Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jplajpla23
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:56 pm

Can't connect to Wireless

Tue Sep 15, 2020 4:07 pm

Hi, I have an Mikrotik router (model: mAP Lite, firmware: 6.47.13) and I try connect to my main Wireless network to expand my network. My main router is an Tp-link M7350


the settings in tp-link is
SSID:TP-Link_C5A0
password: ******** "only numbers"
channel: 2
wireless mode :11bg
wireless security: wpa-psk /wpa2 psk AES

My problem is that I configure the mikrotik to acces to TP-link network and we can't connect. Stay in "Searching for network".
If I run the Scan the network aperar on list, and if i use the WPS to configure, the WPS run and return disconnected, success and stay after in "Searching for network".
the interface status syays always Link Downs with the value 0 and the channel is in loop scan all, but in configuration i choose the correct frequency to channel 2 of tp-link.
Can help me.
I try with others routers and the mAP can connect to wireless network.
 
WeWiNet
Member
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: Can't connect to Wireless

Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:34 pm

if you can connect to other routers with MAP lite but not TP-link, maybe
you have access control enabled on TPLINK (like MAC filtering?).
WeWiNet

**
MTCNA
hapac2, map, hap-lite, ltap-mini, RB4011 (good!), Audience (better), Audience + Wap R ac LTE Hybrid DSL + LTE FWA (best :-) ) !!!
 
erlinden
Member
Member
Posts: 494
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Can't connect to Wireless

Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:16 pm

Are all security settings identical?

Besides...your TP-Link can use some tweaking:
  • Only use WPA2/AES
  • For 2.4GHz only you channel 1, 6 or 11 (anything in between is overlapping)
  • Preferably don't use b: use g/n instead
First the problem, then the solution
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 978
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Can't connect to Wireless

Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:14 pm

I've had a similar problem with a client of mine quite a while back and the behavior was exactly the same.
Try setting "group ciphers" to TKIP in your security profile and give it another try.
And make sure you're using a clean 20MHz channel on the TP-Link, ideally on 1,6 or 11 as @erlinden correctly stated.
-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Shoey5 and 18 guests