Page 1 of 1

New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:00 pm
by honzam

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:32 pm
by ohara
Big up Mikrotik, however I am still missing a wifi router with PoE output.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:50 pm
by honzam
Hello ohara
1 port POE out and RSMA conektors on the back = ideal wifi router

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:20 am
by remezen
Hello!
Could you please answer my question: does it support USB power-reset? (it's missing on http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:USB_Features )

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:15 am
by becs
Hello!
Could you please answer my question: does it support USB power-reset? (it's missing on http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:USB_Features )
RB951G-2HnD supports USB power-reset

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:29 pm
by ohara
Hello ohara
1 port POE out and RSMA conektors on the back = ideal wifi router
Hoznam, I am afraid I would not understand how you did poe out on that RB, even if you explained it in much detail.
Besides that, do we know if 951G will support cable problems detection via /interface ethernet cable-test ether1? Thanks.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:43 pm
by honzam
1 port POE output - for powering CPE

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:47 pm
by ohara
1 port POE output - for powering CPE
I know, but how did you do it? RB751 does not have it out of factory.

EDIT: I got you know, it's a wish.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:58 pm
by gogusrl
When can we expect these to start shipping ? Which retailers would get them first ?

I wanted to grab a 751g-2hnd but I'd rather wait for this one if it doesn't take to long.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:55 am
by honzam
Have rb951G MMCX conector for external antena? Or no conector?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:15 am
by janisk
no MMCX external connector as written on routerboard.com

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:59 am
by BrainWaveCC
Given the new hardware, I wonder if the wireless will be much better with these than with the first gen 951...

-ASB: http://XeeMe.com/AndrewBaker

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:24 am
by nz_monkey
Why no solid capacitors ?


The RB751 has them, why not the RB951G ?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 1:40 pm
by Davis
+1 for solid caps.
I think it would be a kind of sign of quality of best MikroTik home WiFi router...

Nice that it has 600 MHz CPU - in sophisticated configuration (bridges, many firewall rules, bridge rules, VLAN, NAT) it can achieve at least 100 Mbps WAN to wired LAN or about 80 Mbps WAN to wireless LAN via single TCP connection. In simple SOHO configurations it will be much faster.

Also it has a beeper (beeping on boot can be easily turned off in /system routerboard settings menu).

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:31 pm
by Dobby
Deleted because not related.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 6:11 pm
by asmartin
Hello ohara
1 port POE out and RSMA conektors on the back = ideal wifi router
Hi honzam.

I have a couple of questions.

First, are those RP-SMA connectors already in the router or you added them?, and if you added your own SMA connnectros, please could you give us an image of internal connection, just to know where to cut the circuit for optimal impedance. If you don't take impedance to be adapted, there will be power loss in antenna.

Second, may I use RBGPoE adapter/cable from MikroTik to power this router?

Thanks in advance.

Any suggestion is welcome.

Regards,
Alex

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 6:33 pm
by honzam
See this link http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 51#p301490

Yes, gigabit poe injector you can use.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 6:40 pm
by asmartin
See this link http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 51#p301490

Yes, gigabit poe injector you can use.
@honzam: Thanks a lot for a quick response.

I thought it was a RB951G router which has a different layout:

Image

But this RB951G seems to have MMCX connector, is it right?

On the other hand, you can see a UART interface, but without pins.

Congratulations Mikrotik: NICE DESIGN, I like it. :D

@janisk: There is also a LCD connector close to the UART one, so maybe it is possible to add a LCD display like that of RB2011UAS-2Hnd-IN router. Could you help me to make the change to add the LCD display?. Probably just soldering the connector is enough. But I don't have access to connector specs, as well as spare parts (connector itselfs, lcd and cable co connect the lcd). Thanks in advance.

Regards.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:45 am
by usrox
it's not MMCX, I think it is CRC9 connectors like usually used on GSM Modem or cell phones

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:46 am
by normis
Neither. Those are wreless test points, for factory use. End user has no use for them.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:06 am
by janisk
it is not possible to just solder connector on, all the other parts ragarding LCD are not present.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:06 am
by kwagga
normis, so there is no way for us to connect external pigtails to the device? Not even a u.fl connector?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:10 am
by normis
normis, so there is no way for us to connect external pigtails to the device? Not even a u.fl connector?
sorry, not possible

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:07 pm
by asmartin
it is not possible to just solder connector on, all the other parts ragarding LCD are not present.
Thanks janisk, I've already seen.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 3:23 am
by zyxnull
RB951G-2HnD is Awesome! Mine works great and has great WiFi capabilities, this is almost the perfect router for my work needs as I have to switch between the RB751U-2HnD and the RB951G-2HnD for some projects.

The RB751U-2HnD has an antenna connector, in my country most wall are made of concrete (yes I know this is stupid, but that's how it is) so the extra boost antennas provide is a must in some cases.

Please Mikrotik PLEASE, provide two external antenna connectors for the RB951G-2HnD so we can ditch the RB751U-2HnD

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:38 pm
by xhaos
I just purchased a new RB951G-2HnD and I have a problem with it. it keeps doing restarts from every 5 minutes.
router operates as a dsl router using a pppoe router for my lan. Is there a method to help me figure out what causes these restarts?
router os is 6 and firmware version is 3.08.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 9:07 am
by normis
I just purchased a new RB951G-2HnD and I have a problem with it. it keeps doing restarts from every 5 minutes.
router operates as a dsl router using a pppoe router for my lan. Is there a method to help me figure out what causes these restarts?
router os is 6 and firmware version is 3.08.
Are you powering it with the included power supply? Do you have other power supply to check if it is the cause?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 4:11 pm
by xhaos
I just purchased a new RB951G-2HnD and I have a problem with it. it keeps doing restarts from every 5 minutes.
router operates as a dsl router using a pppoe router for my lan. Is there a method to help me figure out what causes these restarts?
router os is 6 and firmware version is 3.08.
Are you powering it with the included power supply? Do you have other power supply to check if it is the cause?
I finally found out what caused it. and its a bug I think.
when I got the RB it was with routerOS 5 and then I had setup a watchdog. when I upgraded it to v6 the watchdog appeared disabled and unconfigured, but it was still running. failure to ping caused the restarts. I solved the problem by configuring watchdog to overwrite values.


thank you for your time.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 4:13 pm
by normis
What version did you have before, v5.25 or older? What was the config that you had (copy exactly, if you have a backup) and what did it show after upgrade ?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 10:40 pm
by xhaos
if memory serves it was v5.25 or 5.24
I dont have a backup of config to send, but after upgrade in winbox watchdog timer was unchecked, address apeared empty and ping start after reboot was at 00.05.00.

what solved the problem for me was to enable watchdog, press apply, then disable watchdog and press apply again. for good measure I increased also the start time.


One more bug I think I found has to do with routerOS (It reproduses on all RB I own). when I use some special charachters in the password, the system doesnt accept the password through webUI. If you like I can do some tests and report exactly the characters that cause problems.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 6:29 am
by pcunite
Why no solid capacitors?
No doubt! The first thing I noticed.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 4:02 pm
by nyoman
Hello all,

Just bought this RouterBOARD today, and i want to use my CDMA modem Haier Model: CE782
On USB details i got this:
Device: 1:5
Vendor: China TeleCom
Name: CBP7.1
Serial Number: ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ
Vendor ID: 0x201e
Device ID: 0x1023
Speed: 12 Mbps
USB Version: 1.10
Ports: 0

But, when i make a PPP Client there is a error
00:07:45 async,ppp,info smartfren: reseting link...
00:07:45 async,ppp,info smartfren: reseting link... - could not acquire serial port

Please help, how to make this Modem Work on Mikrotik version: 5.25

Thanks

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:23 am
by taloot
how is it perform comparing to rb751g?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:58 pm
by zyxnull
Was about to buy two RB751 because of external antennas, since this model replaces it, then I should look for other brands.

PLEASE MIKROTIK, put antenna connectors on this devices, adding $10 - $15 dollars to price for external antennas is no that much

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:23 pm
by InoX
Was about to buy two RB751 because of external antennas
It has only one connector.
PLEASE MIKROTIK, put antenna connectors on this devices, adding $10 - $15 dollars to price for external antennas is no that much
If you really need external antennas just buy 2 pigtails and solder to the board.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:20 pm
by zyxnull
Inox: Of course, I can do that and also void warranty on the process, not an option when used commercially and when you need several of this devices

I see Mikrotik as a quality product, as such modifying the device is very bad thing to do, if I wished a custom device I'd rather use a device I could build on my own with little worries about warranty like a Raspberry Pi based device.

In the meantime I have found a competitor product that will work just fine for my needs, not as good in features as Mikrotik, but can do the job

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 9:45 am
by normis
RB2011 has external antennas via two MMCX connectors. There is a device for every purpose.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 8:31 pm
by zyxnull
RB2011 has external antennas via two MMCX connectors. There is a device for every purpose.
Thank you very much normis, that's actually a very good choice, but for some of my current needs I guess that an RB751/951 with antennas is still a better choice, let me explain why I feel this way:

Here in my country most houses/offices are build out of reinforced concrete, every wall, even between rooms (yeah, I know, crazy and expensive, but that's how it is) so, regular routers have a poor signal quality or penetration, actually Mikrotiks with internal antennas surpass greatly other brands which are practically useless, boosted signals are a most have. An RB751/951 can be easily powered by PoE so it could be converted very easily from routers to awesome APs with LAN ports, very useful for LAN printers and various equipment, we could even use its VLAN capabilities, this is also a very compact device, add to that a 9dbi antenna and you have a winner setup outperforming other brands.

Now, your solution is GREAT when only one router is needed, I really appreciate that because that's what I'll continue using. But when there's need for signal extending indoors, that's when other solutions are needed.

The beauty of RB751/951 devices is its flexibility and its excellent price, if you could coupled it with external antennas then it would only get better, plus, it's not just me, look other posts, people do want this option, it doesn't matter if it adds some dollars to cost

Finally, again, thank you for your recommendation, very appreciated

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:51 am
by tantogata
Is it possible to connect to the USB port an external HDD?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:40 am
by slech
tantogata

Transcend StoreJet 25M3 1TB USB 3.0 with 1 TB NTFS partition(543 GB Free)

ros code

[admin@gw(RB951G-2HnD)] > system resource usb print
 # DEVICE VENDOR                   NAME                  SPEED                 
 0 1:1    Linux 3.3.5 ehci_hcd     RB400 EHCI            480 Mbps              
 1 1:2    StoreJet Transcend       StoreJet Transcend    480 Mbps

ros code

[admin@gw(RB951G-2HnD)] > store disk print 
Flags: S - system 
 #   NAME                                  TOTAL-SPACE    FREE-SPACE STATUS    
 0 S system                                   61440KiB      46552KiB ready     
 1   usb1                                                            invalid

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:45 pm
by tantogata
"1 usb1 invalid"
means 951 doesn't support an external HDD, right?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:45 am
by ohara
Is it possible to connect to the USB port an external HDD?
It is but you need to format the drive: http://gregsowell.com/?p=3499

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:17 pm
by invcat
Neither. Those are wreless test points, for factory use. End user has no use for them.
Hi!

I found the connector name is: MS-156C. This really not only a connector, it is also an RF switch.
This is the pdf for the connector: http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/185/e35802512-26831.pdf
And this is a method for use: http://www.digikey.com/Web%20Export/Sup ... 10018W.pdf
And you can buy RP-SMA pigtail test cable for it: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/10pcs-MS ... 13867.html

Regards,
InvCat

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:10 pm
by Nerm
I installed the RB951G-2HnD at home and everything on these seems to be great except the wireless. Wireless drops connection about every 3-5 minutes. The drop lasts 30-60 seconds. Wireless shows connected but cannot ping or transmit data during the 30-60 seconds it is down. Running latest firmware and OS.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:37 am
by kashifmac2005
Neither. Those are wreless test points, for factory use. End user has no use for them.
Hi!

I found the connector name is: MS-156C. This really not only a connector, it is also an RF switch.
This is the pdf for the connector: http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/185/e35802512-26831.pdf
And this is a method for use: http://www.digikey.com/Web%20Export/Sup ... 10018W.pdf
And you can buy RP-SMA pigtail test cable for it: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/10pcs-MS ... 13867.html

Regards,
InvCat

thanks for this wonderful sharing i have a questions regarding this no 1 should we need to remove builtin antenna for proper performance and no 2 as in early posts mentioned that these are test points so my point is that will they give proper singal output like original power as built-in antenna recevies?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:49 pm
by Elgro
Hello ohara
1 port POE out and RSMA conektors on the back = ideal wifi router
please show photos of the inside board (connector connection with the card)

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 11:27 am
by el berto
It would be nice if future Mikrotik products will provide serial port commands (example: usb serial port converter, where I can send commands to reset external hardware through scripts).

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:43 pm
by janisk
It would be nice if future Mikrotik products will provide serial port commands (example: usb serial port converter, where I can send commands to reset external hardware through scripts).
if you can attach PPP interface to the port, you can send what you want, AT commands or anything else you want.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:52 am
by vsab
Is it possible to connect to the USB port an external HDD?
It is but you need to format the drive: http://gregsowell.com/?p=3499
I am able to connect and format the USB HDD that I have attached to my routerboard. But how do I copy/transfer/stream the data onto that to my windows laptop? Do I need a software for that?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:34 pm
by uldis
you can use after that FTP to upload/download files or you can try to use the SMB function:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/SMB

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 9:40 pm
by nzaroma
Hello. I have RB951G-2HnD, and i need to connect external antenna. How can i do it ?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 6:06 pm
by nato
Someone already tried plug in a pigtail in to a MS-156C connector on RB951G-2HnD and test an external antena :?: :shock:

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:34 pm
by Mikorist
Hello

This is how I tweaked my router.I do not regret it at all

Image
Image



i have -48db with android phone through 2 walls.

with wifi stick and 6db antenna at PC -42 db through 2 walls.

i recive signals a few killometers away ...

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:38 pm
by jarda
OMG. Do not you have problems with noise?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:38 pm
by Mikorist
OMG. Do not you have problems with noise?
Nope. That was the test. I soloder today with cables short as possible and

soldered very very carefully closer to transmitters (in place of SW700)

Image

Also soldered extra peace of the metal shell on top.

Image

It works very well now. :D

p.s
Do not do this if you not have experience with SMD electonic soldering
and magnifying glasses :lol:

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 2:05 pm
by servisna
hi, please more details information how to do.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sun May 18, 2014 2:08 pm
by raktim
Can i do it in RB951Ui-2HnD???

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 6:46 pm
by vampy
@Mikorist, please provide a little tutorial.

Thank you!

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 7:25 pm
by vampy
Which solder points do you used for ground and which for data?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:50 pm
by soltero128
Hello, Mikrorist there's a way that you can post a step by step tutorial ??
Hello

This is how I tweaked my router.I do not regret it at all

Image
Image



i have -48db with android phone through 2 walls.

with wifi stick and 6db antenna at PC -42 db through 2 walls.

i recive signals a few killometers away ...

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:44 pm
by conecting
Looking for step by step tutorial too. Will really appreciate it!

Hello, Mikrorist there's a way that you can post a step by step tutorial ??
Hello

This is how I tweaked my router.I do not regret it at all

Image
Image



i have -48db with android phone through 2 walls.

with wifi stick and 6db antenna at PC -42 db through 2 walls.

i recive signals a few killometers away ...

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:25 pm
by pipa666
I used a normal u-FL - RSMA pigtail without soldering. You must insert a small metal rod (1.5 mm), the u-FL and MS-156C.
MS-156C has the disconnect function.
After the connection is needed to measure the internal antenna disconnection and connection with FL-center conductor. It is measured between the plate and RSMA center conductor.
I RSMA connectors mounted on the side of the box to ensure a greater distance from the antenna.
It works very well.

1. you need:
- two pigtails u-FL - RSMA
- multimeter with tone check
- wire .5mm thickness (I used gold plated rod from old ethernet connector)
2. disassembly your RB951 and search MS-156C connectors on board
- check with measure track and you check connection over red and orange circles in first picture. Must be connected.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ewncqv202vpnf ... 1.jpg?dl=0
3. You cut the rod from wire 1.5mm long and put in u-Fl connector
https://www.dropbox.com/s/jfz0jhwxt5cxe ... 4.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qu8ribn0j6yfl ... 7.jpg?dl=0
4. You connect it u-Fl with rod in to connetor on board
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nou52vd7icu4w ... 9.jpg?dl=0
5. Check disconnection from red and orange circle like picture must be disconnected or disconnected middle pin and shield on RSMA.
6. Same you make it on the seccond output.
7. I am drilled holes on two sides of box because is it better place for mounting external antennas.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:07 pm
by normis
i have -48db with android phone through 2 walls.
i recive signals a few killometers away ...
yes, receive. android can't talk back, because it doesn't have such big antennas. it can "hear", but AP will not "hear" what it "says". This will result in the Android having a signal, but internet will not work.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:55 pm
by XTX
i have -48db with android phone through 2 walls.
i recive signals a few killometers away ...
yes, receive. android can't talk back, because it doesn't have such big antennas. it can "hear", but AP will not "hear" what it "says". This will result in the Android having a signal, but internet will not work.

Nice mod :)

But I was wondering the same thing...what level do you get on the MT from your android when you are 2 walls away ?

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:55 pm
by Tuxtom007
If you are interested I can make a few photos.
Yes please if possible.

If have also two of this routers here and want to use them as Wlan-AP with external antenna

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:39 am
by vcheche
I have one of these and after 6.19 update it went unresponsive (actually, after I enabled all packages that were disabled, after upgrade).

I tried netinstall, but it will not get to the reboot phase. The software will just reset to initial state, say the device is ready. After reboot the reset to defaults specific buzzer is heard every time, but boot does not complete.

So I wondered if anyone tried to use the UART pads on the board. I tried some time ago and I remember I got no output. Did I miss something? Are this functional?

Cheers.

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:27 am
by janisk
I have one of these and after 6.19 update it went unresponsive (actually, after I enabled all packages that were disabled, after upgrade).

I tried netinstall, but it will not get to the reboot phase. The software will just reset to initial state, say the device is ready. After reboot the reset to defaults specific buzzer is heard every time, but boot does not complete.

So I wondered if anyone tried to use the UART pads on the board. I tried some time ago and I remember I got no output. Did I miss something? Are this functional?

Cheers.
you can try to install just bare minimum of packages, like system and advanced tools (maybe dhcp and other)

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:25 pm
by vcheche
I narrowed it down to that unit. I may very well have buggy hardware, but it might also be related to RouterBOOT.

I replaced it with a spare 751G-2HnD, which runs 6.19, but with firmware left at 3.07. I am not taking chances for now, it's my last home unit. :-) Unit seems to run perfectly stable.

I cannot really do some credible debugging without some access that involves more then a few beeps and leds. :-)

So, I used a switch in between the pc and rb951g so I could keep the links up and do an easier netinstall. Installing "fewer" packages doesn't really work. I noticed that using any other package then the upgrade npk (recommended for netinstall) makes the unit bootloop, not boot completely or behave really erratic, in cases it actually finishes boot.

Then I found random unit freezes and completely dead boot when issuing a reset-configuration. Only way out was netinstall.
Atm, I have v3.18 fw on it, but even downgrade to 3.07 does the same now.

So, is it possible to pick inside the unit via those UART pads? Unit is out of warranty, so I'm pretty much stuck with it, and I assume any responsibility of things going wrong. It is not reliable anyway until fixed, or confirmed bad, so not using it. I do am experienced in soldering and know how to use an UART. But it gives me no output whatsoever. Even when unit gets running.

[LATER EDIT] I also find it interesting that when doing netinstall on this unit and selecting Default configuration, it actually does no default config. That script is MIA. On all other RBs I worked with, when selecting Def conf in netinstall, on first boot it actually ran that default config script. Not here. Any idea why and how can this be related to my problems? Thanks in advance if anyone can drop a 50 here. :-)

Re: New - RB951G-2HnD

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 5:19 pm
by sdaww
I used a normal u-FL - RSMA pigtail without soldering. You must insert a small metal rod (1.5 mm), the u-FL and MS-156C.
MS-156C has the disconnect function.
After the connection is needed to measure the internal antenna disconnection and connection with FL-center conductor. It is measured between the plate and RSMA center conductor.
I RSMA connectors mounted on the side of the box to ensure a greater distance from the antenna.
If you are interested I can make a few photos.
It works very well.
Hello!

It's very interesting.

Can you make detailed instructions with photos?
Thank you.