Community discussions

 
frankie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 pm

RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg. 5.22

Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:17 am

Recently when updated two of RB951-2n the CPU frequency dropped back to 360MHz. Tried downgrade to ROS 5.21 no effect. Only rollback to v5.20 returned 400MHz. Tested on two RB951-2n with Bootloader 2.41 and 3.0. Under v5.20 same boards shows 400MHz.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg. 5.22

Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:12 am

http://routerboard.com/RB951-2n

Says CPU speed is 300MHz.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
frankie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 pm

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:22 pm

 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 pm

Maybe with 360Mhz is more stable. Software fix in 5.22
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:08 pm

Hallo frankie,

if you get a gift on top, that means your router will be able to run with higher speed, what you are crying then?
If they tell 300 MHz and you only will be able to switch it to 240 MHz, ok I have nothing said, but you are able to
switch the entire router to 360 MHz, this is even 60 MHz on top of this cpu speed!!! However where was the real
problem now?
So if they give or plain offer you something on top, please don´t be angry about to get something for free,
you should not be able to demand now 400 MHz, because they where never set this value as an official up
on their website!
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:15 pm

Maybe with 360Mhz is more stable. Software fix in 5.22
Really good, I consider.

Perhaps also that the cpu was not so heavy loaded with IPv4 and now with IPv6 it is more
to do or plain handle out and the cpu could be able to overheating? Because there is many more to do for
and they had to narrowed down the MHz.
 
frankie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 pm

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:53 pm

The AR7242-AH1A is the same chip that is in most of SXT, RB750GL, RB750, 711. They all runs @ 400MHz CPU Clock. Look at the AR7242-AH1A datasheet if you don't believe me.
I've one RB433AH that has 512Mbyte Flash chip on board, all others has 128MB. Nice bonus, but really rare. I also know many routers based on AR9344 (same CPU is on RB2011) with underclocked CPU @560MHz. But my RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN tested @750MHz and working stable at 75-80% constant CPU load. So I don't think that 400MHz clock is overheat or overload CPU in RB951-2n.
It think it is rather bug than rollback because of stability.
Hallo frankie,

if you get a gift on top, that means your router will be able to run with higher speed, what you are crying then?
If they tell 300 MHz and you only will be able to switch it to 240 MHz, ok I have nothing said, but you are able to
switch the entire router to 360 MHz, this is even 60 MHz on top of this cpu speed!!! However where was the real
problem now?
So if they give or plain offer you something on top, please don´t be angry about to get something for free,
you should not be able to demand now 400 MHz, because they where never set this value as an official up
on their website!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:39 am

Hello again,
It think it is rather bug than rollback because of stability.
For sure we well perhaps never know why, this is only and really knowing MikroTik it selfs.

But one think I want to know from you now, that is the following.
You were posting here a screen shot in and on the left side of the Recources monitor, we will be able to see
at the CPU frequency is at 400 MHz right now!!!!!! And now I was thinking that you must at first change the CPU
back to 360 MHz or 240 MHz and then you are able to switch it back to 400 MHz can this be!?
In the other direction it will be not running! Because if the cpu is running at 400 MHz it should not be able to switch
the cpu to 400 MHz, this does not making many sense in my eyes.

Please be so friendly and try it out and switch to 360 MHz and then have a look on the settings section that is shown at the right side, so if you find now the 400 MHz setting you will be able to change the cpu clock back as you was expecting
it. Perhaps you were only in a so called thinking false!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24278
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:53 am

We changed it to improve stability.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
frankie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 pm

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sun Jan 13, 2013 7:40 pm

Because if you reset or load default config under ROS 5.21 and 5.22 you fallback to default 360Mhz and cannot select 400MHz again. Only Netinstall 5.20 or earlier version would allow to change to 400MHz again.
But one think I want to know from you now, that is the following.
You were posting here a screen shot in and on the left side of the Recources monitor, we will be able to see
at the CPU frequency is at 400 MHz right now!!!!!! And now I was thinking that you must at first change the CPU
back to 360 MHz or 240 MHz and then you are able to switch it back to 400 MHz can this be!?
In the other direction it will be not running! Because if the cpu is running at 400 MHz it should not be able to switch
the cpu to 400 MHz, this does not making many sense in my eyes.

Please be so friendly and try it out and switch to 360 MHz and then have a look on the settings section that is shown at the right side, so if you find now the 400 MHz setting you will be able to change the cpu clock back as you was expecting
it. Perhaps you were only in a so called thinking false!
 
frankie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 pm

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sun Jan 13, 2013 7:42 pm

Maybe a line in changelog would be useful in future.
We changed it to improve stability.
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:13 pm

Maybe a line in changelog would be useful in future.
We changed it to improve stability.
Why? Clearly no one is noticing it.

(We have had threads here over the ChangeLog for a long time already. As much as the MT is concerned the ChangeLog is incomplete by design and will remain so. Why it is so, it is a matter of opinions and views.)
 
Dobby
Member
Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:07 am
Location: Hogwarts

Re: RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg.

Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:32 am

Hello frankie,
Maybe a line in changelog would be useful in future.
What should they (MikroTik) write there in?
- We give you 60MHz on top for free.
- 60MHz for free this week, because you are our little sunshine.
- You was paying for 300MHz only and 60MHz came on top, because we love you.
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

RB951 CPU freq.dropped from 400MHz to 360MHz after upg. 5.22

Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:00 am

Hello frankie,
Maybe a line in changelog would be useful in future.
What should they (MikroTik) write there in?
- We give you 60MHz on top for free.
- 60MHz for free this week, because you are our little sunshine.
- You was paying for 300MHz only and 60MHz came on top, because we love you.
What are you talking about? I'm not sure I even understand where this came from.

I agree. A more detailed changelog would be great.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests