Community discussions

 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Tue May 10, 2016 12:07 am

I've just spent two hours trying to get my head around CAP/CAPsMAN - I set up the configuration exactly as per the wiki page, but it simply refused to work:
capsman.PNG
Given I'd set up the SSID as "Testing" and the channel as "2412", it was clear that the RB simply wasn't being provisioned properly.
I tried changing various things, but nothing seemed to work with a 751G-2HnD.
Then, without changing anything on the CAPsMAN, I enabled CAP on a hAP lite which just worked.
Thinking I had, perhaps, got some weird configuration on the 751G-2HnD, I reset it and started again. Without any other configuration, it still refused to work.
So, the question is, has anybody managed to get a 751G-2HnD working as a CAP device?

Cheers,
Nicholas.

ROS 6.35.2
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24272
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Tue May 10, 2016 10:18 am

Please post your cAP config from the CAPsMAN device
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Wed May 11, 2016 8:26 am

Hi,

CAPsMan
/caps-man configuration
add channel.band=2ghz-b/g/n channel.frequency=2412 channel.width=20 name=cfg1 \
    security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm \
    security.passphrase=12345678 ssid=testing123
/caps-man interface
add disabled=no l2mtu=1600 mac-address=D4:CA:6D:21:17:B7 master-interface=none \
    name=cap1 radio-mac=D4:CA:6D:21:17:B7
/caps-man manager set ca-certificate=auto certificate=auto enabled=yes
/caps-man provisioning add action=create-dynamic-enabled master-configuration=cfg1
751G-2Hnd CAP (the one which doesn't work)
/interface wireless cap
set certificate=request discovery-interfaces=ether5 enabled=yes interfaces=\
    wlan1
hAP lite CAP (the one which does work)
/interface wireless cap
set certificate=request discovery-interfaces=bridge1 enabled=yes interfaces=\
    wlan1
All routers are running 6.35.2. The configuration on the hAP lite is pretty much exactly the same as the 751. I cannot see for the life in me why this does not work on the 751.

Nicholas.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Tue May 17, 2016 12:06 pm

I have just swapped out the 751G-2HnD with a 951Ui-2HnD and copied the configuration exactly.

The 951 works.

The 751 does not work.

I'll e-mail support.

Nicholas.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CAP on a 751G-2HnD

Tue May 17, 2016 1:28 pm

Done a bit more testing. The problem seems to be with 751G-2HnD units as a 751U-2HnD provisions perfectly.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests