Page 1 of 1

Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:48 pm
by voxframe
Am I correct in assuming the Sextant G-5HPnD has a gigabit port?

I had the understanding that this unit had gigabit Ethernet. I cannot get it to link at Gigabit speeds.
I am using the stock PoE adapter. Bench setup, Cat6, Cat5E, connecting to RB-250GS, computer, gigabit switch, etc.
I've tried locking to gigabit speeds, auto negotiation, crossover cables, etc.

Nothing.

Am I mistaken? Or is there a trick to this?
FW is 5.25 and RB firmware is at latest level.

Re: Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:40 am
by ddd
Make sure your using one of these
http://routerboard.com/RBGPOE

Re: Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:46 am
by voxframe
Yes I am using one of those. I've also tried it with a second one.

MT support is looking into the issue. I've tried every possibility imaginable, every firmware combination, every PoE available... It just isn't happening.

Worse, this is a pair of units with the same issue. Both exhibit the exact same issue.

Every single other piece of MT equipment I have that is supposed to do gigabit, does gigabit without a problem. This is the only time I've seen it (Also the only time I've bought these units).

Re: Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 3:15 pm
by ykutlu
Hi,

Total I buy 8 pcs SEXTANG G 5 seris
and too much SXT G 5Hpnd.
I've had the same problem.
3-4 injector is make problem gbit connection.
I change POE INJECTOR.
Then work GBit.

I have now not any gbit problem.

Re: Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:12 pm
by uldis
How long is the ethernet cable?

Please make sure that you are using the latest RouterOS, currently v6.5, and also upgrade then to the latest Routerboard firmware.
Changing the POE injector didn't help?
Try to check with multiple boards on the other side of the ethernet cable.
Please contact support@mikrotik.com and include the support output files from both ends when the auto-negotiation fails at 1gigabit.

Re: Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:58 am
by voxframe
As I said, I tried many other cables. I also tried RB-2011UAS-RM and RB-450G, no problems.
I also tried other PoE injectors. I have tried long cables (100FT) and short cables (3FT).

Nothing makes a difference.

I have never had it link at gigabit speed.

Re: Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 10:38 am
by Ivoshiee
As I said, I tried many other cables. I also tried RB-2011UAS-RM and RB-450G, no problems.
I also tried other PoE injectors. I have tried long cables (100FT) and short cables (3FT).

Nothing makes a difference.

I have never had it link at gigabit speed.
A RMA case for you?

Re: Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:58 pm
by normis
Is it really a SEXTANT G? We also have non-G SEXTANT models.

Re: Sextant, can't get port to link in Gigabit. G-5HPnD

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:54 pm
by voxframe
Perhaps I can't read properly?

Please see/attach this to Ticket#2013102266000748