC power jumper soldered in) vs. the RB2011, but never posted it. The reason I never published my results was because I felt using a modified Routerboard in the comparison test was probably unfair even though the modification I came up with to bring the RB493G USB port "alive" is an extremely simple/minor modification.

So, after waiting and hoping the RB2011 APC UPS issue would get resolved in the last few ROS updates or Routerboard firmware updates along with seeing your post on the topic I've decided to share what my tests have shown.

I tested five different APC UPS models with both Routerboards running the current ROS version at the time of I think 5.19 or v5.21. The APC UPS models I tested were an older APC 500VA, a slightly newer APC 550VA, a new APC 550G, an older APC 1500XS with the LCD screen and finally a new APC 1500XS with the LCD screen.

The results were the RB493G USB port was able to read all five APC UPSs I tested without any problem. The RB2011 was only able to read the older APC 1500XS UPS LCD and the new APC 1500XS UPS LCD models.

In my opinion the RB2011 hardware is fine as it can read both old and new APC 1500XS LCD UPSs. So, we can conclude the RB2011 USB port appears to work as designed.

The argument that APC has made their "code" incompatible with ROS in their new UPSs is proven false as the RB493G reads all the UPSs tested without any problem. So, it is my opinion the RB2011 APC UPS problems are firmware or ROS related specifically to the RB2011.

Hopefully the guys at MikroTik will resolve the RB2011 APC UPS problem soon or release a newer RB2011 Routerboard with all GigE ports, two SFP ports, a much faster CPU and a USB port that can read all the APC UPSs like the RB493G !!!!

Best,

Brad
 
adrik
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 8:43 am

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Sat May 04, 2013 8:46 am

RouterBOARD 2011UAS-2HnD has most features and interfaces from all MikroTik Wireless routers. It’s powered by the new Atheros 600MHz 74K MIPS network processor, has 128MB RAM, five Gigabit LAN ports, five Fast Ethernet LAN ports and SFP cage (SFP module not included!). Also, it features powerful (up to 1W!) dual chain 2.4Ghz 802.11bgn wireless, RJ45 serial port, microUSB port and RouterOS L5 license, as well as desktop case with power supply, two 4dBi Omni antennas and LCD panel.

Technical Specifications of RB2011UAS-2HnD:
TX Power: 30dBm
Max Power Consumption: 11W
CPU: Atheros AR9344 600MHz
Memory: 128MB DDR2 SDRAM onboard memory
Ethernet 10 ports: Five (5) 10/100 Mbit Fast Ethernet ports with Auto-MDI/X, Five (5)
10/100/1000 Mbit Gigabit Ethernet ports with Auto-MDI/X
Wireless: 2HnD - Built in 2GHz dual chain 802.11b/g/n wireless device, 2HnD-IN - Also includes two 4dBi swivel antennas
LAN ports: 5
MiniPCI: 0
Integrated Wireless: Yes
PoE: 8-28V DC on Ether1
Voltage Monitor: Yes
PCB temperature sensor: Yes
CPU temperature monitor: No
Dimensions: 214mm x 86mm for PCB
Operating System: RouterOS
RouterOS License: Level5
Extras: reset button, reset jumper, RJ45 serial port, LCD panel, powered micro-B USB connecto
 
yacsap
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 2011UAS-2HnD-IN USB Port for APC UPS Monitoring...

Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:02 pm

I have RB2011UiAS-RM and cannot get my APC Smart-UPS working through it's USB.

APC BR 1500i Smart-UPS Data Port -> RB 2011 UiAS - RM USB Port.

It says USB port already in use and on the log says: Error acquiring USB Port.

I tried to crimp an Ethernet cable like in http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:System/UPS but cannot get it working either.

I hope MikroTik Developers will make RouterBOARD recognizes UPS through USB in the future update.
[ IMikroTik ] >

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: drbunsen and 21 guests