Community discussions

 
e97
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:58 am

36 km Gigabit link

Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:08 am

I'm interested in setting up a Gigabit link 1000 Mbps or as close to Gigabit as possible across two points about 36 km apart. Is this feasible with Mikrotik equipment?

The closest I could find is:

LHG XL5 (https://i.mt.lv/routerboard/files/LHG-h ... 140110.pdf) can do :

300 Mbps / 802.11n @ 27 dBi @ ~ 40 km

and DynaDish 5:

886 Mbps / 802.11ac @ 25 dBi @ ~ 14 km
300 Mbps / 802.11n @ 25 dBi @ ~ 45 km
 
paulct
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:31 pm

No it is not possible. Unless you are in the middle of nowhere and have 0 noise, you could possibly bond some AC links and get more than a few hundred Mbps.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Member
Member
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:28 pm

Not a prayer over wireless.
You could probably get gigabit at maybe a k or 2 with really really high end kit (siklu?) but over that distance currently you'd be lucky to get anything.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, Networking Nerd
http://www.steveocee.co.uk
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2029
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:34 pm

It is not possible with Mikrotik
By the way - LHG XL have 100Mbit ETH port :-)
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator based on ROS.
 
e97
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:58 am

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:15 am

So is Dynadish 886 Mbps / 802.11ac @ 25 dBi @ ~ 14 km unrealistic?

Whats realistic real world performance and distance?
 
mistry7
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:45 am

866 mbps in ac meens 250-300 real throughput

If you Need something near Gigabit, look at Licensed links like SAF Integra in 2+0 config here you will get 912 MBit symetric
 
e97
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:58 am

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sat Oct 14, 2017 6:51 am

Why the huge drop? Even Wi-Fi overhead isn't that much.

For HFT applications fiber is preferred or licensed microwave.. those kind of guarantees come with a hefty price tag which I can do without.

Is there something < $1000 USD?
Ubiquiti AirFiber 5, looks like a pair can be had for ~ $1500 USD, wondering if there is anything else? I was hoping for comparable Mikrotik gear.
 
mistry7
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sat Oct 14, 2017 1:08 pm

Hi e97,

1. a clear 80 MHz channel would be hard to find.
2. This channel width is not designed for long links.
3. Mikrotik ac Products are not really optimized for such long links, nv2 not work with high throuhgputs in some invoirements.


4. the Bandwidth result depends on your allowed EIRP.
5. There is nothing from Mikrotik that compares to Airfiber 5x.

in the Future there are higher speeds possible.
Mikrotik doesn't support ac Wave 2 at the moment

mistry7
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1909
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:13 pm

Best solution is from another vendor https://www.ubnt.com/airfiber/airfiber5/
or 5X for less speed.
 
mistry7
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:35 pm

Hi Inox,

Depends on EIRP, with 30dBm allowed Airfiber 5 would Not work for 36km
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1909
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:19 am

30dBm
...it's not what are we talking about.
 
e97
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:58 am

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:29 am

Hi e97,

1. a clear 80 MHz channel would be hard to find.
2. This channel width is not designed for long links.
3. Mikrotik ac Products are not really optimized for such long links, nv2 not work with high throuhgputs in some invoirements.


4. the Bandwidth result depends on your allowed EIRP.
5. There is nothing from Mikrotik that compares to Airfiber 5x.

in the Future there are higher speeds possible.
Mikrotik doesn't support ac Wave 2 at the moment

mistry7
Very informative, thank you.

Make sense, hard to find noise free environment - something taken for granted indoors.

How much energy is required for long links? My E&M is a bit rusty, are there recommended resources on wireless physics basics?
 
mistry7
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:36 pm

Hi e97,

What is the Country wehre you Wang to install the Link,
Do. you know How mich power (EIRP) is allowed to you?

mistry7
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Member
Member
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:53 pm

Just found this on the UBNT forum, this guy gets a 40Km link with R5AC radios but they're cranked up to full power (27dB) and it doesn't mention what antenna or what the LOS is like, I'd imagine they are 30-34dB rocket dishes with an exceptionally clear path.

This is using an 80Mhz channel but if you notice the isolated throughput rates, they are more in the mid 300's so you'd get roughly around that.

Image

**For clarity the image is not mine and is from this page https://community.ubnt.com/t5/airMAX-Wi ... -p/1661361**
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, Networking Nerd
http://www.steveocee.co.uk
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1909
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:09 pm

I'm interested in setting up a Gigabit link 1000 Mbps or as close to Gigabit as possible
It.s not even close.
 
e97
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:58 am

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:19 am

@mistry7:

I'm in the US.

From all my research, it seems like going licensed channel might the only non-noisy option to make this succeed. The cost is ~$7k each radio which is less than desirable so we'll need to come up with something creative like some repeating stations in between or a mesh or something..
 
User avatar
jspool
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:06 am
Location: Oregon

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:47 am

@mistry7:

I'm in the US.

From all my research, it seems like going licensed channel might the only non-noisy option to make this succeed. The cost is ~$7k each radio which is less than desirable so we'll need to come up with something creative like some repeating stations in between or a mesh or something..
If you break your link into multiple hops make sure you keep it full duplex. TCP over half duplex PTP gets ugly fast.
 
e97
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:58 am

Re: 36 km Gigabit link

Sat Oct 28, 2017 12:55 am

@jspool thanks for the tip!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests