Community discussions

 
zhenchuan9r
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 5:29 pm

Is there a router board that...

Tue May 14, 2013 5:33 pm

Is there a router board that with:
>>Large memory:more than 512M or so
>>at least 4 Ethernet ports
Thank you very much.
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Is there a router board that...

Tue May 14, 2013 6:08 pm

RB1200
RB1100AH
RB1100Hx2
RB1100AHx2
CCR series

In order by performance (best on bottom).
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Is there a router board that...

Tue May 14, 2013 11:37 pm

I wonder why you advice the CCR series? It is a beta product with a beta software. It may have potential to be the greatest thing, but currently I see no reason why anyone should seek to have it - experience of actually using it is destined to be a poor one.
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: Is there a router board that...

Wed May 15, 2013 2:04 am

What about using a PC with 4 ethernet cards running ROS? Or even a plain Linux machine with all the resources and speeds you need.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Is there a router board that...

Wed May 15, 2013 2:14 am

Actually, I know plenty of people that run CCR in production without any problems. Of course, before placing it in production, testing that it will actually work is crucial.

Yes, there are still issues, and yes, you can see people on forums having issues. But you have to remember, forums are only a minor part of people that actually use Mikrotik. The people for which everything works dont post on forums...
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
User avatar
NathanA
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:01 am

Re: Is there a router board that...

Wed May 15, 2013 4:36 am

RB1200
RB1100AH
RB1100Hx2
RB1100AHx2
CCR series
Actually, I'm pretty sure the basic 1100AH (single-core) is now discontinued/end-of-lifed. At least it doesn't show as an active product on routerboard.com anymore.

Which is a shame, for two reasons:

1. It leaves a price hole/vacuum at the $395 spot.
2. It was the last remaining high-end RouterBOARD model that supported MetaROUTER. None of the other models on your list do.

-- Nathan
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Is there a router board that...

Wed May 15, 2013 10:30 am

Actually, I'm pretty sure the basic 1100AH (single-core) is now discontinued/end-of-lifed. At least it doesn't show as an active product on routerboard.com anymore.

Which is a shame, for two reasons:

1. It leaves a price hole/vacuum at the $395 spot.
2. It was the last remaining high-end RouterBOARD model that supported MetaROUTER. None of the other models on your list do.

-- Nathan
Yes, its now EoL. However, if you are lucky, you can still find it in some distributor's stock.

Also, I completly agree with both your points :)
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 6 guests