Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
tehjolly81
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:36 am

SFP and compatibility with Cisco

Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:49 am

Hello,

If I have a RB2011UAS-2HND-IN with a S-31DLC20D SFP one one side of a 1KM SM fiber span and a Cisco 3560 with a Cisco LX (1310nm) optic on the other side, will it work?

Note - I'm not asking if the RB SFP will work in a Cisco, or if the Cisco SFP will work in the RB - I'm asking if the link will come up and be operational if I have RB gear on one end and Cisco gear on the other.

I'm assuming it will work since both optics are 1310nm, but I just wanted to make sure before purchasing. I'm a little hesitant since RB optics are advertised to be 1.25Gb while Cisco optics are advertised at 1.00Gb.

Thank you!
 
michaelahess
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:56 am

Re: SFP and compatibility with Cisco

Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:21 pm

That should work. the 1.25Gb is full data rate an SFP is capable of, Ethernet will limit that to 1Gb. As long as the wave is the same, and they talk Ethernet, there should be no issue.
 
tehjolly81
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:36 am

Re: SFP and compatibility with Cisco

Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:08 am

Thanks!
 
beloge2002
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 4:06 pm

Re: SFP and compatibility with Cisco

Tue Nov 03, 2015 4:11 pm

Hi all,
did someone succeed to make a link between Cisco SFP transceiver with Mikrotik SFP Transceiver. I assume they have same specifications (1310nm wavelength with 1G of rate).
I am in same case and would like your confirmation before purchasing Cisco Switch 3560 12 SFP Ports
Thank you in advance.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: SFP and compatibility with Cisco

Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:29 pm

Yes it will work as long as you match the type of SFP, single mode or multimode on each side. We connect cisco SFPs and switches to MikroTik SFPs all the time without issue.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
User avatar
Murmaider
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:10 am

Re: SFP and compatibility with Cisco

Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:27 pm

Just out of interest, how reliable are the Mikrotik SFP's and SFP+'s or are all SFP's much the same now days?
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: SFP and compatibility with Cisco

Wed Nov 04, 2015 6:18 pm

Just out of interest, how reliable are the Mikrotik SFP's and SFP+'s or are all SFP's much the same now days?
There are only a handful of companies that actually make SFPs, Cisco for example doesn't make their own but has a company called Finisar make them and then Cisco puts a label on them.

The only time we use branded SFPs is when the vendor uses some kind of locking in the software to force you to use a specific brand of SFP, otherwise, we tend to get generics. That said, I've found MikroTIk's SFPs to be very reliable and consistent

Here is a good overview on branded vs. generic SFPs

http://packetpushers.net/podcast/podcas ... ules-work/
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: expo and 37 guests