Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
wilburt
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:07 am

AP to AP backbone

Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:37 am

Hi experts,

Can anyone recommend the best way and equipment to do AP to AP backbone without network cabling?

Thanks
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: AP to AP backbone

Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:07 pm

Microwave?
...
You have to at least describe the local conditions and requirements.
 
wilburt
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:07 am

Re: AP to AP backbone

Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:18 am

This is for indoors (i.e. shopping mall). Looking to not have to install cabling to connect these APs back to the core router (internet gateway)

Looking to distributed APs throughout to provide wireless access out through a single point Broadband.

Thanks,
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: AP to AP backbone

Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:21 am

I know that you don't want to read this: forget everything and run the cables to the APs.
 
wilburt
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:07 am

Re: AP to AP backbone

Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:06 am

:) always the safest way.

Just wanted to see a solution comparable to the Rukus setup of wireless backbone.

Thanks
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1346
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: AP to AP backbone

Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:10 pm

Some people use mesh for this kind of setup, and claim it's working great for them. Some even think that mesh somehow assists in roaming (they are wrong!)

But, as jarda said, forget everything and run the cables to the APs.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SiB and 26 guests