Community discussions

 
lpt2007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:08 pm

mikrotik cAP n2 as repeater bridge

Thu Oct 22, 2015 9:12 pm

I need to configure two mikrotik cAP n2 like this:



ap wifi guest ap wifi home ap wifi guest ap wifi home
- - - -
- - - -
ROUTER------LAN--------cAP n2-1----------WiFi-------------cAP n2-2


router/gateway ip: 192.168.0.254
cAP n2-1 ip: 192.168.0.253
cAP n2-2 ip: 192.168.0.252

wifi ap home network: 192.168.0.0/24
wifi ap guest network: 192.168.100.0/24


First cAP n2-1 is connectet to router with LAN CABEL (router have internet acces). Then second cAP n2-2 is connected trough WiFi to cAP n2-1. Both cAP n2 have guest and home wifi access points for clients with internet access. Guest can not access home network.


Can someone show me how to do that?


thx in advance
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: mikrotik cAP n2 as repeater bridge

Fri Oct 23, 2015 5:01 am

Last I looked Capsman did not support bridge. Mode=ap is the only option
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz
 
lpt2007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:08 pm

Re: mikrotik cAP n2 as repeater bridge

Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:15 am

cAP 2n have L4 license and support those modes:
aligment only
ap bridge
bridge
nstream dual slave
station
station bridge
station pseudobridge
station pseudobridge clone
station wds
wd slave

I must extend home and guest wifi of cAP 2n-1 to cAP 2n-2 but wireless is only option. Can someone help?
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: mikrotik cAP n2 as repeater bridge

Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:48 am

As long as you use normal wireless mode (not capsman) you can put both cap2n in AP Bridge mode.

Then build a WDS link between them, but I wouldn't recommend it, performance is not good in my experience

Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: mikrotik cAP n2 as repeater bridge

Tue Oct 27, 2015 3:23 am

Not sure where I thought Capsman :-)

But ap/Bridge->station-bridge mode might be even better than WDS ? We use this method for transparent bridging frequently.
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests