Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
abernier
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:47 pm

How can I get a good throughput without break the radio?

Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:19 pm

Hi.
I have a dude: How can I get a good throughput at a PtP without break the radio?

For a point to point (PtP) two Wireless radios are used (Qrt5 and Netmetal with mant30), one as a transmitter and the other a receiver to link two destinations 1.65 Kms together.
I have good Fresnel clearance on the link.

Configuration:
Channel Width: 20/40MHz eC
Distance: 1.65Km
tx-power mode: default
ht-mcs: 12,13,14
I choosed the best frequency with less usage

Result:
TX-RATE: 243Mbps-40MHz
tx/rx signal strength: -31/-36 dbm
tx/rx signal strength Ch0:-33/-39 dbm
tx/rx signal strength Ch1:-34/-37 dbm
Noise Floor: -107
Tx/Rx CCQ: 91/89%

On this point to point -31 dBm was advised to be alittle bit too strong?

Is it true than signal levels stronger than -40 often cause problems?
Too hot a signal can effect MCS rates, latency, and transfer speed… and if it’s REALLY hot, potentially cause hardware problems down the line. Over time (months) an RX level better than -50 has been said to cause receiver desensitization???

If I change tx-power mode to "all rates fixed" with a value from 17dbm to 21dbm the CCQ raise 43% so .... be or not to be .... to change tx-power to save hardware or it isn't problem?

Thank you in advance
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: How can I get a good throughput without break the radio?

Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:04 pm

The signal is indeed to strong.
between -50 a -65 is a good basic signal.
You can reduce the power.
Go to "wireless" and click on "advanced" At antenna gain enter a larger number in.
Do that on both sites.
See also to the country settings.
Work on both sides with the same equipment.
This will result in better performance.
 
abernier
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: How can I get a good throughput without break the radio?

Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:09 pm

Plisken, thank you for your advices. I changed tx-power mode to "all rates fixed" with a value of 16dbm on both sites (reduced power), also I have entered a larger number at antenna gain 10 and 20 dbi at each antenna (QRT and Mant30)

Before change:
Tx/Rx CCQ: 91/89%
After change.
Tx/Rx CCQ: 93/60%
tx/rx signal strength: -40/-44 dbm

Should I reduce the power althought CCQ% down?
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: How can I get a good throughput without break the radio?

Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:29 pm

Try this out, and see what happend.
Also is the best thing an both sites the same device.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: biomesh and 40 guests