Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Holekm
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:34 pm

RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:52 pm

I have a problem to obtain 1gbps connection with poe ports on RB260GSP. I'm connecting this switch with RB435G (10m FTP copper cable) and with RB433GL (25m FTP copper cable) and autonegotiation is only 100mbps. When I try to force 1gpsb there is no connection.
All 1GBps ports on devices works correctly without POE on the same cable. Is it normal feature or is it a bug?
SWOS is 1.12.
Greets
Holek
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:05 pm

Have you installed POE injector maded for gigabit network?
 
Holekm
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:34 pm

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Thu May 01, 2014 1:50 am

No - I want to use POE ports embedded in RB260GSP - I assumed if it is Mikrotik hardware it will work with other Mikrotik hardware. I have never found information about it, but it looked obvious to me. Why in other way there are 1Gbps POE ports when you can't have 1Gbps speed with POE?
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Thu May 01, 2014 9:07 am

Indeed this is weird, RB260GSP have gigabit ports onboard.

Have you tested with other network cable?
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2312
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Thu May 01, 2014 1:49 pm

What ROS is in rb435G? Try upgrade...
You can also try another cable and another routerboard
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Fri May 02, 2014 8:47 am

if you are using or want to use 1Gbps then you have to use auto-negotiation=yes as 1Gbps links vill auto-negotiate more link settings than it was for 100Mbps links and there is no other way on how to select these options.

If link is not negotiating correctly please check cables, if possible replace them.
 
Holekm
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:34 pm

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Sat May 03, 2014 10:30 am

Cables all are good and checked. When I power hardware with normal power supply all is working ok and I have 1gpbs connection on those cables, only when i try to use poe embedden in RB260 connection is only 100mbps.
Port 1 and port 5 on the screenshot are connected by the same cable but without poe. Port 2 to 4 are connected with 3 devices - RB453G RB433GL and some other with 100mbps port. Port 2 and 3 negotiating only 100mbps but ONLY with POE enabled. When I disable it it goes on 1gbps.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Tue May 06, 2014 10:57 am

what version SwOS you have on RB260GSP? Make sure it is the latest release available. (1.12) Also, good quality copper cables should be used.
 
Holekm
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:34 pm

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Wed May 28, 2014 11:11 pm

I have latest 1.12 firmware, and very good cat.6 (too good?) copper cable - http://www.growinet.com.hk/datasheet/CAA-00251.pdf. I had to bought special rj45 connector http://bowi.com.pl/product_img/big/3831_14905_a10.jpg. Cable is good becouse without poe it works on 1Gbps. Maybe it is bad for poe?
 
bds1904
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 2:52 am

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Thu May 29, 2014 1:50 am

Leave auto negotiation on for the 260gsp and uncheck the 10mbps and 100mbps advertize options on the hardware that is gigabit enabled. I have had this problem with a few gigabit 951 boards.
 
Holekm
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:34 pm

Re: RB260GSP - 1GB problem?

Thu May 29, 2014 10:15 am

I have just tested, but with only 1gbps enabled with autonegotation there is no link. I will try standard cat 5e cable maybe...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests