Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
czolo
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:49 am
Location: Poland (Warsaw)
Contact:

SXT Lite?

Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:56 pm

http://www.cdr.pl/download/SXT_Lite5.pdf

What is this? How much for that?
| --= Czo|_o =--
| http://wifi4eu.pl
| Innovation in WiFi
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:15 pm

Nice - 600Mhz CPU. But why is it Lite?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:47 pm

because of the price ;) and because it has a few less feature than the non-lite product (those have higher power). compared to the original SXT-5HnD, the lite ones are better. But they are not as powerful as the G and HP models

We offer the following models:

5GHz

SXT "Lite5", TX power 27dBm (500mW), RouterOS L3, (no USB port, no voltage and temperature monitors), list price $59
SXT-5HPnD, TX power 31dBm (1300mW), RouterOS L3, list price $89
SXTG-5HnD, TX power 26dBm (400mW) with Gigabit LAN, RouterOS L4 (AP), list price $99

2GHz

SXT G-2HnD, TX power 1600mW, RouterOS L4, Gigabit, List price $79
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
frankie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:00 pm

Can we hope in near future replacement of regular SXT(G)-s with new ones on Atheros AR9344 with gigabit port, or even triple chain?
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:51 pm

Why first info about new product have distributors (eshops)? You can add new product first on routerboard.com and then send info for distributors...
Or write post on forum for fans Mikrotik. Or Facebook :)
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:00 am

Why first info about new product have distributors (eshops)? You can add new product first on routerboard.com and then send info for distributors...
Or write post on forum for fans Mikrotik. Or Facebook :)
Distributors need to prepair their sales strategy, they are always informed first.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:43 pm

OK. Any news about SXT non-Lite? :)
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:45 pm

OK. Any news about SXT non-Lite? :)
The above two models are already quite new
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Canelis50
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:47 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Tue Jan 15, 2013 11:01 pm

@normis hi !
Need Your advice which SXT to bye:
- SXT "Lite5", TX power 27dBm (500mW), RouterOS L3,
(no USB port, no voltage and temperature monitors), list price
- SXT-5HPnD, TX power 31dBm (1300mW), RouterOS L3
- SXTG-5HnD, TX power 26dBm (400mW) with Gigabit LAN, RouterOS L4 (AP)

Which model is “the best”, regardless of price !
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:39 pm

Normis:

SXT Lite - Radio part is the same as previous SXT? Thanks
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:46 pm

@normis hi !
Need Your advice which SXT to bye:
- SXT "Lite5", TX power 27dBm (500mW), RouterOS L3,
(no USB port, no voltage and temperature monitors), list price
- SXT-5HPnD, TX power 31dBm (1300mW), RouterOS L3
- SXTG-5HnD, TX power 26dBm (400mW) with Gigabit LAN, RouterOS L4 (AP)

Which model is “the best”, regardless of price !
as you can see by the description you gave it yourself, they are different products and depends on your needs. If you do not need certain features and 27dBm is enough for you that will be your obvious choice.
If you need better possible range - SXT-5HPnD
you want an access-point - SXTG-5HnD
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:58 am

How is the Ethernetport of the SXT-Lite5 designed?
Does cable with Kink protectors fit as with the 5HPnD.

(First SXT-Series had to low space between port and housing).
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:20 am

These are the fattest cables I could find at the moment. The cable is completely straight and I had no problems plugging and unplugging of these:

_DSC2553.jpg
_DSC2554.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
hapi
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:21 am
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:25 pm

push the reset hole up and away from the door. After a time corrodes and the unit will restart resets itself.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:30 pm

push the reset hole up and away from the door. After a time corrodes and the unit will restart resets itself.
We plan to remove it altogether. The button has the same functions
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
miahac
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Contact:

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:18 pm

I am looking to ad a few P2P links and am confused about the current lineup.
Currently...
The lite does not have gigabit but has a 600mhz cpu, and the G only has a 400mhz cpu? Last time I tested on my original sxt's I could push about 70mb two way, 90mb one way on a full link, p2p, fw off, ROS 4.1x, bridge or route is about the same, using bw test between two rb 1200's. CPU's on the SXT's were 100%.

These have all been updated to ROS 5.2x but are in production now so no bw tests today.

My assumption is that the lite can saturate a 100mb link fd and that the G can hit maybe 140mb each way but will still peak at 70mb two way.

What is the fastest p2p SXT currently available (in the next 30 days) using current ROS for a simple p2p? Bridge or Route?
Network Administrator
Kansas Hosting and Wichita Data Centers
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:49 am

The 100Mbit SXTs can fully use the 100Mbit ethernet port, so that is your bottleneck. Gigabit models eliminate this bottleneck.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:47 pm

because of the price ;)We offer the following models:

5GHz

SXT "Lite5", TX power 27dBm (500mW), RouterOS L3, (no USB port, no voltage and temperature monitors), list price $59
SXT-5HPnD, TX power 31dBm (1300mW), RouterOS L3, list price $89
SXTG-5HnD, TX power 26dBm (400mW) with Gigabit LAN, RouterOS L4 (AP), list price $99
So, when is the power of the last going to be increased to at least 27dBm? (Pref. more). It makes no sense to use same type of antenna on CPE with more output power than its AP it connects to. A link works two ways so EIRP is best the same on both antenna's.


What about a new, higher level, antenna line?
16dBi antenna is still a bit weak. I am still waiting to see a 20+dBi antenna in a nice closure as the SXT/Sextant (Sextant is a miss. Only 2dBi extra for your money? No extra features?).
Make sure some metal shielding is done outside the antenna radiation pattern. To stand a change in the ever more congested (noise) spectrum only the best antenna's stand a change. Not the most powerful ones.....
(All it needs during manufacturing process is a metal paint coat on the inside of the plastic casing holding the board and radio. I proved it works on 3rd party antenna where I spray painted the interior of plastic radio housing. 2 cents per unit extra in the fabrication process!)
It's better to invest in antenna technology than in pure output power of a device.

"Octant" (better than "Sextant") should be 20dBi or more and now we are designing, make it with 3 chains! Put at least 2 PoE-in ports (better model would have the choice of PoE-in/PoE-out) so we have power backup option. With 3 Chain and Gigabit port and the high gain antenna this would make it the best product a WISP might wanna have right now....
but 'll guess I'll just keep on dreaming.... 8)
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:48 pm

SXT LITE5 - wireless part is very small. See image
Antena - the same is in SXT-5HnD

For comparison:
Old SXT - http://www.air-stream.org.au/files/SXTMod-1-PCB.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
leo_cakep
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:24 am
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia

Re: SXT Lite?

Sun Feb 03, 2013 6:10 pm

SXT LITE5 - wireless part is very small. See image
Antena - the same is in SXT-5HnD

For comparison:
Old SXT - http://www.air-stream.org.au/files/SXTMod-1-PCB.jpg
i see non solid capacitor there... :?
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:56 pm

SXT LITE5 - wireless part is very small. See image
Antena - the same is in SXT-5HnD

For comparison:
Old SXT - http://www.air-stream.org.au/files/SXTMod-1-PCB.jpg
i see non solid capacitor there... :?
It is "Lite" low cost SXT
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
miahac
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Contact:

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:52 pm

I guess the G has room to breathe. I was able to get 220mbps across WDS bridge with 90% cpu. I did not have time to bench a routed config, oddly I was even able to get 120mbps when running bw test both ways . More aggregate bandwidth when doing two way. I have never seen that, perhaps because I was running the test from sxt to sxt so it was using both cpu.
Network Administrator
Kansas Hosting and Wichita Data Centers
 
User avatar
Raf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: Olesnica, Poland
Contact:

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Feb 08, 2013 10:19 am

SXT LITE5 - wireless part is very small. See image
Antena - the same is in SXT-5HnD

For comparison:
Old SXT - http://www.air-stream.org.au/files/SXTMod-1-PCB.jpg
In SXT Lite5 wireless part is very small indeed. I think that the radio chip is integrated now into main CPU. Two radio shields contains now only amplifiers so they are very small. Also I see DDR3 chip, rather than DDR2 in previous SXT? Those two things reduces cost of device. I may be wrong, just thinking out loud.

Edit: Nope. It's still DDR2. AR9344 uses DDR1/DDR2. And yes, it looks like 9344 has built-in 2x2 MIMO radio. It could use separate 3x3 AR9380 chip also.
Rafał Wójcik from AWB-NET
High Definition enthusiast
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite

Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:26 pm

Question for support:

SXT lite5 have improved drainage holes? http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... er#p343206
Have sxt lite5 cable test? http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:In ... e_Problems

We have plans buy only SXT Lite5 for clients.
Thanks for reply
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
helectro
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:09 am

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:43 am

that good news lite products, but we need the AP, because the SXTG-5HnD has 32MB RAM 400MHz CPU speed when the CPU has Lite5 SXT cpe speed 600MHz 64MB RAM
so that the CPE has better performance than AP!
I guess we should be coming soon new products
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:12 pm

How is nstreme working on ptp consisting of sxt lite5? I am planning to use it on 300m link, and dont want to use nv2.
Has somebody on it running nstreme?
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:12 pm

How is nstreme working on ptp consisting of sxt lite5? I am planning to use it on 300m link, and dont want to use nv2.
Has somebody on it running nstreme?
NV2, nstreme or ordinairy 802.11 are ways of how the sofware (ROS) is dealing with the transport of data and polling of the clients.
This is basically independent on the type of antenna and radio (as far as they have same architecture).
The type of antenna and used radio and both their gains make a certain signal strength and quality. On top of this you can run any of the mentioned protocol versions. But basically for the same signals it shall not make any difference if you use a SXT-lite or a normal SXT, nor any other similar antenna unit.
So your question is a bit odd....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:20 pm

nstreme is very sensitive on type of wireless card, cables, noise...
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:41 pm

There is small bug with regulating tx power.
When i use card rates - then current tx power is still maximum.
Regulatory domain works well. See image.

The same problem in 5.24 and 6.0rc11
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by honzam on Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:43 pm

Honzam, This is a hardware limitation. You must use "All rates fixed"
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:57 pm

Ok, thanks for info. I will try it.

Another question: CPE (Sxt lite) have procesor 600Mhz.

But AP (711GA-5HnD) have only 400Mhz.

I known there is solution use 411GL with card. But....

Have you plan make rb711xxx with 600Mhz ?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:58 pm

Ok, thanks for info. I will try it.

Another question: CPE (Sxt lite) have procesor 600Mhz.

But AP (711GA-5HnD) have only 400Mhz.

I known there is solution use 411GL with card. But....

Have you plan make rb711xxx with 600Mhz ?
http://mum.mikrotik.com/register.php?section=44
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:19 am

SXT lite is out
2 mounts pass
But still every distributer is out of stock
I just receive first 20 Lite that were given to him as a test and that is
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:29 am

SXT lite is out
2 mounts pass
But still every distributer is out of stock
I just receive first 20 Lite that were given to him as a test and that is
All I can say is, this is a very very popular product.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:19 pm

LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:43 am

RB Pages say - level 3. http://routerboard.com/RBSXT-5nDr2

But all our SXT lite5 have Level4.
It concerns only the first pieces?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:10 am

RB Pages say - level 3. http://routerboard.com/RBSXT-5nDr2

But all our SXT lite5 have Level4.
It concerns only the first pieces?
Some of the first pieces had Level4 as a bonus. Regular production run will have L3 as specifications indicate. Congratulations :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:26 pm

This is the rule for almost all new products since I was a kid :lol:
 
taduikis
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:09 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:48 pm

Honzam, This is a hardware limitation. You must use "All rates fixed"
So this means that this is not going to change with newer versions of ROS or SXT hardware? Aren't there any issues when using all-rates-fixed?
 
indanet
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:44 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:49 pm

Good afternoon, as I do for the sxt 5 lite work with channel width in 10mhz? Well I set but does not work.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:21 pm

Try 6.0RC. It works...
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:10 pm

hi,

i am using a 24V 3Amp Power supply for an SXT.

is this ok? will it be fine to use that on long term?
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Wed Apr 08, 2015 8:15 pm

yes
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
vedasnet
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 8:04 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:56 pm

can i use SXT LITE 5 for p2p link for 18 km link.?
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SXT Lite?

Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:29 pm

18km :lol:
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: SXT Lite?

Fri Jul 31, 2015 4:54 am

can i use SXT LITE 5 for p2p link for 18 km link.?
you can if you open the SXT remove the board put it inside another enclousure and connect a 23 dbi grid antenna ( SISO or MIMO ) any kind.

i have done that couple of times.
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
axrst
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:04 am

I have a problem with this:

If I connect it to a long Ethernet (with PoE) cable ~20 meters, the light in the board gets "on", but the device is not working. If I use a small cable ~3m, then, all are OK.

Has anyone has the same problem? What should I do? Should I use a different power supply with more volts? Now, I'm using the included one.

I had one similar problem with another mikrotik product, the "groove". With other routerboards as 411, 800, 433 etc, I
never had such problems, although I used longer cables > 30m.
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:33 am

I have a problem with this:

If I connect it to a long Ethernet (with PoE) cable ~20 meters, the light in the board gets "on", but the device is not working. If I use a small cable ~3m, then, all are OK.

Has anyone has the same problem? What should I do? Should I use a different power supply with more volts? Now, I'm using the included one.

I had one similar problem with another mikrotik product, the "groove". With other routerboards as 411, 800, 433 etc, I
never had such problems, although I used longer cables > 30m.
what is your power adaptor output??

suggested 24V DC with alteast 2AMP... it should not fail.
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
axrst
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: SXT Lite?

Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:19 pm

I use the included Power Supply, which is (i think) 24V, 0.5A. Today I'll measure the Volts that gives the end of the cable...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests