Community discussions

 
natel
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:29 pm

use cloud core router or cloud router switch for replacing extreme networks layer 3 switch?

Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:40 pm

We are looking at replacing our head end extreme network switches with either a cloud core router or a cloud router switch.
We have several class c's sent to us, which we are then breaking into lots of vlans of sizes /28, /27, etc., defining these vlans with tags.

These are then added to ports as either tagged (trunk) or untagged (access).

We max out at about 500Mbit/s at night -

What would be the better device to do this work, a cloud core router or a cloud router switch?

Is there a good resource to show vlan setup / tagged or untagged port assignment on a Cloud core router vs the CRS?

I've looked at http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_examples but how would the setup differ on the cloud core router?

Thank you
 
troffasky
Member
Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: use cloud core router or cloud router switch for replacing extreme networks layer 3 switch?

Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:00 pm

If you want to do wirespeed L3, don't consider a CRS. They are basically a "router-on-a-stick-in-a-box".
 
lz1dsb
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:48 am

Re: use cloud core router or cloud router switch for replacing extreme networks layer 3 switch?

Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:15 pm

The setup on a CCR would be a bit different. You'll need to create the vlans, assign them to the interfaces and bridge the tagged and untagged ports.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: use cloud core router or cloud router switch for replacing extreme networks layer 3 switch?

Sat Mar 07, 2015 11:40 pm

I wouldnt replace the Extreme. Use the best product for the job, Extreme for Layer2, Mikrotik for Layer3.

The extremes can filter broadcast and multicast storms in hardware, something the CCR does not.

Go for a CCR as it is designed to do what you need.

A ccr1009 will be powerful enough.

We use CCR's as routers with Extreme x460, x650 and x670 switches with no issues.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests