Page 1 of 1

AP to AP backbone

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:37 am
by wilburt
Hi experts,

Can anyone recommend the best way and equipment to do AP to AP backbone without network cabling?

Thanks

Re: AP to AP backbone

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:07 pm
by jarda
Microwave?
...
You have to at least describe the local conditions and requirements.

Re: AP to AP backbone

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:18 am
by wilburt
This is for indoors (i.e. shopping mall). Looking to not have to install cabling to connect these APs back to the core router (internet gateway)

Looking to distributed APs throughout to provide wireless access out through a single point Broadband.

Thanks,

Re: AP to AP backbone

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:21 am
by jarda
I know that you don't want to read this: forget everything and run the cables to the APs.

Re: AP to AP backbone

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:06 am
by wilburt
:) always the safest way.

Just wanted to see a solution comparable to the Rukus setup of wireless backbone.

Thanks

Re: AP to AP backbone

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:10 pm
by andriys
Some people use mesh for this kind of setup, and claim it's working great for them. Some even think that mesh somehow assists in roaming (they are wrong!)

But, as jarda said, forget everything and run the cables to the APs.