Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ropeba
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:13 pm

15 km link, 5 Mbita, RIC/522, Possible?

Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:22 am

http://www.mikrotik.com/systems.php#RIC_522

RIC/522

I need link of 5 Mbita to 15 km. Is it possible with RIC/522

Best regards...
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Tue Sep 05, 2006 5:42 pm

Nope dont think so, you would need a SR5 in them to do that... At least thats my experience.. 4-5km shots are ok with 65mw but longer would require more power..

/Henrik
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:29 pm

IMHO the problem is the antenna gain, not the output power.
You can go 20km+ easily with an R52 or CM9, but using higher gain antennas than the 22dBi in that product.
Suggestion: buy an outdoor grade RB and high gain antennas.

Regards

CableFree Solutions
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:27 pm

Well, he asked about that package.. Still it's cheaper to put SR5's in there..

/Henrik
 
ldvaden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 8:27 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: 15 km link, 5 Mbita, RIC/522, Possible?

Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:26 am

http://www.mikrotik.com/systems.php#RIC_522

RIC/522

I need link of 5 Mbita to 15 km. Is it possible with RIC/522

Best regards...
IIRC we have a pair of RIC/522s operating at 8.6 miles and the signal strength is about -73 dBm.

rgds/ldv
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:29 am

I'm glad you answered, I was looking at these for a shot just under 7 miles myself. I figured it would work, on paper it does, and my experience with a much worse antenna on the AP and somewhat better on the client showed 5 miles. I was pushing more power, but I was also 6 ft off the ground with lots of trees in the fresnel zone.
 
pacman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Contact:

Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:45 am

I have an 11km link with a couple of RIC/522 units. Tx has been set to 10dBm at both ends and the signal strength is showing -75dBm.
Loop Scorpio Ltd
providers of rural broadband
 
ropeba
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:13 pm

Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:52 pm

I have an 11km link with a couple of RIC/522 units. Tx has been set to 10dBm at both ends and the signal strength is showing -75dBm.
speed?
 
pacman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Contact:

Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:05 pm

The radio data rate is set to 36Mbps max and seems to sit there quite happily.
Loop Scorpio Ltd
providers of rural broadband

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests