Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

How to configure a WPA2 over a bridge

Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:36 am

Over a station wds --> birdge

Where i should edit the security profile,
I want to set WPA2 and AES, the best encryption.

the manual doesnt show any example with wpa2
Last edited by HellMind on Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:56 am

Documentation shows how to setup WPA encryption,
http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.9/in ... #4.13.21.7
things to change to enable WPA2, 'mode=wpa2-psk', use 'wpa2-pre-shared-key' and 'chiphers=aes-ccm'.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:13 pm

thank you!
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:17 pm

The new version of routeros
desnt got mode=wpa2psk
Maybe is authentification-type=wpa2psk

I ve create another security profile and I ve configure it to a wlan
is there a way to restart the interface to use the new security profile that i ve set?
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:17 pm

Isnt work
i see the client is registered but notting happens
Something is wrong.
maybe the new routeros got some configuration more to touch to make it work
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Oct 13, 2006 9:04 am

The latest RouterOS version contains 'authentication-mode=wpa2-psk' (use [Tab] button to check the available commands).
'mode=dynamic-keys' is required together with authentication-mode=wpa2-psk.

'interface wireless set wlan1 security-profile=' (push [Tab] button to see the available security profiles, full information about security-profile 'interface wireless security-profile print'.

Client should have the same authentication options (mode, key etc.) as the access point for successfull communications.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:56 pm

Then i ll try with dynamic i tryied static,
Where did you learn to configure WPA2?
Why cant be static:S?
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Fri Oct 13, 2006 9:04 pm

it works
TY!! :D
Im done with this

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests