Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Petzl
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:14 pm

New product CRS 109

Thu Aug 07, 2014 12:26 pm

http://www.cdr.pl/p3630,mikrotik-cloud- ... nd-in.html

CRS109 8G 1S 2HnD IN
CPU Qualcomm Atheros AR9344 600MHz
Memory 128MB
Ethernet 8x 10/100/1000 Mbit/s Gigabit Ethernet with Auto-MDI/X
SFP One 1G Ethernet SFP cage (Mini-GBIC; SFP module not included), DDMI support.
Storage 128MB Onboard NAND with multiple OS partition support
Serial port One RJ45 serial port
Extras Reset switch beeper
voltage and temperature monitoring
touchscreen LCD
Power options 8-57V, 24V 0.8A PSU included
PoE in: 10-57V on Ether1 (802.3af/at or passive PoE)
Case dimensions 285x145x45mm
Temperature -35C to +65C tested
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: New product CRS 109

Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:11 pm

Hooray return of Real USB! And a RJ45 console port.

Mikrotik you guys rock. This is an awesome little product.

I am glad you are adopting the CCR look across your product range, it looks professional.

The only thing that could make it better is 802.3af/at POE out to run phones and AP's from.
Last edited by nz_monkey on Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
joegoldman
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: New product CRS 109

Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:52 pm

Good replacement for the RB2011UiAS-2hnd-in??

Same amount of CPU + RAM if I am not mistaken?
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: New product CRS 109

Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:00 pm

MikroTik RouterOS v6, Level 5 license, free product lifetime upgrades
Is this the new "official" approach? No more "upgradable to" statement?
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
User avatar
CyberTod
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:23 am

Re: New product CRS 109

Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:03 pm

MikroTik RouterOS v6, Level 5 license, free product lifetime upgrades
Is this the new "official" approach? No more "upgradable to" statement?
This has been the case for a long time. The "upgradeable to" field is deprecated.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: New product CRS 109

Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:05 pm

yes
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: New product CRS 109

Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:57 pm

Thank you.
I know this was the politics on upgrades a long time now, but I never seen it written down as a commitment.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
mpreissner
Member
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:16 pm
Location: Columbia, MD

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 08, 2014 12:26 am

When's this coming to the US? This would be perfect for a SOHO...and I imagine the price point (in US dollars) is rather attractive for the capability it has.
Michael Preissner
CISSP, CCSP, CEH, PMP
 
R1CH
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 905
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:44 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 08, 2014 12:48 am

Another product with a CPU too weak for modern broadband connections :(.
 
bds1904
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 2:52 am

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:21 am

MikroTik RouterOS v6, Level 5 license, free product lifetime upgrades
Is this the new "official" approach? No more "upgradable to" statement?
This has been the case for a long time. The "upgradeable to" field is deprecated.
funny, because every device I own still has the "upgradable to" field, even the 2011 that is only upgradable to 6.x, and it's running 6.18. Somehow I don't buy that.

As far as the switch goes, I think it is a step in the right direction. It would be really good for a on-site office that is 300ft of cable away. 1 device for fiber in, 8 PC's and wifi. It would also be beneficial to see this style device with a stronger processor (like a Scorpion 720Mhz CPU) and dual band wifi (or at least a PCIe slot) for a true SOHO device.

Mikrotik is kind of lacking in the SOHO department right now. Many small businesses I deal with have a 100/100 ethernet connection. Cloud services and pushing the need for SMB's with high speed connections. Mikrotik doesn't really have a device that can handle routing 200mbit (with decent firewall rules and a queue tree) in the sub $250 range.
Last edited by bds1904 on Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
Petzl
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:14 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:29 am

I'm more intrested in a entry model with 2 or more SFP modules... since you now can buy 200 meter fiber cables with connectors on it.

What about support for a USB IO module,

- intrusion dection (one or more inputs)
- Temperature monitoring
- one or more outputs
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:24 am

OK my eyes were mistaken, I notice this actually has Micro USB A not a Standard USB A.

What is the thinking behind this decision?

Having the little cable hanging out the front to connect a USB flash drive or 3G modem looks ugly, and the micro ports are more flimsy and prone to damage.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:46 am

Another product with a CPU too weak for modern broadband connections :(.
This is a switch. For switches, CPU doesn't matter, since everything is done in the switch chip. Switching is done at wire speed.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:21 am

I'm more intrested in a entry model with 2 or more SFP modules...

CloudRouterSwitch 109-8G-­1S-­2HnD-­IN (8 Ethernet ports, one SFP port, built in 2GHz wireless AP)
CloudRouterSwitch 112-­8G-­4S-­IN (8 Ethernet ports, four SFP ports)
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
KoDAk
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Ukraine, Kharkov

Re: New product CRS 109

Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:56 pm

it be better add WiFi to CCR1009-8G-1S (
Certified MTCNA
 
User avatar
richinuk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:30 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 15, 2014 1:51 pm

The only thing that could make it better is 802.3af/at POE out to run phones and AP's from.
+1. Really need a gig POE out device.
 
agehall
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:47 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 15, 2014 9:08 pm

From the images, it looks like this product will have a fan. Is that really so?

I'm going to replace my network equipment at home and was hoping to get a couple of these babies for the WiFi, but as one would be sitting in the bedroom, I guess I'd get into trouble with the Mrs if it had a fan in it...
 
webspider
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:05 am

Re: New product CRS 109

Sun Aug 17, 2014 9:50 pm

Hi,

same CPU; exept the number of GB Ports exact the Same as the RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN ?

just named it a Switch ?

Why no realy new, state of the art, modells ?
Greets Peter

sorry for bad writing, i'am no native English speaker.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: New product CRS 109

Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:58 pm

Hi,

same CPU; exept the number of GB Ports exact the Same as the RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN ?
just named it a Switch ?
Why no realy new, state of the art, modells ?
RB2011 have 2 switch groups. First - SFP+ETH1-5. Second ETH 6-10

CRS 109 - Have 1 switch group - SFP+ETH 1-8
You have full 1GB speed on all ports if switching
+ 802.3af support
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: New product CRS 109

Mon Aug 18, 2014 9:05 am

The switch chip type is quite different. RB2011 doesn't support so many swich specific functions as the CRS series. While switching is just an extra feature on the RouterBOARD models, it is the main function on the CRS models, and has a lot of functionality there.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: New product CRS 109

Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:50 pm

From the images, it looks like this product will have a fan. Is that really so?
it has no fans
 
agehall
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:47 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:17 am

Awesome - I'll get two ASAP then.. ;)
 
stormeporm
newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:39 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:13 pm

Which switch chip is it using?
Wil it get the exact same features as the crs-125? This would be nice because I would like to play with the 125 but I don't need 24 ports. The 109 would be a nice test platform.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:16 pm

Which switch chip is it using?
Wil it get the exact same features as the crs-125? This would be nice because I would like to play with the 125 but I don't need 24 ports. The 109 would be a nice test platform.
It has all the same features
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
PavelRadvan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 2:49 am

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Sep 05, 2014 5:31 pm

Is this product good for CAPSMAN for managing around 15-20 APs ? All the network is megabit and gigabit cables.
Thanks for reply
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:46 pm

Is this product good for CAPSMAN for managing around 15-20 APs ? All the network is megabit and gigabit cables.
Thanks for reply
Any RouterOS device can be a CAPsMAN controller, including this model
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
smala
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Mon Sep 15, 2014 3:10 pm

Hi,

same CPU; exept the number of GB Ports exact the Same as the RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN ?
just named it a Switch ?
Why no realy new, state of the art, modells ?
RB2011 have 2 switch groups. First - SFP+ETH1-5. Second ETH 6-10

CRS 109 - Have 1 switch group - SFP+ETH 1-8
You have full 1GB speed on all ports if switching
+ 802.3af support

Hi all,

I am going to buy one of these models (RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN or CRS109-8G-1S-2HnD-IN) for my new house. I am developer and not so good in networks at the moment.

My network will include:
1) two PCs (wired connection)
2) some laptops, phones (wifi connection)
3) one server with many virtual servers (OpenVZ containers)
CRS 109 - Have 1 switch group - SFP+ETH 1-8
You have full 1GB speed on all ports if switching
+ 802.3af support
Does it mean that RB2011 will not have full 1Gb speed on 1-5 group?

One more question. As I understand one of the differences between switch and router is that switch cannot connect you to the internet (ISP)? So does it mean that I will have to configure CRS 109 for example ETH1 to be a "router"? How about RB2011? Is it the same?..

Please recommend one of these models

Thanks for a help,
have a nice day :)
Arunas, Lithuania
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: New product CRS 109

Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:08 pm

Does it mean that RB2011 will not have full 1Gb speed on 1-5 group?
Both of them will have full 1Gb speed on ether1-ether5 if ports do switching, both will have lower performance if ports do routing, because it utilizes CPU resources.
RB2011 also uses CPU resources for traffic forwarding between switch-chip1 [sfp1+ether1-ether5] and switch-chip2 [ether6-ether10].
One more question. As I understand one of the differences between switch and router is that switch cannot connect you to the internet (ISP)? So does it mean that I will have to configure CRS 109 for example ETH1 to be a "router"? How about RB2011? Is it the same?..
Correct, you will have to configure routing - ether1 port for WAN (ISP) network and other ports for your local network which then could be switched and provide wire-speed connections.
It applies to both RB2011 and CRS109 and they have such configuration by default.
 
