Community discussions

 
ericsooter
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA

RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Fri May 10, 2013 11:37 pm

I was looking at using the new RB912UAG-5HPnD boards for 5g backhauls. How do they fare vs 411AH boards. The newer boards are GigE. I see on the spec sheet that they are 600mhz vs the 680mhz on the 411AH. But how does the Atheros AR9342 processor compare to the AR7161? Is it a similar speed CPU? Didn't see a "throughput" test on the newer boards.
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Sat May 11, 2013 2:35 am

In fact if you need just one radio 911 is the perfect option. The new cpu is better than old one and you have the option to choose from 600 to 720Mhz and it will work for sure. RB2011 and SXT have up to 750Mhz. Not to say the radio is a lot more powerful and 26dbm is the lowest power. Best radio card till now. It is so good that I bought a lvl4 licence for use in ptmp.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2293
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Sat May 11, 2013 11:27 am

Best radio card till now. It is so good that I bought a lvl4 licence for use in ptmp.
rb911 + Level4 is more expensive then rb912
Better solution is rb912
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Sat May 11, 2013 12:17 pm

using the new RB912UAG-5HPnD boards for 5g backhauls
So he don't need lvl4 like me.
912 is not available yet in my country so is the only way for me.
 
ericsooter
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA

Re: RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Sat May 11, 2013 6:06 pm

Thanks for the information Inox. I'll probably just do the 912. I forget about toggling CPU speeds. If you toggle the CPU high, is that like overclocking? Will it increase the failure rate of the routerboard? Also does it still maintain the same temperature specs of the board? Or does the extra heat reduce the maximum temp range. In July, we can get up to 110F (44C) and inside an outdoor enclosure can get up to 135F (57C). Maybe someone at Mikrotik can weigh in on this? Normis?
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Mon May 13, 2013 12:59 am

Of course CPU freq upping will change the CPU temperature as well. Does it make it go over some limits, it is up to the experimenter to test or maybe the MT gods will set us straight.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Mon May 13, 2013 9:24 am

Adjusting the CPU frequency is fine, but you must test it in your situation. For each install the result could be different. If you are in a cool area, and box is well ventilated, overclocking can give good results.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ericsooter
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA

Re: RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Mon May 13, 2013 11:08 pm

Thanks for the reply Normis. Due to our summer heat, I'll probably just overclock on our indoor and climate-controlled boxes.
 
User avatar
metron6
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 3:41 pm

Re: RB912UAG-5HPnD vs 411AH Boards

Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:35 am

In fact if you need just one radio 911 is the perfect option. The new cpu is better than old one and you have the option to choose from 600 to 720Mhz and it will work for sure. RB2011 and SXT have up to 750Mhz. Not to say the radio is a lot more powerful and 26dbm is the lowest power. Best radio card till now. It is so good that I bought a lvl4 licence for use in ptmp.
hello,

i see that you have clients connected at 270 or 300 mbps..
i have a pair of 912UAG-5HPnD and try to setup a wireless link..
Max. tx/rx rate is 180mbps (inside the house) max transfer rate is 80mbps
can you recommend me any settings to setup this backhaul link ?

Screen Shot 2018-02-14 at 03.35.12.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mikro-tickling since 2003...
http://twmn.net

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests