Community discussions

 
User avatar
lectrapon
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:10 pm

Roaming setting of four (04) QRT2 devices

Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:56 am

Hello,
I need to install four (04) QRT2 in our residential house for roaming of outdoor users hotspot.
I search how to set each device...
Here is my first device setting (internet access) :
# nov/20/2015 09:46:58 by RouterOS 6.32.3
# software id = QCC4-2T0S
#
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 \
    antenna-gain=17 band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-eC disabled=no \
    frequency=2437 hw-retries=4 mode=ap-bridge noise-floor-threshold=-128 \
    rate-set=configured ssid="K....." supported-rates-a/g=\
    6Mbps,9Mbps,12Mbps,18Mbps,24Mbps tdma-period-size=auto wireless-protocol=\
    802.11
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
....
/ip firewall layer7-protocol
add name=yoomee regexp="^.+(y.....).*\$"
add name=mtn regexp="^.+(m....).*\$"
add name=tawk regexp="^.+(tawk.to).*\$"
/ip hotspot profile
add dns-name=wifi.kikvision.ci hotspot-address=10.5.50.1 login-by=http-chap \
    name=hsprof1


/ip pool
add name=hs-pool-2 ranges=10.5.50.2-10.5.50.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=hs-pool-2 disabled=no interface=wlan1 lease-time=1h name=\
    dhcp1
/ip hotspot
add address-pool=hs-pool-2 addresses-per-mac=1 disabled=no interface=wlan1 \
    name=hotspot1 profile=hsprof1
/interface wireless access-list
....
/interface wireless connect-list
...
/ip address
add address=10.5.50.1/24 comment="hotspot network" interface=wlan1 network=\
    10.5.50.0
/ip dhcp-client
add default-route-distance=0 dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no \
    interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server lease
add address=10.5.50.253 client-id=\
    ff:0:0:0:1b:0:1:0:1:1d:ca:65:6:5c:3c:27:78:97:ba mac-address=\
    5C:3C:27:78:97:BA server=dhcp1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=10.5.50.0/24 comment="hotspot network" gateway=10.5.50.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4
/ip firewall filter
add action=passthrough chain=unused-hs-chain comment=\
    "place hotspot rules here" disabled=yes
add action=drop chain=forward dst-address=41.2.32.51
add action=drop chain=input disabled=yes dst-port=8080 in-interface=ether1 \
    protocol=tcp
/ip firewall nat
add action=passthrough chain=unused-hs-chain comment=\
    "place hotspot rules here" disabled=yes
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="masquerade hotspot network" \
    src-address=10.5.50.0/24
add action=redirect chain=dstnat dst-port=80 protocol=tcp to-ports=8080
/ip hotspot user
...
/ip hotspot walled-garden
add comment="place hotspot rules here" disabled=yes
/ip hotspot walled-garden ip
....
/ip proxy
set enabled=yes max-cache-size=none
/ip proxy access
add action=deny dst-host="^.+(y....).*\$"
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.88.9
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Africa/....
/system identity
set name=K....
/system leds
set 0 interface=wlan1
/system logging
add topics=hotspot
add disabled=yes topics=e-mail
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=196.... secondary-ntp=41....
/system scheduler
...
/system script
....
/tool e-mail
...
/tool romon port
add interface=wlan1

Envoyé de mon GT-I9190 en utilisant Tapatalk
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2984
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: Roaming setting of four (04) QRT2 devices

Fri Nov 20, 2015 6:01 pm

Why QRTs? will devices connecting to it be other CPEs, or plain smartphones, computers, etc? If the former, is it your intention to cover only 90º (each QRT will cover 22º so QRT2x4 = 88º)? Beware 2.4Ghz only has 3 non overlapping channels...

Guess you have an standalone router to act as router/hotspot? If so to approach setup you should focus separately on each device depending on its duty.

The QRTs will only need to be setup as APs, open SSID, wireless/ether interface bridged, and all wired to a switch, and then to a routerboard, or directly to a routerboard where you should bridge the ether ports where they connect, running the hotspot over that bridge, and setting everything else (DHCP, etc) there for centralized hotspot management.
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
User avatar
lectrapon
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:10 pm

Fri Nov 20, 2015 7:29 pm

I choose QRT2 because my MikroTik provider advised me after my misadventure with the well-known hardware issues of Metal 2SHpn.
Yes, I have an standalone router on which my first QRT2 is connected. And the three others QRT2 would be outdoors relays. Because I don't want to install relay in home of users.
What device do you advise me to buy for making best hotspot roaming in 360° in 2.4Ghz like Metal 2 ?
 
User avatar
lectrapon
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:10 pm

Re:Roaming setting

Fri Nov 20, 2015 8:32 pm

What device do you advise me to buy for making best hotspot roaming in 360° in 2.4Ghz like Metal 2 ?
I have found this product...RB912UAG-2HPnD

Is it a 360° wireless card ? or did I need to add antenna ?
 
gius64
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:43 pm

Re: Roaming setting of four (04) QRT2 devices

Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:06 pm

This is only a routerboard.
You can use BaseBox2 with omni antenna or this one:
http://routerboard.com/RBwAP2nD

QRT doesn't seem to be a good idea to me for hotspot
 
User avatar
lectrapon
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:10 pm

Re: Roaming setting of four (04) QRT2 devices

Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:39 am

This is only a routerboard.
You can use BaseBox2 with omni antenna or this one:
http://routerboard.com/RBwAP2nD

QRT doesn't seem to be a good idea to me for hotspot
Ok, I will try Basebox2 with 2 dipole antennas of 5dBi ?
Can you tell me the wireless coverage ? in line of sight, I mean.

Envoyé de mon GT-I9190 en utilisant Tapatalk
 
gius64
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:43 pm

Re: Roaming setting of four (04) QRT2 devices

Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:39 am

It depends on your environment, you just have to try :D
Using BaseBox2 you can get more coverage, but remember that more gain mean more noise, so you could get better results using more than one wAP instead of only one BaseBox2

Personally, I would go using one wAP for each zone I have to cover, it's even cheaper, but it's my opinion!

You should consider also the antennas of the devices you'll connect to the hotspot: they are often integrated antennas, so don't expect a long range from your hotspot even if you use a super high gain antenna on your AP!
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re:

Sat Nov 21, 2015 6:19 am

I choose QRT2 because my MikroTik provider advised me
i think you need to change of mikrotik provider :lol:
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Roaming setting of four (04) QRT2 devices

Sat Nov 21, 2015 6:28 am

too few info about the project to provide accurate suggestions

i think we need to know at least this:

which kind of devices are your clients??

how many clients??

how many bandwidth allowed per client??

how many total bandwidth??

how many square meters is the area to serve??

what kind of environment??

It is a plain or a rugged one??

there are obstacles on the terrain???

have close networks operating in 2.4ghz??

why do you choose 2.4ghz band??

can you put each access point in each location or only a centralized one??

can you share a scaled map of the site?? google maps??

have you done a site survey??
 
User avatar
lectrapon
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:10 pm

Re: Roaming setting of four (04) QRT2 devices

Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:19 pm

too few info about the project to provide accurate suggestions

i think we need to know at least this:

which kind of devices are your clients??

how many clients??

how many bandwidth allowed per client??

how many total bandwidth??

how many square meters is the area to serve??

what kind of environment??

It is a plain or a rugged one??

there are obstacles on the terrain???

have close networks operating in 2.4ghz??

why do you choose 2.4ghz band??

can you put each access point in each location or only a centralized one??

can you share a scaled map of the site?? google maps??

have you done a site survey??
- Clients are standard devices...laptop, smartphone, desktop.
- I want to connect at least six hundred houses (total of 650 houses in residential area).
- about total bandwidth the better will be good. And need suggestion for allowed per client.
- 600 x 400 square meters is the area to serve.
- my home is built in 2 floors ( ground + 1). And I have installed basebox2 at 10 meters at least from ground.
- it is a residential environment (650 houses)
- there are 8 buildings of 3 floors at least around that I can consider as obstacles.
- there are 5 close networks operating in 2.4 GHz (I have already choose different frequency).
- I have choose 2.4ghz because I want to serve more devices. And I think standards devices don't support 5Ghz...?
- I want to centralize INTERNET access point in my home.
- I haven't done a site survey.
- I will post Google Map of site soon.

Envoyé de mon GT-I9190 en utilisant Tapatalk
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2984
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: Roaming setting of four (04) QRT2 devices

Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:37 pm

I am afraid you have things mixed up... what you're after is a mixed WMAN/WLAN deployment, not a "simple" hotspot.

Your idea is flawed from its roots... you cannot ptovide internet to a smartphone or laptop from 400m away, not even with a 400watts radio; you're missing an essential fact: you need communication in both ways, and a smartphone will hardly be able to trasmit to a device 50 meters away (though it may receive the 400w radio signal)

The NetMetal 2SHPN + omnidirectional antenna is a typical and classical newbie mistake.

2.4GHz is not suitable for WMAN unless you live in a desert or a forest.

For the figures mentioned here, you should carefully plan your network, randomly buying devices will end up costing money and earning frustration.

You have two options: research and re-search, then research a little more, then contrast what you found, or if I were in your situation, I'd hire an specialist to design the project. You'll save time and money, and could be the difference from wasting money and getting nowhere, or starting a productive business and enjoy the journey.

You have a listing on http://www.mikrotik.com/consultants/
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 33 guests