smala
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:46 pm

Does it mean that RB2011 will not have full 1Gb speed on 1-5 group?
Both of them will have full 1Gb speed on ether1-ether5 if ports do switching, both will have lower performance if ports do routing, because it utilizes CPU resources.
RB2011 also uses CPU resources for traffic forwarding between switch-chip1 [sfp1+ether1-ether5] and switch-chip2 [ether6-ether10].
One more question. As I understand one of the differences between switch and router is that switch cannot connect you to the internet (ISP)? So does it mean that I will have to configure CRS 109 for example ETH1 to be a "router"? How about RB2011? Is it the same?..
Correct, you will have to configure routing - ether1 port for WAN (ISP) network and other ports for your local network which then could be switched and provide wire-speed connections.
It applies to both RB2011 and CRS109 and they have such configuration by default.
Thank you! It is now much clearer.
It applies to both RB2011 and CRS109 and they have such configuration by default.
From other comments I understood that CRS109 has more features, is it true?

I'm trying to choose between these two models. CRS109 is more expensive, and I need to know if I get more benefit from it ( I wont use 802.3af ).

I have one physical server (with many virtual servers), I plan to buy one more physical server, and I will try to configure routes between these virtual servers (http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Multiple_Web_Servers).
I'll try to configure VPN (just to learn it).
I plan to configure Network printer (if it is possible with mikrotik)
I have TV, and I need to watch films from one of my virtual server (DLNA server)
And of course I need stable WiFi connection in my home (especially for my wife).

Please suggest one of these models for me :)

Arunas
 
zyzelis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Mon Sep 15, 2014 6:04 pm

I'm more intrested in a entry model with 2 or more SFP modules...

CloudRouterSwitch 109-8G-­1S-­2HnD-­IN (8 Ethernet ports, one SFP port, built in 2GHz wireless AP)
CloudRouterSwitch 112-­8G-­4S-­IN (8 Ethernet ports, four SFP ports)

Normis, when to expect switch with 4 SFP ports? What about it's pricing?
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:35 am

smala,
Both RB2011 and CRS109 would provide very similar performance in your required setup. The main difference is that CRS109 has more Gigabit ports and more advanced switch-chip features for VLANs, Port Isolation, Link Aggregation and QoS.
CRS switch-chip description: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_features
RB2011 switch-chip description: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Sw ... p_Features
 
smala
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:07 am

smala,
Both RB2011 and CRS109 would provide very similar performance in your required setup. The main difference is that CRS109 has more Gigabit ports and more advanced switch-chip features for VLANs, Port Isolation, Link Aggregation and QoS.
CRS switch-chip description: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_features
RB2011 switch-chip description: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Sw ... p_Features
Thanks for your help!
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:20 pm

And one addition. Mikrotik doesn't have print server function.
 
smala
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:05 pm

MikroTik RouterOS v6, Level 5 license, free product lifetime upgrades
Is this the new "official" approach? No more "upgradable to" statement?
This has been the case for a long time. The "upgradeable to" field is deprecated.
Will both of these products will get "free lifetime upgrades":
RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN
and
CRS109-8G-1S-2HnD-IN
?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: New product CRS 109

Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:19 pm

yes.
 
hiroru
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 10:35 am

Re: New product CRS 109

Sun Sep 28, 2014 10:42 am

Hi guys,

Could be possible, with this product, to load balancing two different wireless wan connections?

mikrotik --- wireless gateway 1 --- internet 1
\
-- wireless gateway 2 --- internet 2

Thanks!
 
ropeba
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:13 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:14 pm

When we can expect CRS with better CPU?
 
Quindor
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:19 pm

When we can expect CRS with better CPU?
You don't! :D

You should see a CRS as a switch but because Mikrotik uses the same CPU as in some of their routers it also has RouterOS and some routing capabilities. It's not meant for it though, it's a switch and you should 99.5% use it for that purpose.

The CRS109 happens to have a fairly decent CPU comparable with the RB2011 making it very versatile, but don't expect them to release versions with even faster CPU's. That is what the CCR line is for.

Couple a CRS with a CCR using a cheap 10Gbit DAC cable and you have the ultimate combo!
http://www.campzone.nl World's Largest Outdoor LANParty, http://intermit.tech Intermittend Technology blog, My blog about the ESP8266, IP Camera's and other tech related subjects!
 
ropeba
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:13 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:55 pm

Ok, when we can expect RouterBoard with 24 ports? :) Or RB2011 with powerful cpu? Mikrotik does not have optimal router for FTTB installation!
 
Quindor
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:30 pm

Ok, when we can expect RouterBoard with 24 ports? :) Or RB2011 with powerful cpu? Mikrotik does not have optimal router for FTTB installation!
True that a "ideal" FTTH device currently isn't in their portfolio (*yet). I believe the recently introduced RB850gx2 would do great in regards of performance and size. By estimated performance figures it should be able to handle Gigabit NAT and routing with a 'not too complex' configuration.

