Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Wireless package missing....

Thu Jan 28, 2016 11:27 am

Hello,
I have an old RB 433ah as home router. Yesterday when i tried to upgrade to 6.33.5 it was an error as wireless package is missing ... After this i tried to downgrade to 6.32.3 as i sow on forums this was the last version suppored to mipsbe arhitecture. Forums information is confusing... Is there wireless suport after this version or not?
Now i`m on 6.32.3 and wireless tab and wireless cards dissapeared. How can i restore wireless on my board?
Thanks in advance.
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1723
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: Wireless package missing....

Thu Jan 28, 2016 12:38 pm

easiest solution for you is to use RouterOS bundle package everywhere - if you had that wireless.npk package would be replaced by wireless-fp automatically.

But you most likely had all packages installed (without even thinking if you need them) - so you had custom set of packages that you took in your hands to maintain. Now changelog indicates that wireless.npk is finished and you need to use other package.

so proper way to upgrade is.
1) enable wireless-cm2 package and mark for uninstall wireless package
2) reboot
3) upgrade.
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Re: Wireless package missing....

Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:09 pm

I can not enable wireless package becouse is missing from list.
It was uploaded to files tab but after reboot was not installed.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Re: Wireless package missing....

Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:18 pm

Not even if i try to upgrade the wireless packages are not downloaded. See the screenshot :
2016-01-28 (1).png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wireless package missing....

Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:58 pm

Keep 6.32.3. Remove all the packages you do not need. Manually install wireless cm2 package.
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:06 pm

How can i manually install a package?

Sent from my Lenovo K50-t5 using Tapatalk
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:57 pm

Installed 6.32.3 from netinstall and wireless is working now. I've unistalled wireless and installed wireless-cm2 ans wireless still working but now i can not update to 6.33.5. It download files just fine reboot but no upgrade is done... The files still prezent în files tab.

Sent from my Lenovo K50-t5 using Tapatalk
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Thu Jan 28, 2016 11:33 pm

Why you need to update? Keep what works good and be glad you are not facing any problems.
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Re: Wireless package missing....

Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:01 am

Hmm, ok i`m used to be on the latest release... i can`t say i have any problems with 6.32.3.
Thanks for your support, anyway...
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:10 am

It's never good to keep updating in mikrotik world immediately. Especially if you do not read whole forum for some years. Mikrotik always brings new features you mostly do not know how to use, fixes some errors introduced in recent versions and adds some new errors that none knows about. When you update without real need and your own previous tests, you can expect just some subsequent problem. So. If everything works as it should, don't touch it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests