Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

QRT-5

Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:51 am

Is new on routerboard.com. CPU speed is wrong. Should be 600 instead of 400MHz.

Should give good short to mid-Range Links. Now waiting for the Dish for longer ranges
and some tweaks to make nv2 better than nstreme on these links.
 
User avatar
soulflyhigh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:20 am

Re: QRT-5

Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:03 am

Cheaper CPE-only version would be very interesting for us.
MTCRE, MTCTCE
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: QRT-5

Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:11 am

Cheaper CPE-only version would be very interesting for us.
It's quite affordable for a 23db CPE with GE.
There is SXT Lite, SXT HG, Sextant and QRT-5.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24326
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: QRT-5

Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:16 am

ste is right, for each category we have a product. For 5GHz (recommended retail price, lower at some distributors):

$59 = SXT Lite
$95 = SXT HG (Gigabit and Higher Gain)
$110 = SEXTANT (more gain)
$169 = QRT 5 (even more gain and power)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
soulflyhigh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:20 am

Re: QRT-5

Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:36 pm

I do recognize that QRT-5 will probably be an excellent device with good antenna,
high throughput, powerful CPU, gigabit ether port and good build quality.
But, it has about 50% higher price than custom made CPE with RB911 + 23dBi single polarization antenna.
We need something like that (single polarization 23+ dBi antenna and 100mbps ether port would be perfectly fine)
to connect customers in low populated areas where distance can be more than 5 or 10km.

We will start buying QRT-5 ASAP for short-to-mid p2p links but at this price point it is simply too expensive (for us) as a plain CPE unit.
Take a look what U*** company has to offer for CPE market even at SXT Lite5 price point.
Our competitors use them and they're doing just fine.

Instead of additional 50-100 QRT-5 units per month we'll be buying maybe 10-20 of them and continue
to make those CPEs with 23dBi antennas.
That's all.

Regards,
M.
MTCRE, MTCTCE
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: QRT-5

Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:14 pm

I do recognize that QRT-5 will probably be an excellent device with good antenna,
high throughput, powerful CPU, gigabit ether port and good build quality.
But, it has about 50% higher price than custom made CPE with RB911 + 23dBi single polarization antenna.
We need something like that (single polarization 23+ dBi antenna and 100mbps ether port would be perfectly fine)
to connect customers in low populated areas where distance can be more than 5 or 10km.

We will start buying QRT-5 ASAP for short-to-mid p2p links but at this price point it is simply too expensive (for us) as a plain CPE unit.
Take a look what U*** company has to offer for CPE market even at SXT Lite5 price point.
Our competitors use them and they're doing just fine.

Instead of additional 50-100 QRT-5 units per month we'll be buying maybe 10-20 of them and continue
to make those CPEs with 23dBi antennas.
That's all.

Regards,
M.
Single pol Antennas are *outdated*. We replace them where possible. You should look at your calculation and take the available spectrum into account. A user with singlepol antenna use up to double the airtime.
 
cjohnson0692
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:00 am

Re: QRT-5

Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:09 am

Seriously, Mikrotik comes out with nice new products and all people do is complain, it's sad! Everything Mikrotik has isn't for my company but we are happy they continue to develop new products and we are happy to see the new ones. As Mikrotik covers such a broad range of customers.
 
User avatar
soulflyhigh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:20 am

Re: QRT-5

Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:30 am

Single pol Antennas are *outdated*. We replace them where possible. You should look at your calculation and take the available spectrum into account. A user with singlepol antenna use up to double the airtime.
That is, technically speaking, completely correct. Sadly, that comes at a much higher price.

Now, just take it easy, I'm not complaining about QRT-5 for what it is and how much it costs.
What I'm saying is it's just an overkill to use it as CPE for domestic/home users at that price point
(please note that "cheap" may have slightly different meaning in Bosnia where we live and work and let's say Germany or Sweden).

As I can see it, QRT-5 is an excellent (and probably the best) choice for ~100mbps p2p links in <10km range for 169$.
But "the other company" has a 27dBi CPE for 69$ with free shipping :( .
You really don't have to put it on paper to calculate how much this is an advantage (in terms of money
and effective range of base stations) for our competitors at the start per user.
Actually, they are giving them away for free to their new costumers.
We could hardly afford that kind of practice with QRT-5. Believe me, this is a really big problem for us.

So, am I the only one around here who sees an empty place in Mikrotik product line?
Just one idea > Groove52HPn or RB911 "compactly combined" with some 23-27dBi antenna
and L3 license under 90-100$ price tag would be a game-changer for us.
Mikrotik guys, could you please reconsider this idea?

Regards,
M.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24326
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: QRT-5

Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:35 am

QRT has two chains and Gigabit, "other brand" is single chain 100Mbit. Not a fair comparison
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
soulflyhigh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:20 am

Re: QRT-5

Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:14 pm

QRT has two chains and Gigabit, "other brand" is single chain 100Mbit. Not a fair comparison
Yes, correct again. But, again, that's not the point.
If some other ISP can offer a similar or the same service at lower price
then one can easily imagine the end result as loss of market share for us.

For shorter range we're using SXT Lite5 (which is a great piece of hardware at great price) but for longer range we
just don't have anything to "fight" with that "inferior-27dBi-single-polarization-100mbps-69$ device".
I simply don't know how to put that fact to be more obvious :(

Regards,
M.
MTCRE, MTCTCE
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24326
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: QRT-5

Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:17 pm

It is not similar at all. The added features add the price.

If you want, you can have the 50$ Groove added to a grid antenna http://routerboard.com/RBGroove52HPn and it will be comparable.
We don't offer grid antennas now, so you must look in Distributor pages for prices.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: QRT-5

Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:32 pm

Single pol Antennas are *outdated*. We replace them where possible. You should look at your calculation and take the available spectrum into account. A user with singlepol antenna use up to double the airtime.
That is, technically speaking, completely correct. Sadly, that comes at a much higher price.

Now, just take it easy, I'm not complaining about QRT-5 for what it is and how much it costs.
What I'm saying is it's just an overkill to use it as CPE for domestic/home users at that price point
(please note that "cheap" may have slightly different meaning in Bosnia where we live and work and let's say Germany or Sweden).

As I can see it, QRT-5 is an excellent (and probably the best) choice for ~100mbps p2p links in <10km range for 169$.
But "the other company" has a 27dBi CPE for 69$ with free shipping :( .
You really don't have to put it on paper to calculate how much this is an advantage (in terms of money
and effective range of base stations) for our competitors at the start per user.
Actually, they are giving them away for free to their new costumers.
We could hardly afford that kind of practice with QRT-5. Believe me, this is a really big problem for us.

So, am I the only one around here who sees an empty place in Mikrotik product line?
Just one idea > Groove52HPn or RB911 "compactly combined" with some 23-27dBi antenna
and L3 license under 90-100$ price tag would be a game-changer for us.
Mikrotik guys, could you please reconsider this idea?

Regards,
M.
You should do a calculation which contains scalability and installation/replacement cost. Putting a low end single chain device to the customer now increases the probability to replace it very soon. As said we consider this devices as trash and drop them to the bin. Buying and installing them is your problem not the price. CPE prices are so low compared to backhaul and service/installation cost that it is not worth to buy the cheapest cpe with lower functionality.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: QRT-5

Fri May 02, 2014 1:04 pm

Got my first QRT-5. Suprised it is quite small for a 23db dual pol Antenna.
Our old Mars singlepol are the same size and have only 21db.
Our other 23db dual pol Antennas are 37x37cm.

Any special antenna magical sauce ?
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1895
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: QRT-5

Fri May 02, 2014 1:39 pm

Got my first QRT-5. Suprised it is quite small for a 23db dual pol Antenna.
Our old Mars singlepol are the same size and have only 21db.
Our other 23db dual pol Antennas are 37x37cm.

Any special antenna magical sauce ?
More important is performance, have you tested!
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: QRT-5

Fri May 02, 2014 3:34 pm

Got my first QRT-5. Suprised it is quite small for a 23db dual pol Antenna.
Our old Mars singlepol are the same size and have only 21db.
Our other 23db dual pol Antennas are 37x37cm.

Any special antenna magical sauce ?
More important is performance, have you tested!
Only on a non clean link to an omnitik. There it performes quite good for the conditions.
I'll do some more links to see how it does.
The HW looks good. Mounts are stable the door fits and there is enough room for
the cable.
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1895
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: QRT-5

Fri May 02, 2014 5:22 pm

Only on a non clean link to an omnitik. There it performes quite good for the conditions.
I'll do some more links to see how it does.
The HW looks good. Mounts are stable the door fits and there is enough room for
the cable.
Can you post some photos if possible of the underside of unit, cable entry point and with Ethernet cable connected,
we always have to check for water ingress points with any outdoor device.
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: QRT-5

Fri May 02, 2014 11:07 pm

RB mount in the middle of a tragic To replace the RB need to dismantle each screw

Ground screw is screwed on from the inside is really imaginary patent.
It should be movable so as not to have to pull the front cover and unscrew it. Who invented it?

It should also be on sale with the cheapest version of the CPE RB911 L3 and 100mbit lan
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: QRT-5

Sat May 03, 2014 12:15 am

RB mount in the middle of a tragic To replace the RB need to dismantle each screw
3 Screws to remove the Antenna. Hang in new one and fasten 3 screws.
 
User avatar
soulflyhigh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:20 am

Re: QRT-5

Sat May 03, 2014 9:40 am

It should also be on sale with the cheapest version of the CPE RB911 L3 and 100mbit lan
+1
MTCRE, MTCTCE
 
vmnx
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:13 pm

Re: QRT-5

Sat May 03, 2014 5:57 pm

ste, can you run p2p link test? I'm considering to use theese for ptp but affraid that it wont work properly with nv2 (like current p2p link, two sextants, nv2 and nstreme not working with both chains, only with one chain working not bad...)
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: QRT-5

Tue May 13, 2014 10:20 pm

ste:

Whose your distributor?

Non of the US based distributors seem to have them yet.

As for the debate on cost... Compare it to a dual pol ARC Integrator series 23dBi gain RB911 board w/ pigtails and all and you're coming out ahead...

I would have liked to slap the ARC ABS mounts on these units...
William Burnett
Network Engineer
 
Lupin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:22 pm
Location: Italy

Re: QRT-5

Tue May 13, 2014 11:56 pm

Why this difference between QRT 2Ghz and 5Ghz?
Price examples of other product in 2Ghz and 5Ghz version:

Metal 2SHPn 99$
Metal 5SHPn 99$

BaseBox2 89$
BaseBox5 89$

QRT-2 149$
QRT-5 169$
 
avantwireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 3:04 am

Re: QRT-5

Sat May 24, 2014 2:56 am

A few things... One. The pole mounting nuts (10mm) are perfectly sized with the slot in the bracket so that you can put a 10 mm speed (ratching) wrench on the nuts and tighten them down and as they get tightened up they will TRAP the speed wrench. ( some speed wrenches have to flip over to reverse and so can not be backed off! )...

TWO what is going on with the voltage readings. Know 23.5 Volt input is reading as 31 volts... Kinda scary!!! I hope this doesn't get close to voltage shutdown values...


Three, we are seeing excellent performance out of this small antenna very similar to 24db panels ... Way to go!...
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: QRT-5

Mon May 26, 2014 3:58 pm

TWO what is going on with the voltage readings. Know 23.5 Volt input is reading as 31 volts... Kinda scary!!! I hope this doesn't get close to voltage shutdown values...
can you provide S/N of the router (to support@mikrotik.com) reading should be approximately correct (within 1V boundaries for sure)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests