Page 1 of 1

NStreme question

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:20 pm
by ekkas
Will NStreme work fine with an AP-bridge and multiple MT stations, or is it meant just for a point-to-point link?

Thanks
Ekkas

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:29 pm
by cmit
It will work fine for a point-to-multi-point network (and is what NStreme was designed for, amongst other - to work around hidden station problem etc.). The only thing (rather obvious) to observe is that all your clients have to MikroTik, too (and be configured for NStreme)...

Best regards,
Christian Meis

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:43 pm
by Equis
Nstream (and polling) is perfect for p2mp

I now have 100% mikrotik and not sure if my phone still works (no support calls anymore)

Nstream will add abot 3ms to a ping but with multiple clients under heavy load thats where is is perfect

I have done spped tests and will nstream on ping sstay low under full load

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 11:41 am
by rmdjapri
Can we do Nstream with RB532A ? I assume that the resources will not be enough? CMIIW.

Best regards,
Romie Djapri

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 12:14 pm
by ekkas
I also found that NStreme does improve bandwidth test up to more than 100% faster, but sometimes the connection drops, disable nstreme and everything is ok again... P2P link with grid antennas, on 5GHz.

Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 1:01 pm
by Equis
single nstream on rb500 is fine (20mbps) with good signal

Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:24 pm
by Alex
and without nstreme and with g-turbo 32 mbps... :shock:

Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:33 pm
by aviper
and without nstreme and with g-turbo 32 mbps... :shock:
Short of CPU power i think ...

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:36 am
by rmdjapri
single nstream on rb500 is fine (20mbps) with good signal
What is a good signal mean? Is it -50 ~ -70 is still consider as a good signal?

best regards,
Romie Djapri

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:38 am
by Equis
single nstream on rb500 is fine (20mbps) with good signal
What is a good signal mean? Is it -50 ~ -70 is still consider as a good signal?

best regards,
Romie Djapri

-70 is good signal on 5.8ghz

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:53 am
by rmdjapri
-70 is good signal on 5.8ghz
What about on 2.4 ghz? Is it still a good signal?

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:55 am
by Equis
-70 is OK on 2.4 but I normally don't get that high speeds

perhaps 10mbps

Others may have different experiances