Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

93km link

Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:14 am

On sunday we tested and achieved a 93km link,

1 point 2290m high
2 point 1300m high

1,4m dishes both sides, SR5 400mw, 2,4 p4 celeron PCs, MT 2.9.27 with bridged WDS with Nstreme,5ghz frequency=5745, framer-policy=none. With other policies we had constant disconnects.
It was pretty tough aligning the antennas but when we finally did it signal came -70 :) bandwight test showed 17Mbps in 1 direction, or 9/9Mbps both sides. Unfortunately it started raining over the first point so we needed to stop the tests but I think the link has more to it. We couldnt try 5G-turbo and other frequencies. Will do that on the final deployment of the link which is in 2 weeks. I will post feedback. Thank you MikroTik
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

we did it

Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:08 pm

We finally used good weather conditions to deply the 93km link. With the two other links, one 15km and the other 11km, we made a link from Sofia to a small town that is aproximately 120km away if u travel by car. Capacity of the small links is 40Mbps full duplex. The 93 km link however is our pride and joy, signal is -62 -63 on 5g-turbo, with nstream framer policy exact size. Bandwidth, and i'm talking real traffic passing through(not bandwidth test) came up 31-32 Mbps full duplex!!!! Great result i think :)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:19 pm

wow really nice! congratulations! i believe everyone would like to know more, what antennas, what cards, config etc.
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

yes

Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:28 pm

I will post info....config, antennas, cards.....later on today
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

config

Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:28 pm

Schema and heights of points:


point1(800m)<===15km===>point2(2300m)<==93km==>point3(1300m)<==11km==>point4(1000m)

Config:
Point1:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna: 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Band=5Ghz-turbo,mode=ap-bridge,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point2:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, MiniPCI SR5, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna to point1(CM9): 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Antenna to point3(SR5): 1,4m parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
To point1(CM9): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=station-wds, wds-mode=static, with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size
To point3(SR5): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=ap-bridge,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point3:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, MiniPCI SR5, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna to point4(CM9): 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Antenna to point2(SR5): 1,4m parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
To point4(CM9): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=ap-bridge, wds-mode=static, with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size
To point2(SR5): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=station-wds,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point4:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna: 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Band=5Ghz-turbo,mode=station-wds,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

All MT are configured as transparent bridges

I'm not posting frequencies deliberately, I'll just say that we use the high 5,8 band for the long link.

Results:
Between point1 and 2: signal=-56, Bandwidth=40Mbps full duplex
Between point2 and 3: signal=-63, Bandwidth=30Mbps full duplex
Between point3 and 4: signal=-54, Bandwidth=40Mbps full duplex

Thank You again MikroTik-the best wireless router OS in the world
And regards to all
 
emo_p
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:02 am

Question

Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:07 pm

:shock: The name of this small town is secret ???
 
miahac
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Wichita, KS

Fri Oct 20, 2006 2:24 am

what dishes did you use? what is the 5-6ghz converter?
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Re: config

Fri Oct 20, 2006 3:52 am

Schema and heights of points:


point1(800m)<===15km===>point2(2300m)<==93km==>point3(1300m)<==11km==>point4(1000m)

Config:
Point1:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna: 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Band=5Ghz-turbo,mode=ap-bridge,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point2:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, MiniPCI SR5, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna to point1(CM9): 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Antenna to point3(SR5): 1,4m parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
To point1(CM9): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=station-wds, wds-mode=static, with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size
To point3(SR5): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=ap-bridge,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point3:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, MiniPCI SR5, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna to point4(CM9): 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Antenna to point2(SR5): 1,4m parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
To point4(CM9): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=ap-bridge, wds-mode=static, with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size
To point2(SR5): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=station-wds,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point4:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna: 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Band=5Ghz-turbo,mode=station-wds,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

All MT are configured as transparent bridges

I'm not posting frequencies deliberately, I'll just say that we use the high 5,8 band for the long link.

Results:
Between point1 and 2: signal=-56, Bandwidth=40Mbps full duplex
Between point2 and 3: signal=-63, Bandwidth=30Mbps full duplex
Between point3 and 4: signal=-54, Bandwidth=40Mbps full duplex

Thank You again MikroTik-the best wireless router OS in the world
And regards to all
------
Great....!!!, i trust you, and i will keep it..
again...congratulation....

Regards
Hasbullah.com
-----
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:15 am

Full duplex you mean 2x30 mbit, and maybe 1x60 in one direction!
Right ?
 
User avatar
promind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Rousse, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: config

Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:57 pm

Schema and heights of points:


point1(800m)<===15km===>point2(2300m)<==93km==>point3(1300m)<==11km==>point4(1000m)

Config:
Point1:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna: 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Band=5Ghz-turbo,mode=ap-bridge,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point2:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, MiniPCI SR5, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna to point1(CM9): 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Antenna to point3(SR5): 1,4m parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
To point1(CM9): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=station-wds, wds-mode=static, with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size
To point3(SR5): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=ap-bridge,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point3:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, MiniPCI SR5, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna to point4(CM9): 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Antenna to point2(SR5): 1,4m parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
To point4(CM9): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=ap-bridge, wds-mode=static, with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size
To point2(SR5): Band=5Ghz-turbo, mode=station-wds,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

Point4:
PC: P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, MiniPCI CM9, CF 512MB
MT 2.9.27
Antenna: 90cm parabolic dish, 5-6Ghz converter, 2m low loss coax feeder
Band=5Ghz-turbo,mode=station-wds,wds-mode=static,with nstreme, framer-policy=exact size

All MT are configured as transparent bridges

I'm not posting frequencies deliberately, I'll just say that we use the high 5,8 band for the long link.

Results:
Between point1 and 2: signal=-56, Bandwidth=40Mbps full duplex
Between point2 and 3: signal=-63, Bandwidth=30Mbps full duplex
Between point3 and 4: signal=-54, Bandwidth=40Mbps full duplex

Thank You again MikroTik-the best wireless router OS in the world
And regards to all
That's great! may be I should begin using sr5 :)
with pc686HA /AR5213/ cards I have established successful link over 59km
of distance with -58 signal and bandwidth of 24Mbit full-duplex
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:45 pm

Full duplex you mean 2x30 mbit, and maybe 1x60 in one direction!
Right ?
Yeah thats what it should mean, in our case we get around 53-54Mbps in one direction
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:48 pm

what dishes did you use? what is the 5-6ghz converter?
1.4 meters parabolic dishes, 5-6Ghz converters are made here in Bulgaria by several firms with enough RF equipment. Its not that hard to make one really, once you find, good, high quality connectors for them.
 
User avatar
promind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Rousse, Bulgaria
Contact:

Tue Oct 24, 2006 1:13 pm

what dishes did you use? what is the 5-6ghz converter?
1.4 meters parabolic dishes, 5-6Ghz converters are made here in Bulgaria by several firms with enough RF equipment. Its not that hard to make one really, once you find, good, high quality connectors for them.
yeah I know :)
We buy ours from Peshtera...
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

Tue Oct 24, 2006 1:21 pm

what dishes did you use? what is the 5-6ghz converter?
1.4 meters parabolic dishes, 5-6Ghz converters are made here in Bulgaria by several firms with enough RF equipment. Its not that hard to make one really, once you find, good, high quality connectors for them.
yeah I know :)
We buy ours from Peshtera...
A nie si gi vzimame ot Sofia :)
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:30 pm

I'm buing anntenas from Peshtera, and feedhorns from Sofiq ;).
And once upon a Time, I produce feedhorns for Plovdiv, but they were not really good models :).
Btw I think 1,2m dishes are better than the 1,4m models :).
 
User avatar
promind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Rousse, Bulgaria
Contact:

Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:53 pm

I'm buing anntenas from Peshtera, and feedhorns from Sofiq ;).
And once upon a Time, I produce feedhorns for Plovdiv, but they were not really good models :).
Btw I think 1,2m dishes are better than the 1,4m models :).
1.4m dish AP 1.2m dish Client
AP/city area/ Client /some village area :) /
bigger antenna low noise!
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:39 pm

I'm buing anntenas from Peshtera, and feedhorns from Sofiq ;).
And once upon a Time, I produce feedhorns for Plovdiv, but they were not really good models :).
Btw I think 1,2m dishes are better than the 1,4m models :).
1.4m dish AP 1.2m dish Client
AP/city area/ Client /some village area :) /
bigger antenna low noise!

We are talking about 93km link, i wanted power so 1,4m, maybe too much insurance but it works great for now

http://hellspawnbg.homeip.net/files/DSCF0013.jpg
 
User avatar
promind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Rousse, Bulgaria
Contact:

Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:24 pm

I'm buing anntenas from Peshtera, and feedhorns from Sofiq ;).
And once upon a Time, I produce feedhorns for Plovdiv, but they were not really good models :).
Btw I think 1,2m dishes are better than the 1,4m models :).
1.4m dish AP 1.2m dish Client
AP/city area/ Client /some village area :) /
bigger antenna low noise!

We are talking about 93km link, i wanted power so 1,4m, maybe too much insurance but it works great for now

http://hellspawnbg.homeip.net/files/DSCF0013.jpg
check your Q :)
 
yudhi
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:27 am
Location: World wide web

Mon Oct 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Guys,

Is Via C7 1 Ghz processor + R52 will enough to get 30Km link using 5.7 Ghz frequency and Nstreme ?
Any suggestion for the dish diameter ?
Planning to get 27-30db 60-90cm dish.

hellspawn: where is the 1.4m dish mounted and where is the PC placed ? tower or ground ?

Thanks.
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:30 pm

Guys,

Is Via C7 1 Ghz processor + R52 will enough to get 30Km link using 5.7 Ghz frequency and Nstreme ?
Any suggestion for the dish diameter ?
Planning to get 27-30db 60-90cm dish.

hellspawn: where is the 1.4m dish mounted and where is the PC placed ? tower or ground ?

Thanks.
one 1,4 dish mounted on the roof of a mountain shack :), the other on a improvised tower we build. The PC-s are placed inside waterproof boxes right behind the antennas
 
yudhi
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:27 am
Location: World wide web

Wed Nov 01, 2006 12:31 am

one 1,4 dish mounted on the roof of a mountain shack :), the other on a improvised tower we build. The PC-s are placed inside waterproof boxes right behind the antennas
Do you have the picture of your "improvised tower" with the dish antenna mounted on it ?

I want to make 30Km link using 32db/90cm or 35db/1.2m dish antenna, but not sure if using dish will be safe for my guyed triangle tower since the wind start crazy between 1pm - 6pm plus its rainy season now.

Any suggestion ?

Thanks.
 
hellspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:14 pm

Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:33 pm

one 1,4 dish mounted on the roof of a mountain shack :), the other on a improvised tower we build. The PC-s are placed inside waterproof boxes right behind the antennas
Do you have the picture of your "improvised tower" with the dish antenna mounted on it ?

I want to make 30Km link using 32db/90cm or 35db/1.2m dish antenna, but not sure if using dish will be safe for my guyed triangle tower since the wind start crazy between 1pm - 6pm plus its rainy season now.

Any suggestion ?

Thanks.
Unfortunately i had to stop my web server for a while, when its back online i'll post a link with pics here.
 
JR
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:27 am

Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:28 pm

Hello,

Do you have website links for the converters, feed horn?
would like more info on these, thanks.

JR.
 
ixhaya
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:41 pm

Thu Nov 02, 2006 6:05 pm

hello,

I have been thinking of a 70km link with the (RB/RPO) MikroTik 5Ghz
Outdoor Package offering. I have also struggled with the idea of an outdoor enclosure package for the PC.

First, I should like to know how much I gain by using a PC (P4) or better what do I lose by using this package -->the CPU is can't compare with a PC.

second, Does anyone have any experience with this package? If yes how much throughput did they achieve? I need at least to do 32Mbps.

Regards,

ixhaya
 
BlackBLOOD
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:04 pm

Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:03 pm

Hellspown i`m form BG too.
(dai da razmenim po nqkoe ICQ za da mojem da pogovorim
324939506)

You have a very nice achievment...:)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests