Community discussions

 
jml
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:22 am

S-31DLC20D GBIC compatible with Cisco3750?

Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:35 pm

Hi guys,
I was wondering if anyone has tried a S-31DLC20D GBIC in a Cisco 3750 Catalyst and had success.
We are going to be transitioning to Mikrotik HW on this particular switch, but I need a fiber circuit up ASAP and I really don't want to spend hundreds on a GBIC that's Cisco only.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: S-31DLC20D GBIC compatible with Cisco3750?

Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:08 pm

Please make sure your switch device does not have proprietary lock for SFP modules, you need to study Cisco documentation.
 
timberwolf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Germany

Re: S-31DLC20D GBIC compatible with Cisco3750?

Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:43 pm

Cisco products only supports their own SFPs, other SFPs don't work.
But you may have a look here, maybe it helps: http://www.flexoptix.net
 
ChrisP
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 8:00 pm

Re: S-31DLC20D GBIC compatible with Cisco3750?

Fri Dec 13, 2013 11:03 am

I don't have a S-31DLC20D to test, but Cisco 3560/3750 switches can support 3rd party SFPs if you enter the following commands:

service unsupported-transceiver
no errdisable detect cause gbic-invalid

The first allows non-Cisco SFPs and the 2nd stops SFPs being put into the err-disable state.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests