Page 1 of 1

CRS226

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:08 am
by Hammy
The slides I saw online were hard to read. What's this CRS226?

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:09 am
by normis
Two SFP+ 10G ports and 24 Gigabit copper ports
Desktop version $289, available April
Rackmount version $299, available May

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:48 am
by ATG
Sound promising!

What CPU and speed is used? (Fanless?)

Best Regards
Joakim

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:42 am
by normis
400MHz CPU and 64MB RAM.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:57 am
by ATG
PPC CPU? HW Encryption?

This looks like ideal product for our remote offices! :)

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:43 pm
by normis
Atheros CPU, no HW acceleration. But remember, it is still mostly a Switch.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:30 pm
by efaden
Atheros CPU, no HW acceleration. But remember, it is still mostly a Switch.
Normis - It's a 400 Mhz?... its slower than the CRS125? Also any updates on the finished feature set for the CRS?

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:32 pm
by Raf
Looks like mistake. I guess it should be 600 MHz.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 12:22 pm
by honzam
Why only 400Mhz? Old CRS have 600Mhz

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:35 pm
by efaden
Why only 400Mhz? Old CRS have 600Mhz
+1... thats odd.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:41 pm
by ditonet
Why only 400Mhz? Old CRS have 600Mhz
Probably MT decided that it's mainly switch and router functionality is 'additional feature' :)

Regards,

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:47 pm
by JanezFord
Any info on MTU? Does it support jumbo frames of 9000 bytes ?

JF.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:45 am
by vortex
Would it be possible to build a CRS217-14G-3S+IN with the QCA8519 ?

I'm not sure the QCA8719 would allow 52ac or even 52n.

There's barely any info on these chips.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:50 am
by normis
It is mainly a switch, so MHz don't matter.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:59 pm
by efaden
It is mainly a switch, so MHz don't matter.
True... but its a cloud ROUTER switch... I am actually using it for both. And technically the switch isn't fully implemented yet..

Re: CRS226

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:18 pm
by keefe007
Any plans for a full 10gig switch?

Re: CRS226

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:01 am
by ropeba
CRS is ok for FTTB instalation, but it would be ok that CPU is litle bit stronger.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:10 am
by normis
It is mainly a switch, so MHz don't matter.
True... but its a cloud ROUTER switch... I am actually using it for both. And technically the switch isn't fully implemented yet..
And 400Mhz is OK for running some ports in routing mode. Let us know which Switch features you find missing.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:43 pm
by efaden
It is mainly a switch, so MHz don't matter.
True... but its a cloud ROUTER switch... I am actually using it for both. And technically the switch isn't fully implemented yet..
And 400Mhz is OK for running some ports in routing mode. Let us know which Switch features you find missing.
I have emailed support. All I have been told is that there are bugs with the CPU and vlan. Your going to fix it at some point, but there is no Eta and more documentation and examples will come also. So I am left just waiting....

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Re: CRS226

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:53 pm
by THG
Two SFP+ 10G ports and 24 Gigabit copper ports
If I connect two switches through their 10 Gigabit interface, what speed can I expect (no routing, just bridging)?

If I have multiple VLANs, do I need a Cloud Core Router to get decent speed?

Re: CRS226

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:30 am
by nz_monkey
Hurry up and make a 802.3af/at POE out model :)

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:22 pm
by skibi82
Atheros CPU, no HW acceleration. But remember, it is still mostly a Switch.

Will have xSTP, LACP,VoisVLAN and other solutions?
If not, please do not tell anyone that this switch.
It will be like CRS125 on network switch is not suitable.

In this case we get 10Gbps switch with a capacity of 40 Mbps
How predator said s h i t happen

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:23 pm
by normis
it works at wire speed in switch mode. As a router, CPU is limit like you observed.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:35 pm
by skibi82
it works at wire speed in switch mode. As a router, CPU is limit like you observed.
There is no basic functions of a managed switch.
I'm talking here about what any other.

I make the connection port 1 and 2, and then the machine dies.
And what I such that the loop switch can not determine

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 5:07 pm
by janisk
what was the last time you checked on what is available?

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_features

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:13 pm
by netmaster
Let us know which Switch features you find missing.
I finished wiki page.
Not a word about IGMP support?

It is basically cheap RB, attached to cheap manageable switch and that's it.
Is hard to understand for whom that device is made...
Most homes or offices do not have anything to connect to SFP+, but they forced to pay for it.
ISP's who maybe have use of SFP+, need full featured smart switch for sure, including IGMP support.

Actually I am little disappointed, that none of the MT switches (including those integrated into routers) do not have IGMP support. Even 30$ switches have it, but not from Mikrotik. Why?

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:34 pm
by skibi82
Request basic smart switch functionality
LACP dynamic
STP
RSTP
MSTP
VOICE VLAN by mask

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:22 pm
by efaden
Request basic smart switch functionality
LACP dynamic
STP
RSTP
MSTP
VOICE VLAN by mask

How about switch chip based LAG/Bonding.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 7:31 pm
by docmarius
I miss a basic feature in CRS switch. Port forwarding based on IP/TCP and IP/UDP port, like in the switching rules of the older 450 and 750 switch chips.
I know that taking the port in account is L4 and this is a L3 switch, but since you can e.g. do exceptions for DHCP, RIP and ND, that means the switch chip is able to manage L4, too.
An usecase would be to drop DHCP and UPNP requests on a certain port linking to a network segment managed by another router.
And I don't think bridging just to do L3/L4 filtering is feasible for multiple gigabit ports on a 400 or 600 MHz cpu.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 8:04 pm
by JanezFord
I agree with docmarius. A device like CRS should be able to prevent DHCP requests coming from certain ports ..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DHCP_snooping

JF.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:43 am
by odge
I've only realised now, that MT does not have MTSP support .... WHAT?

This is insane! Its basic managed switch functionality. Not being able to load balance on layer2 using MSTP compared to switches that are actually cheaper just doesnt make sense as a core component of any of the devices that gigabit ports, and especially those that have SFP and SFP+

Re: CRS226

Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:56 am
by jober
I thought these would have been good vlan switches and NAT gateway router. I'm afraid I would have been better off with a managed D-Link switch :( and a 951G.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:55 pm
by oreggin
If i'm right, CRS is a Layer2 ASIC with CPU Layer3 support. So it can't NAT or routing in ASIC but in CPU?
Do you plan make real Layer3 switches? I mean what can does simple routing or NAT functions with TCAM or similar.

Re: CRS226

Posted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 5:13 pm
by vortex
The product that seems to be obviously missing now is CRS217-16G-1S+IN