Community discussions

 
anuser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

CAPSMAN + datapath.bridge-horizon ?

Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:20 pm

Hello,
I have CAPSMAN based forwarding enabled (1 SSID with, 1 datapath, VLAN IDs from RADIUS server) and enabled/disabled "datapath.bridge-horizon" which means according to the wiki: "bridge horizon to use when adding as bridge port"
I still have no idea, what this one actually does. Can someone please give an example when I need this to be enabled or disabled? What effect does it have on clients/accesspoints/traffic?

Regards
 
nescafe2002
Member
Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: CAPSMAN + datapath.bridge-horizon ?

Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:50 pm

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... t_Settings

Use split horizon bridging to prevent bridging loops. Set the same value for group of ports, to prevent them from sending data to ports with the same horizon value. Split horizon is a software feature that disables hardware offloading.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:M ... n_bridging
 
anuser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: CAPSMAN + datapath.bridge-horizon ?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:06 pm

Hello,

thanks for the links.
Split horizon bridging
The basic idea of split horizon bridging is to make traffic arriving over some port never be sent out some set of ports
So I set "datapath.bridge-horizon" option on CAPSMAN controller, i.e. on the CAPs datapath configuration tab.

=> With that option enabled on the datapath, traffic coming from clients that are connected to a CAP (access point) will not be passed to clients that are connected to other CAP (access points), right?

=> So basically clients on on single CAP access point can communicate with each other while they cannot communicate with client that are connected on another CAP?
 
nescafe2002
Member
Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: CAPSMAN + datapath.bridge-horizon ?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:35 pm

I'd have to check, but think you are correct: datapath.client-to-client-forwarding for traffic within same CAP and datapath.bridge-horizon for forwarding between CAPs on the same bridge.
 
anuser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: CAPSMAN + datapath.bridge-horizon ?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:05 pm

That would be the solution for large installations when huge numbers of clients are connected to one SSID. So I could limit the wireless broadcast domain which should lead in a better performance for all clients...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests