Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
hypernik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:01 am

Faulty RB1100AHx2?

Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:01 am

Hi,

I very recently purchased an RB1100AHx2 from eurodk (eurodk.com). The first time I powered it up, I heard a couple (2?) beeps and the system booted ok. I was able to connect via ssh and start configuring the router. At some point, I could no longer connect (or ping) to the router. When I checked, it had a single blue LED lit on the front and none of the connected Ethernet ports had any lights. I power-cycled the router and at some point it came back up and I could connect to it. Whatever problem happened before seems to have happened again and power-cycling the router isn't helping. I can't establish a connection to the console port using hyperterminal. I've tried several connection speeds including my current setting:

bps: 115200
data bits: 8
parity: none
stop bits: 1
flow control: none

Nothing happens after I connect in hyperterminal and press enter, esc, etc.

I have confirmed that my serial cable (USB to serial) is good. Using the same setup, I can connect to the console port on a Mitel 3300 ICP.

Not sure where to go from here...

Thank you!
 
Neilson
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Faulty RB1100AHx2?

Fri Mar 29, 2013 11:26 pm

Hook up your hyper terminal session then pull the power cord on the router, plug it back in and see if there is any information on the screen.

Try the common settings with that and also try the reset contacts on the board. Power it on while holding the button down and give it 10 seconds or so to reset settings.

If that doesnt work hold it longer to initiate Netinstall mode and try reflash the latest firmware onto the board.

If none of this helps then you may need to contact your supplier for an RMA.

Regards
Alexander
 
MacLean
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Faulty RB1100AHx2?

Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:02 am

Also check your power source...if you're using PoE make sure you've checked (or just replace) the cable.

I'd say most strange Mikrotik problems come down to power issues.

And like the above poster said...Netinstall...

-Mac
 
User avatar
hypernik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:01 am

Re: Faulty RB1100AHx2?

Sat Mar 30, 2013 10:22 pm

Hook up your hyper terminal session then pull the power cord on the router, plug it back in and see if there is any information on the screen.
I had already tried that. I tried it again, after upgrading to RouterOS 5.24 (see below). I still can't get anything to appear in HyperTerminal. I'll admit it could still be a port configuration problem on my computer, but why would the same setup work with my Mitel 3300 ICP? The only differences are the port speed (115200 for the RB1100AHx2) and that I am using a gender changer between my serial cable (male RS232 DB9) and the console connector on the RB1100AHx2 (also a male RS232 DB9). I've successfully used this cable and gender changer with other hardware (switches, etc.).
If that doesnt work hold it longer to initiate Netinstall mode and try reflash the latest firmware onto the board.
At some point this morning, I could again connect to the router via IP and tried using Netinstall to upgrade from RouterOS 5.23 to 5.24, with the option to preserve my configuration. The install started, but failed. After that, I couldn't connect and for a while, the router would reboot by itself every few minutes.
I finally tried the hold down reset button (labeled S401) while powering on (maybe 15-20 seconds?), with an Ethernet cable connected to my computer and to port 13 (ether13) on the RouterBoard. I had statically assigned an address to my network interface on my computer and in Netinstall, enabled Boot Server with a client IP address in the same subnet as my computer's IP. After a bit the router showed up in Netinstall and this time the installation was successful. Interestingly, my configuration was preserved! So far, the router seems to be more stable...hopefully that trend continues! :D
To be honest, the impression I had of the RouterBoard when I unboxed it was "cheap". I'm planning to use the RouterBoard where I was considering deploying a Cisco 2901 Integrated Services Router. Hopefully I won't regret trying this.
Another oddity I noticed: after the RouterBoard has been running a while, I hear a fast tick-tick-tick for a bit, then one of the fans spins up.

Thanks for the responses!
 
User avatar
hypernik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:01 am

Re: Faulty RB1100AHx2?

Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:17 pm

Since upgrading to 5.24, the router seems more stable, and when it does "crash", power cycling the router seems to consistently restore the router to a working state. I have watchdog configured to watch an internal / private IP address on our network that should generally be reachable 24/7. While I don't frequently receive emails (since configuring watchdog) indicating the router needed to restart itself, it does seem to occur at least once every few days. Perhaps I'm spoiled by the ZyWALL hardware I'm accustomed to (it almost never crashes or hangs). So far, I'm disappointed in the reliability of this router. :( Routers are one of the more critical components on any network :!:
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: Faulty RB1100AHx2?

Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:22 am

Write to support@mikrotik.com, we can help you find out what is crashing.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cyrixboy, l0ft13, mbovenka and 9 guests