It misses an SFP(+) port though. It does have 5x Copper Gigabit which should be fine for a FTTH device. You can always add a switch and media converter to achieve your FTTH goal. Not ideal, I know, but best possible right now I believe.

Or, if you have a bit bigger budget could get an awesome CCR1009 with an SFP and SFP+ slot, 8x Gigabit Copper and more (WAY more) performance. Performance with NAT and routing power of 5Gbps+! Downside, it has a bit of a noisy fan which might not be appreciated.

Maybe an RB850gx2 with a CRS109 could be a nice combination too. You would have to develop a config for it, but then you would have your SFP slot in the CRS109, a powerful router and more then enough ports. Max routing speed and NAT about 1Gbit I expect.
http://www.campzone.nl World's Largest Outdoor LANParty, http://intermit.tech Intermittend Technology blog, My blog about the ESP8266, IP Camera's and other tech related subjects!
 
foomy
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:31 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:11 pm

Hi all

Long time reader, first time poster.

Sorry to reopen this thread, but I am also trying to decide between CRS109-8G-1S-2HnD-IN or RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN

I just have a few questions and I hope appreciate it if anyone can give me some info on it.

1. I know the CRS109-8G-1S-2HnD-IN is a switch and the ports can used for routing as well. Are only certain routing commands available on this router or will you have all the commands with security as you would do it on the RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN?
I read on another thread that only certain switch commands are available on the RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN because it is a router with switch functionality, so I was just wondering if it would be vice versa when it comes to the CRS109-8G-1S-2HnD-IN?

2. Do any of these two routers allow you to set up a WAN port for VDSL?

3. Do any of these two routers allow failover to 3G/4G/LTE?

I apologize if the questions are silly but I have read lots of threads and documentation but none cover the "smaller" things.

Thank you

Regards
foomy
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: New product CRS 109

Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:54 am

Sorry to reopen this thread, but I am also trying to decide between CRS109-8G-1S-2HnD-IN or RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN
Long answer short -
If you need a router with "simple" switch combo - use RB2011,
If you need a router and "smart" switch combo- use CRS

Details:
Both devices are almost identical, except for number of ports and switch chip functionalities - switch chips on both devices have whole set of switching features, just CRS have a bigger set.
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
celicas
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:59 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:25 pm

The switch chip type is quite different. RB2011 doesn't support so many swich specific functions as the CRS series. While switching is just an extra feature on the RouterBOARD models, it is the main function on the CRS models, and has a lot of functionality there.
1st time poster here!
I'd like to learn more about "a lot of functionality" in CRS. I am afraid the only documentation I found on switch features (chip) of RouterOS is
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Sw ... p_Features
where there are particular references to a couple of extra rules for Atheros8316 & Atheros8327 (like "new-vlan-id" which i am interested in).

Where can I find a command reference for CRS ?

Thank you all support (or not) guys for your prompt replies to all members.
 
celicas
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:59 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:45 am

Ref my previous post, I found where the CRS commands reference are:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_features
Sorry for the mistake!
 
GaryMansperger
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:38 pm

CRS 109 USB port

Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:06 pm

Can I put a hard drive in the CRS109 USB port? If yes, how do I set it up?
Thanks,
Gary
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS 109 USB port

Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:18 pm

Can I put a hard drive in the CRS109 USB port? If yes, how do I set it up?
Thanks,
Gary
yes, you can. in RouterOS v6.24 you can go into the System -> Disks menu to format the drive.
After that, you can use the drive in many menus, for SMB, for Logs, for Proxy etc.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
LubMich
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:05 pm

Re: New product CRS 109

Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:12 pm

Hi,
I have got a question.
Is it possible to use external antenna with CCR 109? I would like to install switch inside 10’ metal box so I need to connect external antenna to have some wifi range.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1746
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: New product CRS 109

Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:24 am

Another product with a CPU too weak for modern broadband connections :(.
then the new ccr1009 passive cooled its for you
 
vrej
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

A simple question aboute CSR109 and its support for openvpn!?

Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:32 am

Hello All,
I want to buy a csr109, I'm new to MikroTik but I hope that I'd make the right choice and become a Microtiker ;)
so the question is as follows`
I want to know if I config the CSR109 as a openvpn server just as like serving 10.8.x.x vpn ips and on udp proto, with tun virtual interface,etc... and force to limit the bandwidth of client-ip range up to 1mbit for each , can this product support up to 500 openvpn clients at the same time ?! (clients will connected and apply for vpn connection over the internet not wifi)
and if it can't support I like to know why and which product of MikroTic can do this fever for me, near this range of price ?

thanks in advanced

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests