Page 1 of 1

Power output for Senao NMP-8602

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:39 pm
by uldis
If you change the tx-power for this card in 2.4Ghz-B or 2.4Ghz-G band from default to a specific value, then note that you should note that the card transmit +4db or +5db more that specified value.
Example, you set the tx-power=10, but the actual tx-power which will be transmited will be 14db or 15db.
It means that you should be careful when you are setting the tx-power more than 20, you could damage the card or the card could work unstable.

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:02 pm
by okey
Hi Uldis,

On what RouterOS version does this apply and do we expect a version that will properly output the right tx when you set tx power to default. This is very important as this card is far more cost effective than the SRs. I have tons of these card ,and if it will never be stable with MikroTik i did rather just push them out on windows platform with mini-pci to pci adapters.


regards

Okechukwu

Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 3:46 am
by bjohns
I've just changed a few of these radios from +26 to +20 and most got a +3 - +5dB improvement in strength.

I can remember doing this on the bench but thought it was related to something else...

Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 2:34 pm
by HarvSki
Uldis, are you reffering to the FCC type or the ETSI type of cards?

I've been testing a link and found that the best signal strength I can get on 802.11g is when I set the card to 30.... The link gets a 8-9db increase using 30 rather than default and 1-2db more if I set it to 20

Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 2:39 pm
by normis
uldis means FCC

Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 3:33 pm
by HarvSki
Thanks Normis, do you think setting the ETSI card to 30 will damage it? I would be prepered to kill one card to find out but how long does it take to damage a card?

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:13 pm
by jo2jo
I've been pointing this out for SOO long.....

I too get best coverage / preformance with the cards set to TX fixed @ 30db. With reguards to how long they last at these levels:

I have 17 Wrap 2c's EACH with 2 8602's all of which have been running at TX fixed @ 30db for about 5 months now..in a pretty hot enviroment (enclosed equpiment rooms) no problems.

about a week ago a set them all back to default transmit levels after people on the board started to raise red flags about 30db...

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:54 pm
by HarvSki
Thanks jo2jo, are you talking about ETSI cards?

Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 11:42 pm
by jo2jo
etsi? they are mini PCI senao NMP-8602 cards operating at all operating at 2.4ghz.


is that what your asking?

edit: oh and what is that in your picture? is that a sat. photo of some install or something? always wondered....

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:33 pm
by HarvSki
Hi

ETSI is the European version of FCC in North America - specifically USA
http://www.etsi.org/

the picture is the a close up of my Powerbook G4 which I ran over with my car - by mistake! it was only one week old at the time :(

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 3:56 am
by Jrslick22
what a fitting end for a mac

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:36 am
by jo2jo
ooooooo....those macs run os x...which is unix..which is much closer to linux than windows..

so we can deduce that if you like MT stuff you like Macs....: )

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 6:30 pm
by trtmrt

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 1:47 pm
by normis
yes ... it's better :D

Re: Power output for Senao NMP-8602

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 5:56 pm
by Alessio Garavano
If you change the tx-power for this card in 2.4Ghz-B or 2.4Ghz-G band from default to a specific value, then note that you should note that the card transmit +4db or +5db more that specified value.
Example, you set the tx-power=10, but the actual tx-power which will be transmited will be 14db or 15db.
It means that you should be careful when you are setting the tx-power more than 20, you could damage the card or the card could work unstable.
Hi Uldis... in 2,4Ghz you recommend to set this card in deafult settings or fix in 21 or 22db?
In default settings i can see in monitor the card is in 19db output, is this really or is 19+5db?
In 5Ghz, what you recommend?

Thanks and regards!
Alessio

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2006 6:04 pm
by maxfava
Is there someone that have tried in the same routerboard two minipci card, one CM9 and the other senao (16dmb)? Is the CM9 impact with the same problem?

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:15 am
by tgrand
I have several Senao NMP-8602's and they work great if if 2.4Ghz range.
If I put them into 5+GHz Range, the router boards just keep rebooting.

Doesn't matter what the power setting id that I use.

Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:31 pm
by MyThoughts
I have the exact same issue, and I have mentioned it in the forums before.
On RB532s, NMP-8602s reboot the board continously when set to any 5ghz band. BUT they work fine when set to 2.4 ghz.

Power output for NMP-8602s

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:10 am
by znet
Thats strange about 5GHz booting routerboards. I have RB112s with 2.9.x and 8602s operating at 5GHz with no problems. I wasnt worried before about these new links!

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:00 pm
by jonbrewer
I have several Senao NMP-8602's and they work great if if 2.4Ghz range.
If I put them into 5+GHz Range, the router boards just keep rebooting.

Doesn't matter what the power setting id that I use.
I have the same issue. It seems that tx power to 12 on some, and 10 on others, will keep them from rebooting. Issue seems only to be when cards are in station mode. In ap-bridge mode the problem doesn't seem to occurr.

This is a huge issue and we need to see it addressed ASAP!!!

MikroTIK Help

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 8:34 am
by sawireless
We have just installed a new base station on a tower that is 45meter up; we did find a power issue with POE 45 volts, we then run a 220 power cable up the tower with the transformer inside the box, but we are still having the same problem that the unit switches 0ff/on .We went back to Miro and sat there for 1½ hours and got the unit to work, we then run the unit for a day and ½ with no problems. But as I said we put the unit back, it started the problem of switching off/on

The unit that we are running is the 532 +502+3 X NMP-8602 PLUS


1: earth leak ?
2: interference from two way radio ?
3: interference from ADT, CHUBB, FSK Repeaters ?

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 8:43 am
by sergejs
Current revision RB500 could not handle 3 high power cards, there is not enough power for them.

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:28 am
by sawireless
so can we run 2 X NMP-8602 PLUS 2.4 ghz and 1 X cm9 5.8ghz ???

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:36 am
by sergejs
RouterBOARD max. power consumption=14W.
2-3W is used by RouterBOARD itself. You can calculate power produced by 3 wireless cards at the maximum I (Power=I^2*U), check the technical specification to get values for I and U.

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:32 am
by music
I have several Senao NMP-8602's and they work great if if 2.4Ghz range.
If I put them into 5+GHz Range, the router boards just keep rebooting.

Doesn't matter what the power setting id that I use.
I have the same issue. It seems that tx power to 12 on some, and 10 on others, will keep them from rebooting. Issue seems only to be when cards are in station mode. In ap-bridge mode the problem doesn't seem to occurr.

This is a huge issue and we need to see it addressed ASAP!!!
Same problem. Ruterboard in ap bridge mode...

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:27 pm
by Semaphore
Same Problem on a WRAP 2C, in Station mode, regardless of the 8602 I try to use (have tried three now). Seems to be related to upload (sending data towards the AP) more than anything. If upload utilization is more than >256 kbps it reboots, and keeps rebooting for a period of time (10 to 20 minutes) and then stabilizes again. Download can run over 3 mbps no problems.
I have another pair of Senao 8602's runing AP<>Station mode at 20 db without a problem. Everything is pretty well the same on the both links. WTH is wrong with this one ?

Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:47 pm
by samsoft08
i noticed a difference in prices between NMP-8602 PLUS and the SR2 and they both are 400mW .. i dont know is there huge differences in performence also ??
price difference is about 40$ ..

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:15 am
by jober
The noise floor on the senao cards are much higher for me.
I guess you get what you pay for.

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:49 am
by sergejs
samsoft08,
You can compare different posts about wireless card, topics should provide lot of information and problems with different wireless cards.

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:11 pm
by brasileottanta
RouterBOARD max. power consumption=14W.
2-3W is used by RouterBOARD itself. You can calculate power produced by 3 wireless cards at the maximum I (Power=I^2*U), check the technical specification to get values for I and U.

So , every senao have a consumption of 1.3A . At 12v the cosumption is out of range ....

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:51 pm
by mipland
So , every senao have a consumption of 1.3A . At 12v the cosumption is out of range ....
Senao and all other mPCI is 3.3V, NOT 12V. So, if we assume the max current consumption:
Routerboard: 3W
Senao 8602 Plus (FCC/ETSI) : 3.3V*1.3A=4.29W

Routerboard + 2 x Senao 8602 Plus = 11.58W

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:57 pm
by sergejs
Correct me if I'm wrong, looking at the power consuption,
P=(I^2)*U=1.3^2*3.3=..., to calculate consumed power by the wireless card.

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:06 pm
by mipland
I don't know what's the meany of "U" (i'm Italian), but elementary Ohm law says:

V=Volt (potential)
R=Ohm (resistance)
I=Ampere (current)
P=Watt (power)

V=R*I

P=V*I-->R*(I^2)

For Senao: V=3.3 I=1.3, so P=V*I=3.3V*1.3A=4.29W

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:07 pm
by freebird
I do correct you ... the formula for Power/Watt is P = U * I ...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_%28physics%29
This english article uses V for Volts instead of U ...

seandsl
--

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:11 pm
by sergejs
oooh, yes. P=IxU, I'm sorry for that.

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:57 pm
by brasileottanta
So , every senao have a consumption of 1.3A . At 12v the cosumption is out of range ....
Senao and all other mPCI is 3.3V, NOT 12V. So, if we assume the max current consumption:
Routerboard: 3W
Senao 8602 Plus (FCC/ETSI) : 3.3V*1.3A=4.29W

Routerboard + 2 x Senao 8602 Plus = 11.58W
Sorry , my mistake !!! Confuse power supply with power of mPCI.

I'm italian too. Ciao

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:36 pm
by mipland
Really? What's your province?

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 11:12 am
by brasileottanta
Really? What's your province?
Naples and you ?


Ciao

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:35 pm
by mipland
I'm from Rovigo.
Ciao :wink:

Re: MikroTIK Help

Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:52 pm
by GWISA
We have just installed a new base station on a tower that is 45meter up; we did find a power issue with POE 45 volts, we then run a 220 power cable up the tower with the transformer inside the box,
Mains running up a tower? I hope it's your own private tower - I'd hate to be the one hanging off it when the mains cable shorts out on the tower...

That's seriously bad practice dude....