Community discussions

 
skoenman
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:42 am

does the hardware affect the throughput

Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:48 pm

Guys have any of you had a issue yet were a rb 2011 seems to be performing better than a x86 machine??? i have a 6 port x86 machine and for some reason i cant seem to get better performance out of it....reason why i want to go over to the x86 hardware is that it has a ssd in it and alot more processing power.
specs are attached.

Any help will be appreciated. or any ideas on how to optimise...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
wildflower42
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 12:43 am

Re: does the hardware affect the throughput

Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:32 am

Look at your network interfaces. Did they auto-negotiate the right speed and duplex? Do you have any error counters incrementing on RX or TX?

Can you describe what throughput you get on the x86 vs the 2011?
 
skoenman
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:42 am

Re: does the hardware affect the throughput

Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:12 am

Look at your network interfaces. Did they auto-negotiate the right speed and duplex? Do you have any error counters incrementing on RX or TX?

Can you describe what throughput you get on the x86 vs the 2011?
It is on auto negotiate... i just had a look and i dont see any tx or rx errors. Well straight out of the bat when i do same setup from scratch i get data jumping from 5mbps to 10mbps. Can you maybe tell me if the fast path makes a diffrence when using x86 because i have now disabled it and it seems to be running better now.
 
frankie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 pm

Re: does the hardware affect the throughput

Sat Jun 14, 2014 12:24 pm

I see you have Pineview Atom based board. I'm also using similar Cedarview Intel DN2800MT board but with only one 82574L onboard network controller using VLANs and HP ProCurve 1810G-24 L2 Managed Switch. I can simply NAT 200Mbps to my provider (at 40-45% CPU load) and 100Mbps PPTP VPN MPPE128 also possible with this CPU. I can only recommend downgrade to ROS 5.19-5.26. Your hardware seems older than Cedarview, so ROS 5.19 should support it.
 
skoenman
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:42 am

Re: does the hardware affect the throughput

Sun Jun 15, 2014 8:06 pm

Will test and see but I do know that when I first loaded v5 it didn't detect the ether nets..will give it a shot. Tx
 
skoenman
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:42 am

Re: does the hardware affect the throughput

Mon Jun 16, 2014 2:24 pm

Very funny preliminary tests show that 5.24 is working ..so far... dont have same issues with throughput. this is now with a stock default config and i just loaded my mangles which basicly just mark ports to go to one gateway. with same setup on v6 it didnt do half the throughput???.

What could it be??

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests