Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
mostafaalsaady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:39 pm
Location: IRAQ

RB2011UiAS - Ethers problem

Thu May 21, 2015 12:20 am

Dear All

i recently bought a RB2011UiAS and after booting it up
it seems that there is a problem with the Ethers from (6,7,8,9,10)

they in the win box seem to be working just fine and they are not disabled
but when i connect my PC or other RB Lan cable
still no connectivity??
i check the cables is ok, reset default configuration and upgrade the router to 6.28 and upgraded the routerbourd frimware

but still the same problem
all the Giga ethers from 1 to 5 is working just find but the others is not working.

Is there a soultion to this problem ? could you help me with.

Best Regards
LearnING MikrotiK
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE
 
Quindor
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RB2011UiAS - Ethers problem

Thu May 21, 2015 1:34 am

I think you might be missing some knowledge here.

The 100Mbit and 1000Mbit ports are on different switch chips. That means that either some cables connected to 1000Mbit or some cables connected to 100MBit can communicate together but not with each other. To connect those together you will have the bridge them together through software.

Hopefully that tells you enough to figure it out!
http://www.campzone.nl World's Largest Outdoor LANParty, http://intermit.tech Intermittend Technology blog, My blog about the ESP8266, IP Camera's and other tech related subjects!
 
mostafaalsaady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:39 pm
Location: IRAQ

Re: RB2011UiAS - Ethers problem

Thu May 21, 2015 1:34 pm

I think you might be missing some knowledge here.

The 100Mbit and 1000Mbit ports are on different switch chips. That means that either some cables connected to 1000Mbit or some cables connected to 100MBit can communicate together but not with each other. To connect those together you will have the bridge them together through software.

Hopefully that tells you enough to figure it out!
Dear
Thank you for your replay
I already know that i have to put the Ethers in Bridge to connect together but
My problem is that these ethers can't even connect to Pc or any other devices
I'm mean LAN connectivity?
that's my Problem

Best Regards
LearnING MikrotiK
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE
 
Quindor
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RB2011UiAS - Ethers problem

Thu May 21, 2015 7:46 pm

So you mean the light on the RB2011 doesn't turn on and also on the PC side the lights on the ports do not turn on? Windows says "No connectivity" as if no cable is connected? (Red Cross)

Have you tried different cables? And different computers?
http://www.campzone.nl World's Largest Outdoor LANParty, http://intermit.tech Intermittend Technology blog, My blog about the ESP8266, IP Camera's and other tech related subjects!
 
mostafaalsaady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:39 pm
Location: IRAQ

Re: RB2011UiAS - Ethers problem

Thu May 21, 2015 9:05 pm

So you mean the light on the RB2011 doesn't turn on and also on the PC side the lights on the ports do not turn on? Windows says "No connectivity" as if no cable is connected? (Red Cross)

Have you tried different cables? And different computers?

Yes that's right the light doesn't turn on

Sure i tried all changed the cable and disable enable the ports but nothing changed.

Still the same problem.
LearnING MikrotiK
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests