Community discussions

 
User avatar
Hammy
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: DeKalb, IL
Contact:

CRS226

Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:08 am

The slides I saw online were hard to read. What's this CRS226?
-----
Mike Hammett

The Brothers WISP
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS226

Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:09 am

Two SFP+ 10G ports and 24 Gigabit copper ports
Desktop version $289, available April
Rackmount version $299, available May
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ATG
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:45 am

Re: CRS226

Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:48 am

Sound promising!

What CPU and speed is used? (Fanless?)

Best Regards
Joakim
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS226

Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:42 am

400MHz CPU and 64MB RAM.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ATG
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:45 am

Re: CRS226

Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:57 am

PPC CPU? HW Encryption?

This looks like ideal product for our remote offices! :)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS226

Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:43 pm

Atheros CPU, no HW acceleration. But remember, it is still mostly a Switch.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: CRS226

Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:30 pm

Atheros CPU, no HW acceleration. But remember, it is still mostly a Switch.
Normis - It's a 400 Mhz?... its slower than the CRS125? Also any updates on the finished feature set for the CRS?
 
User avatar
Raf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: Olesnica, Poland
Contact:

Re: CRS226

Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:32 pm

Looks like mistake. I guess it should be 600 MHz.
Rafał Wójcik from AWB-NET
High Definition enthusiast
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2291
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: CRS226

Sat Feb 22, 2014 12:22 pm

Why only 400Mhz? Old CRS have 600Mhz
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: CRS226

Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:35 pm

Why only 400Mhz? Old CRS have 600Mhz
+1... thats odd.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: CRS226

Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:41 pm

Why only 400Mhz? Old CRS have 600Mhz
Probably MT decided that it's mainly switch and router functionality is 'additional feature' :)

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
JanezFord
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 10:58 am

Re: CRS226

Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:47 pm

Any info on MTU? Does it support jumbo frames of 9000 bytes ?

JF.
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: CRS226

Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:45 am

Would it be possible to build a CRS217-14G-3S+IN with the QCA8519 ?

I'm not sure the QCA8719 would allow 52ac or even 52n.

There's barely any info on these chips.
Last edited by vortex on Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS226

Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:50 am

It is mainly a switch, so MHz don't matter.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: CRS226

Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:59 pm

It is mainly a switch, so MHz don't matter.
True... but its a cloud ROUTER switch... I am actually using it for both. And technically the switch isn't fully implemented yet..
 
keefe007
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Re: CRS226

Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:18 pm

Any plans for a full 10gig switch?
 
ropeba
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:13 pm

Re: CRS226

Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:01 am

CRS is ok for FTTB instalation, but it would be ok that CPU is litle bit stronger.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS226

Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:10 am

It is mainly a switch, so MHz don't matter.
True... but its a cloud ROUTER switch... I am actually using it for both. And technically the switch isn't fully implemented yet..
And 400Mhz is OK for running some ports in routing mode. Let us know which Switch features you find missing.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: CRS226

Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:43 pm

It is mainly a switch, so MHz don't matter.
True... but its a cloud ROUTER switch... I am actually using it for both. And technically the switch isn't fully implemented yet..
And 400Mhz is OK for running some ports in routing mode. Let us know which Switch features you find missing.
I have emailed support. All I have been told is that there are bugs with the CPU and vlan. Your going to fix it at some point, but there is no Eta and more documentation and examples will come also. So I am left just waiting....

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: CRS226

Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:53 pm

Two SFP+ 10G ports and 24 Gigabit copper ports
If I connect two switches through their 10 Gigabit interface, what speed can I expect (no routing, just bridging)?

If I have multiple VLANs, do I need a Cloud Core Router to get decent speed?
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: CRS226

Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:30 am

Hurry up and make a 802.3af/at POE out model :)
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
skibi82
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:09 pm

Re: CRS226

Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:22 pm

Atheros CPU, no HW acceleration. But remember, it is still mostly a Switch.

Will have xSTP, LACP,VoisVLAN and other solutions?
If not, please do not tell anyone that this switch.
It will be like CRS125 on network switch is not suitable.

In this case we get 10Gbps switch with a capacity of 40 Mbps
How predator said s h i t happen
Last edited by skibi82 on Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS226

Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:23 pm

it works at wire speed in switch mode. As a router, CPU is limit like you observed.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
skibi82
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:09 pm

Re: CRS226

Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:35 pm

it works at wire speed in switch mode. As a router, CPU is limit like you observed.
There is no basic functions of a managed switch.
I'm talking here about what any other.

I make the connection port 1 and 2, and then the machine dies.
And what I such that the loop switch can not determine
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS226

Fri Mar 07, 2014 5:07 pm

what was the last time you checked on what is available?

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_features
 
netmaster
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:42 am

Re: CRS226

Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:13 pm

Let us know which Switch features you find missing.
I finished wiki page.
Not a word about IGMP support?

It is basically cheap RB, attached to cheap manageable switch and that's it.
Is hard to understand for whom that device is made...
Most homes or offices do not have anything to connect to SFP+, but they forced to pay for it.
ISP's who maybe have use of SFP+, need full featured smart switch for sure, including IGMP support.

Actually I am little disappointed, that none of the MT switches (including those integrated into routers) do not have IGMP support. Even 30$ switches have it, but not from Mikrotik. Why?
 
skibi82
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:09 pm

Re: CRS226

Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:34 pm

Request basic smart switch functionality
LACP dynamic
STP
RSTP
MSTP
VOICE VLAN by mask
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: CRS226

Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:22 pm

Request basic smart switch functionality
LACP dynamic
STP
RSTP
MSTP
VOICE VLAN by mask

How about switch chip based LAG/Bonding.
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: CRS226

Sun Mar 09, 2014 7:31 pm

I miss a basic feature in CRS switch. Port forwarding based on IP/TCP and IP/UDP port, like in the switching rules of the older 450 and 750 switch chips.
I know that taking the port in account is L4 and this is a L3 switch, but since you can e.g. do exceptions for DHCP, RIP and ND, that means the switch chip is able to manage L4, too.
An usecase would be to drop DHCP and UPNP requests on a certain port linking to a network segment managed by another router.
And I don't think bridging just to do L3/L4 filtering is feasible for multiple gigabit ports on a 400 or 600 MHz cpu.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
JanezFord
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 10:58 am

Re: CRS226

Sun Mar 09, 2014 8:04 pm

I agree with docmarius. A device like CRS should be able to prevent DHCP requests coming from certain ports ..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DHCP_snooping

JF.
 
odge
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: CRS226

Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:43 am

I've only realised now, that MT does not have MTSP support .... WHAT?

This is insane! Its basic managed switch functionality. Not being able to load balance on layer2 using MSTP compared to switches that are actually cheaper just doesnt make sense as a core component of any of the devices that gigabit ports, and especially those that have SFP and SFP+
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 689
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Re: CRS226

Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:56 am

I thought these would have been good vlan switches and NAT gateway router. I'm afraid I would have been better off with a managed D-Link switch :( and a 951G.
 
oreggin
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:21 pm

Re: CRS226

Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:55 pm

If i'm right, CRS is a Layer2 ASIC with CPU Layer3 support. So it can't NAT or routing in ASIC but in CPU?
Do you plan make real Layer3 switches? I mean what can does simple routing or NAT functions with TCAM or similar.
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: CRS226

Sat Feb 21, 2015 5:13 pm

The product that seems to be obviously missing now is CRS217-16G-1S+IN

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests