Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

LTE-A mini-PCIe modems

Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:30 pm

Hi

Does anyone know of any LTE-A 300Mbps (800,1800,2600Mhz) mini-PCIe modems that work with Mikrotik Routerboards?

Thanks,
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: LTE-A mini-PCIe modems

Mon Dec 29, 2014 12:58 am

You'd have to check the compatibility list and try for yourself. I don't think there are any.

Your best bet would be to use a hotspot thing that ISPs seem to like today and connect to it wirelessly from MK. That way you'll avoid MK not supporting the modem or needing any drivers.
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: LTE-A mini-PCIe modems

Tue Dec 30, 2014 6:51 pm

I asked because I'd looked at the list already. Which basically limits it to the MC7710 (or in the US MC7700). The MC7710 is the modem I already have used but it is only up-to 100Mbps which is slower than new phones.
Last edited by timmay2 on Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: LTE-A mini-PCIe modems

Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:59 pm

The question is though; will you be able to utilize 300mbps with your ISP?

Telstra in Australia with 1800+700MHz can't do that and it would eat your download limit in seconds. It would be better to have a stable connection than the fastest possible. Having said that, I plan to use a hotspot since the B28 700MHz will help me being 30KM for my tower.
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: LTE-A mini-PCIe modems

Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:34 pm

Yes. In the UK EE have some 300Mbps LTE-A already and have been testing 450Mbps (triple carrier) LTE-A (although due to only having 15Mhz in one band it will be limited to 410Mbps).

Current data pans from EE (for business) go up-to 128GB/m.

Yes you can burn the allowance quickly but being able to burst to high speeds is useful for some applications.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: doombaby, Google [Bot] and 52 guests