Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
lkthomas
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:53 pm

951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:55 pm

I just got my first RouterBoard which is 951G-2HnD, did some testing and max sped is 300Mbps; Is this board too slow for 1Gbps connection? or there is some misconfiguration I have done on this board?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:59 pm

how did you do the test? single TCP connection will always show lower number than multiple UDP connections (like torrent).

but please note that this is one of the lowest cost APs we have and is meant for moderate home use. 300-400Mbit is what you could expect with standard config.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Quindor
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:15 pm

I just got my first RouterBoard which is 951G-2HnD, did some testing and max sped is 300Mbps; Is this board too slow for 1Gbps connection? or there is some misconfiguration I have done on this board?
What exactly are you trying to do?

Switching, routing or NAT?

Switching it should do full 1Gbps Full-Duplex on all ports, routing 500Mbit ish and with NAT 250-300Mbps. So if you are talking about a 1Gbps internet connection which requires NAT for instance, no, you have the wrong model for your situation.

Please please explain you usage case a bit better so we might be able to figure out if you actually have a problem with the device or configuration. :)
http://www.campzone.nl World's Largest Outdoor LANParty, http://intermit.tech Intermittend Technology blog, My blog about the ESP8266, IP Camera's and other tech related subjects!
 
lkthomas
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:53 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:37 pm

I am running simple broadband NAT, my goal is to reach 1Gbps for NAT routing, looks like I bought wrong model to do NAT routing.

And yes, I could only reach 300Mbps max and at that traffic, CPU jump up 100%!
 
lkthomas
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:53 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:40 pm

for benchmark, I use http://www.speedtest.net to do testing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 4:11 pm

Something like this is more suited to get such speed for NAT routing Gigabit speeds http://routerboard.com/CCR1009-8G-1S
The RB1100 also, but they are both rackmountable units. We will soon start shipping CCR1009 core in a smaller, silent case (the -PC model). Maybe this one you will like.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lkthomas
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:53 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 4:45 pm

Problem is that I am using 1Gbps broadband at home, doesn't make sense to spend 425USD just for a router which could route 1Gbps NAT traffic, I believe I could get something like TP-Link at half of the price (or less)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 4:48 pm

Problem is that I am using 1Gbps broadband at home, doesn't make sense to spend 425USD just for a router which could route 1Gbps NAT traffic, I believe I could get something like TP-Link at half of the price (or less)
In this case, NAT routing speed will be even much lower.

I personally use Switch mode for my main computer, to get real IP address, and use only the other ports for LAN. This way, you will get full 1Gb for one device, and rest can be routed or what you wish
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7603
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:32 pm

Some cheap tp links have hardware accelerated nat so they are able to provide more than 900Mbps thru it. But they are missing everything else that mikrotik offers. If you need real router with custom set of rules, you will fall into cpu processing even with hw nat. So you can buy bad and cheap nat or good but not so cheap router. Go for 1100ahx2 and you will be happy. Suggestion by normis is not a way as you wouldn't like to expose your home computer to public Internet, I guess.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 8:49 pm

Some cheap tp links have hardware accelerated nat
+1
Add hardware NAT for you new routers. For example - DualBand routerboard like rb951G, rb2011, etc...
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7603
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:09 pm

DualBand routerboard like rb951G, rb2011, etc...
What does it mean? There are not such dual band devices... (Actually, only Groove52 is dual band, all others are single band only, unfortunatelly). Better than dual band would be double radio with dual band possibilities for both radios.

But anyway hardware assisted NAT without full feature possibilities that ROS offers would not be so great thing because everyone uses some settings that would prevent the hardware accellerator to work. But, if it could be without any impact on price, Let it Be!
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:00 pm

I thing future products.... Now has no RouterBOARD hardware NAT?
It would be nice include hardware NAT in future products...
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:59 pm

The problem is that mikrotik team don't want to implement hardware NAT since a simple router like TL-WDR3600 that uses AR9344 has hardware NAT but no mikrotik product with the same cpu has this feature. And there are a lot of RB's with this cpu.
Or maybe they lack the know-how.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:37 am

Generally these other brand devices have limits on number of connections, when you exceed some 1000 connections or so, everything stops working or becomes very slow. We are certainly researching hardware accelerated NAT, but I just wanted to clarify the potential implications of this technology.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Raf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: Olesnica, Poland
Contact:

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:40 am

The problem is that mikrotik team don't want to implement hardware NAT since a simple router like TL-WDR3600 that uses AR9344 has hardware NAT but no mikrotik product with the same cpu has this feature. And there are a lot of RB's with this cpu.
Or maybe they lack the know-how.
HNAT isn't located in CPU InoX. Actually it is located in Atheros switch chip. MikroTIk uses model AR8327 and TP-LINK (and others also) uses AR8327N model. Notice the last letter N in model name. It stands for Hardware NAT feature built-in. I was e-mailing MikroTik support long time ago about this chip but maybe Normis is right about all downsides of this feature.
Rafał Wójcik from AWB-NET
High Definition enthusiast
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Thu Jan 29, 2015 1:25 pm

Didn't know that but it will be very interesting to implement hardware NAT at least in dual core routers. Indeed tplink routers needs reset from time to time for the hnat to work, a lot of people are complaining on forums. In Romania almost all providers ofers speeds from 200mbps on cable tv to 1Gbps on fiber (for under 20$/month) so there is an real need for HNAT.
 
peper
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:45 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:38 pm

Didn't know that but it will be very interesting to implement hardware NAT at least in dual core routers. Indeed tplink routers needs reset from time to time for the hnat to work, a lot of people are complaining on forums. In Romania almost all providers ofers speeds from 200mbps on cable tv to 1Gbps on fiber (for under 20$/month) so there is an real need for HNAT.
1 Gbit cost $20/month in Romania? Cool! You must have a highest average internet connection speeds in the world! Or "offers" doesn't mean a lot of customers buy it?
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:38 pm

In fact :
1Gbps - 14.25$
100mbps - 7.5$
Many of us still have 100mbps connections. Is more than enough for normal people.
 
barkas
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:51 pm

AW: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Sun Feb 08, 2015 2:52 am

A ubiquiti edgerouter will nicely do 1g with an OK feature set.
 
Spaham
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:27 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Mon Feb 09, 2015 11:17 pm

Something like this is more suited to get such speed for NAT routing Gigabit speeds http://routerboard.com/CCR1009-8G-1S
The RB1100 also, but they are both rackmountable units. We will soon start shipping CCR1009 core in a smaller, silent case (the -PC model). Maybe this one you will like.
Hmm how soon ? :)
I purchased a RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN and unfortunately it is way too "small" for my fiber gigabit connexion :(
I wish you'd sell a CCR1009 that supports wifi AP as well !

A lot of people here (in france) have now access to gigabit fiber for around 30€/month, so this IS becoming a real market !

thanks
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:20 am

how soon? it is already shipping: http://routerboard.com/CCR1009-8G-1S-1SplusPC
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
peper
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:45 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:52 am

how soon? it is already shipping: http://routerboard.com/CCR1009-8G-1S-1SplusPC
Cool! Can you do the same trick with wall/ceiling mountable AC access point? ;)
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:11 am

LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
peper
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:45 pm

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:49 pm

Well, I mean retail ready to run product, not do it yourself. :)
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: 951G-2HnD too slow for 1Gbps connection?

Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:51 pm

Well, I mean retail ready to run product, not do it yourself. :)
Still waiting.... :) Now only home made :)
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests