Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Gunpowder
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 4:19 pm
Location: Wuppertal, Germany
Contact:

CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:17 am

I have a CAPSMAN Controller running on a CCR1036-12G.

There are up to 324 clients on 74 wireless interfaces

Majority are CRS Desktop Switches with using 2.4´GHz wireless band.

Sporadically all caps interfaces under registration table disconnects all my clients.
Within a couple of minutes all clients reconnect.

This is a very unhappy situation.
I am using v6.33.5.

The logs only show the disconnection process.

Please any advice what this is?
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 3042
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Sat Mar 12, 2016 1:11 pm

I'd submit a report to support specifying all devices ROS versions/Firmware version, attaching supouts generated when that happens, on the CCR and on one of the capsman slaves.

Are you sure you're not experiencing some sort of Layer2 glitch? (bad cable, switch...)
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
georchri
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:18 am

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Tue Jul 05, 2016 6:26 pm

Have the same issue on Layer 2 Caps setup many times per day all cap disconnected an reconnect again 
on CCR1016 wtih 180 Remote caps.

Any ideas?????????
 
bimowidhi
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:11 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:13 pm

hai all, do you already have the solutions, because we're also experiencing the same problem here.
 
drpater
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Tue Sep 13, 2016 5:37 pm

Seems CAPsMAN is single-threaded app, so degrade while connect-disconnect rate utilize single core performance.
Here is two ways to avoid CAP disconnects:
1. Rise up single core frequency: use 3011 or CHR as single controller.
2. Set up multiple controllers: 2011 can serve 300-400 concurrent connections, CCR(single core use, so any model) running 1200MGz - 300-700 connections, depending by connect/disconnect rate.

Waiting, when Mikrotik(s) provide multi-threaded support for Manager (for CAP interfaces events balance between cores), or make possible to configure multiple Manager instances on single board, for multiple core load possibility )))
 
liaotiaozi
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:09 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:56 pm

I also had the same problem. I used 1036 to control 220 CAP, and CAPsMAN would crash and restart.
My temporary solution is to add a 1016 to control the other half of the CAP, and that's normal.
If that's true, it should be tried, X86.
But hopefully MT can give me an explanation, and it's hard to accept these products that I trust so much.
 
petterg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:55 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:35 pm

Maybe this is a (r)STP config issue?
 
liaotiaozi
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:09 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:16 pm

I shut (R) STP and then turn on is useless, but with two CCR control can be OK.
 
petterg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:55 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:47 pm

Maybe there's a pc in your network that has wlan and cabled nic's bridged? When that user connects his laptop to the cabled network it creates a loop causing everything to stop for a while, including your caps connection to capsman.
 
liaotiaozi
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:09 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:58 pm

Maybe?CAPsMAN is set up set the user isolation and isolation in bridge settings, so it is difficult to form loop also have STP, even if the trip was to the loop switch connection paralysis, but I also do the isolation switch. So...
 
petterg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:55 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:32 pm

I guess you could connect a device that will create a loop. Try it multiple places in your network. If it causes the caps to disconnect you may have a lead.
 
liaotiaozi
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:09 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:23 pm

I did a loop test myself, but nothing happened
 
liaotiaozi
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:09 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:24 pm

If it's loop, then why would it be normal for me to use two CCR?
 
anuser
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 540
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:35 pm

It seems I have similar problems. Did you find a solution?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3443
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Wed Jan 17, 2018 10:40 am

It seems I have similar problems. Did you find a solution?
Which problem exactly you have?
We have fixed in the recent 6.42RC versions where the CAP interfaces were removed and added back if it looses connection and tries to reconnect for multiple CAPs at the same.
 
anuser
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 540
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:12 pm

Which problem exactly you have?
We have fixed in the recent 6.42RC versions where the CAP interfaces were removed and added back if it looses connection and tries to reconnect for multiple CAPs at the same.
Let´s look at the controller: This is happening from time to time, sometimes after some hours, again and again for all of my access points (currently) running 6.41
Image

network is fine. My assumption is that the new bridge implementation from 6.41 on the access points is the problem and let the controller kill the connection to all access points within seconds.

Looking at some of the access points I found strange settings:
Image

Also after killing that one and rebooting it, I also got "ghost" settings, e.g. within interfaces old "dynamic wlan" entries although no client was connected, or within /interface list "dynamic" entries with no interfaces. Perhaps I downgraded/updated to much those access point from 6.39.* <=> 6.40.* <=> 6.41 in the past...
 
mdinisoae
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:29 pm

Re: CAPSMAN disconnects sporadic all caps interfaces

Fri Jan 01, 2021 12:02 am

I had same issue with cAP Gi-5acD2nD and RouteOS 6.46.7 / 6.46.8

"CAP sent max keepalives without response"
"CAP failed to join CRS210 (XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX/10//0)"



The Brige Property, under STP tab "Protocol Mode" option was set to "None" , after hard power off I've restarted CAP and I switched Protocol mode to "STP". => both CAPs are stable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 29 guests