Community discussions

 
jkrepinsky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:34 am

Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:43 am

Hello,
i have routerboard RB751U-2HnD and to this board i have connected usb hub and to this hub i have connected two modems. One of these modems is 3G modem from Huawei E173u and second one is CDMA modem AnyDATA ADU-895H.
Problem for me is that when i power on the routerboard, both interfaces are disconnected and are not even trying to dial up. When i reboot the rouetrboard, everything is ok.
Second problem is that sometimes, when i reboot the routerboard is that CDMA modem is still restarting and the process is something like this: dialing up, connecting, link established, connected and then immediately terminating.

Do you guys know what can be wrong with my setup or have you ever been facing the same problem as me?

Thank you,
Jakub.
 
jkrepinsky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:34 am

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:25 pm

Attached you can see print screen of a log

Image
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:56 pm

That is the norm with any ROS versions I've seen. The ROS PPP stack is weak, poorly designed or what not, but you have nothing more to do than try to work around it. Usually a Watchdog rebooting the unit will help you deal with that issue. Sadly you have to tackle the "ppp-client configuration loss" issue as well: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=68951.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:10 pm

@jkrepinsky
Is your USB hub powered by external PSU?
Two month ago I made similar config (hub + 2 modems) and everything was OK.
I've tested two different hubs and finally worked one built using NEC chip.
Unfortunately, I don't remember what exactly chip it was.

HTH,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
jkrepinsky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:34 am

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:14 am

At first i want to thank you Ivoshiee and ditonet for your time.

My USB hub is not powered external by default, but i've made some changes on it. I've put it out from plastic case and i've cut off +5V and GND on the USB cable which is connected into Mikrotik and i've soldered external power supply and connected grounds, because there were no potential between ground from Mikrotik and ground from power supply.
Do you think that this home-made powering might be problem?
@jkrepinsky
Is your USB hub powered by external PSU?
Two month ago I made similar config (hub + 2 modems) and everything was OK.
I've tested two different hubs and finally worked one built using NEC chip.
Unfortunately, I don't remember what exactly chip it was.

HTH,
What do you mean by poorly designed PPP stack? I'm not facing any ppp-client configuration loss cases but the thing is that my 3G modem is connected steadily but my CDMA modem is sometimes restarting in very low time period. It differs time to time but mostly 1 from 5 reboots are succesful which means CDMA is connected and is not droping connection.
That is the norm with any ROS versions I've seen. The ROS PPP stack is weak, poorly designed or what not, but you have nothing more to do than try to work around it. Usually a Watchdog rebooting the unit will help you deal with that issue. Sadly you have to tackle the "ppp-client configuration loss" issue as well: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=68951.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:38 pm

Do you think that this home-made powering might be problem?
I've asked because USB port is limited to 500mA and two modems connected to hub without external PSU overload USB port.
As I wrote earlier, not every USB hub works properly with RouterBoard.
Try another one with different chipset.

HTH,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
jkrepinsky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:34 am

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:05 am

Thank you for your answer, i'll try different hubs. But now i have another problem.
When i connect CDMA modem directly to routerboard, from time to time it starts the same restarting sequence.
Is it possible that there is some misunderstanding between CDMA modem and routerboard or routeros?
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Mon Mar 25, 2013 3:23 pm

What CDMA modem do you use?
I had similar problem with AnyDATA ADU-520L.
Upgrade RouterOS and RuoterBOOT to latest version and observe what happend.

HTH,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
jkrepinsky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:34 am

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:59 pm

I have AnyDATA ADU-895H and i'm running routeros 5.24.
It's still the same, still restarting and still bad behaviour :/
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Mon Mar 25, 2013 5:12 pm

Try latest ROS 6.0rc12

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:13 am

Try latest ROS 6.0rc12

Regards,
Is there any reason it should work better? Do you have some insights into that version of ROS?
 
w0lt
Member
Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:18 am

Try latest ROS 6.0rc12

Regards,
Where is rc12 it located?
MTCNA - 2011

" The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long After the Sweetness of Low Price is Forgotten "

Image
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:39 am

@Ivoshiee
IMHO, MT permanently make some improvements, never mentioned in changelog.
As I wrote earlier I had problem (disconnections) with AnyDATA ADU-520L and RC10.
These disconnections never occured with RC12.

@w0lt
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... .0rc12.npk

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
jkrepinsky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:34 am

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:46 am

I have upgraded my board to routeros 6.0rc11 but it's still the same.
Attached you can see a new log of what actually hapens with my CDMA modem. After routerboard comes up, everything is ok, CDMA and UMTS is connected as it should be, no restarting at all. But when i try to disable and enable CDMA ppp interface, this behavior shows up and then there is nothing that can stop it. I've tried to enable/disable it many times but still its restarting in very low time period.
Do you have any other hint what can i do to improve this situation?

Image

jakub
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:49 pm

@jkrepinsky
Does your CDMA modem work properly when is connected directly to PC?
I have AnyDATA ADU-895L (notice L, not H) and works fine with ROS 6.0rc12.
IMHO, one thing is missed in our considerations, even the same modem type can have different firmware version.
Maybe this is reason why for one person modem works as expected, but for other doesn't.

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
w0lt
Member
Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:50 pm

@Ivoshiee
IMHO, MT permanently make some improvements, never mentioned in changelog.
As I wrote earlier I had problem (disconnections) with AnyDATA ADU-520L and RC10.
These disconnections never occured with RC12.

@w0lt
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... .0rc12.npk

Regards,

What happened to the "multicast" package in the rc12 package?
MTCNA - 2011

" The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long After the Sweetness of Low Price is Forgotten "

Image
 
jkrepinsky
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:34 am

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:51 am

CDMA modem works really good when connected to PC directly or thru USB hub. It's not restarting and give me stabile connection to internet.
When i connect to modem with terminal and i send to it ATI, this is shown:
Manufacturer: QUALCOMM INCORPORATED
Model: 0
Revision: M6600A-SCAUBSZ-3.1.33T 1 [Mar 12 2011 12:00:00]
ESN: 0x6C4C1E8C
+GCAP: +CIS707-A, CIS-856, +MS, +ES, +DS, +FCLASS
I don't know where i can look for firmware version.
Also i've tried it witch 6.0rc12 and nothing has changed.
@jkrepinsky
Does your CDMA modem work properly when is connected directly to PC?
I have AnyDATA ADU-895L (notice L, not H) and works fine with ROS 6.0rc12.
IMHO, one thing is missed in our considerations, even the same modem type can have different firmware version.
Maybe this is reason why for one person modem works as expected, but for other doesn't.

Regards,
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with USB hub, 3G and CDMA modem

Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:40 am

@jkrepinsky
I have no more ideas what's wrong :(.

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests