Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 514
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Tue May 10, 2016 12:07 am

I've just spent two hours trying to get my head around CAP/CAPsMAN - I set up the configuration exactly as per the wiki page, but it simply refused to work:
capsman.PNG
Given I'd set up the SSID as "Testing" and the channel as "2412", it was clear that the RB simply wasn't being provisioned properly.
I tried changing various things, but nothing seemed to work with a 751G-2HnD.
Then, without changing anything on the CAPsMAN, I enabled CAP on a hAP lite which just worked.
Thinking I had, perhaps, got some weird configuration on the 751G-2HnD, I reset it and started again. Without any other configuration, it still refused to work.
So, the question is, has anybody managed to get a 751G-2HnD working as a CAP device?

Cheers,
Nicholas.

ROS 6.35.2
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24712
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Tue May 10, 2016 10:18 am

Please post your cAP config from the CAPsMAN device
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 514
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Wed May 11, 2016 8:26 am

Hi,

CAPsMan
/caps-man configuration
add channel.band=2ghz-b/g/n channel.frequency=2412 channel.width=20 name=cfg1 \
    security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm \
    security.passphrase=12345678 ssid=testing123
/caps-man interface
add disabled=no l2mtu=1600 mac-address=D4:CA:6D:21:17:B7 master-interface=none \
    name=cap1 radio-mac=D4:CA:6D:21:17:B7
/caps-man manager set ca-certificate=auto certificate=auto enabled=yes
/caps-man provisioning add action=create-dynamic-enabled master-configuration=cfg1
751G-2Hnd CAP (the one which doesn't work)
/interface wireless cap
set certificate=request discovery-interfaces=ether5 enabled=yes interfaces=\
    wlan1
hAP lite CAP (the one which does work)
/interface wireless cap
set certificate=request discovery-interfaces=bridge1 enabled=yes interfaces=\
    wlan1
All routers are running 6.35.2. The configuration on the hAP lite is pretty much exactly the same as the 751. I cannot see for the life in me why this does not work on the 751.

Nicholas.
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 514
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Tue May 17, 2016 12:06 pm

I have just swapped out the 751G-2HnD with a 951Ui-2HnD and copied the configuration exactly.

The 951 works.

The 751 does not work.

I'll e-mail support.

Nicholas.
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 514
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Tue May 17, 2016 1:28 pm

Done a bit more testing. The problem seems to be with 751G-2HnD units as a 751U-2HnD provisions perfectly.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jebz and 27 guests