Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
kalviz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:02 pm

CM10 and RB153

Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:33 am

Did anyone experience problems with multiple CM10 in RB153? When we put 3 CM10 in one RB153, the routerboard hangs up in ~1..2 minutes if using 18W adapter and in 4..5 if using 48W. However, 3 CM9s in RB153 run smooth. For example, when 3 CM10 reside in RB153+18V power, we are able to run scan only on wlan1 (and not wlan2,3), if we change power unit to 48V, scan runs normally on all wlans, but RB locks up after some 5 minutes.
The manufacturer states that current consumptions in mA for CM10 is even smaller than for CM9, so what is the problem?
 
User avatar
kalviz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:02 pm

Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:59 pm

Any ideas, Normis and Uldis?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:04 pm

We just tested them, and found the same issue. But it's no wonder, CM10 are bad cards, they malfunction in many devices. We already knew that they are not reliable.
 
User avatar
kalviz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:02 pm

Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:08 pm

I installed them in PCs before that and they ran just fine, also the interference seemed to be smaller that with CM9. The vendor of the cards says there is a lot of complains about RB153. Is RB532 stabler than RB153?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:48 pm

ok, still testing. looks like 2 cards fail in any combination, if both are enabled and there is some load (like bandwidth test) on one of them.
 
User avatar
kalviz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:02 pm

Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:52 pm

Which power adapter do you use? My opinion is - the cards run short on power (this explains a bit better stability with 48 V power unit). Could you test them on RB532?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:33 pm

Both cards are running fine in RB112 using 18V.
Have you tried RB112?
We have only two CM10 cards so we can't fully reproduce the RB153 problem, but we got it to crash using two of tehm using 18V.
I don't think that it is the power related as you can use SR2/SR5 cards without any problems in the RB153.
We are still researching.
 
User avatar
kalviz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:02 pm

Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:27 pm

No, we have not tested them in RB112 and 532 since all our 112/532 are up and running on towers ;-) The only hardware we have at the moment are 153's. When I get my hands on RB112 I will test it definitely. However, 112 is not a good option for a router with multiple cards, I would prefer to run multiple CM10s on a 532.
 
User avatar
kalviz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:02 pm

Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:55 pm

Any news, Normunds and Uldis? I would appreciate your test results with 532.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:28 pm

I while ago we tested two CM10 cards with the RB500 series board and they were working fine.
 
hebeda
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Tue Nov 07, 2006 7:54 pm

we do have the same problem with gigabyte GN-wi01HT cards ...

1 card works fine with RB153 , but 2 or more and the board crash within 10 minutes ...

the GN-wi01HT uses also AR5006XS chipset like CM10 ...

is it maybe a driver/hardware issue ?

any solutions soon ?
 
hebeda
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:55 am

could anyone advise please which multible cards are working with the RB153 without problems ?

cm9, RB52 should work from what i do understand.
any other cards ?
anyone tried sparklan WMIA-123AG (manufacturer GEMTEK, same chipset as CM9) ?
 
hebeda
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:55 pm

it seems the routerboard 2.5 firmware upgrade did it .... gigabyte gn-wi01ht cards now just work fine 24h under heavy load , no crash so far .....
 
akshay24
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:33 pm

Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:18 pm

Hebeda we hav tryied so many card WMIA-123AG working perfectly no issue .
 
jonashi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:19 am
Location: Europe

RB153 -ethernet ? dropouts still probably unsolved

Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:19 am

Got 4 pcs RB153.
Latest fw 2.6, latest RouterOS 2.9.39
3xminiPCI (unfortunate CM10).
RB153 still randomly unpingable.
I have tested a few different cards, difference is only prolonged hang-up time.
So I definitely considering leave usage this piece of Hardware.
All tested cards runs smoothly on dozens rb112 and rb532 installed in my network....
Anybody suffers with these RB153 symptoms?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:35 am

we have a fix for this problem, contact your reseller please.
 
marcos2007
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:38 am

Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:30 pm

Hi Normis,

can you give some details about this fix. I had also some problems using two Gigabyte cards in a RB153.

Thanks, Marco.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:32 pm

we have a fix for this problem, contact your reseller please.
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:56 pm

I have a RB153 with:
- 1 x Mikrotik R52
- 1 x Ubiquiti SR5
- 1 x Senao NL2511+

on board.
It's my Mikrotik Test Board. :wink:
The max power consumption is:

1,320W R52
4,620W SR5
2,475W NL2511+ (as declared on web-sites, becouse on datasheet they declare <=280mA-->0,924W)
4,000W RB153
-------------
12,415W Total

Max RB153 Power Handle: 13W, so I'm at the power limit.
I'm stressed it on a test environment (bandwidth test, encryption, ecc...), and it's rock-stable!
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests