Page 1 of 1

Issue CAPsMAN controlling 5Ghz radios on 6.38 and 6.39rc

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 2:03 am
by Jorbu
Upgraded my CAPsMAN controller (RB1100AH) to version 6.39rc7. This is controlling one wAP AC, one hAP AC lite, and one hAP AC. Once the upgrade happens, I see my 5Ghz network start to feel slow, and all my devices are unable to associate at the higher MCS. Doing a bit of troubleshooting, I'm unable to get them to work properly. Had to downgrade to 6.37.3 in order to make it work. Here's the configuration of one of the 5Ghz CAP in 6.39rc7:
 
 1 M BR name="AP02-MasterBR-5Ghz" mac-address=E4:8D:8C:D5:41:6C arp-timeout=auto radio-mac=E4:8D:8C:D5:41:6C master-interface=none 
        configuration.mode=ap configuration.ssid="Jorbu" configuration.max-sta-count=30 configuration.multicast-helper=default 
        configuration.tx-chains=0,1,2 configuration.rx-chains=0,1,2 configuration.guard-interval=any 
        configuration.country=united states configuration.distance=indoors configuration.hw-retries=0 
        configuration.hw-protection-mode=none security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm 
        security.group-encryption=aes-ccm security.passphrase="password" l2mtu=1600 datapath.client-to-client-forwarding=yes 
        datapath.bridge=bridge1 channel.width=20 channel.band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel.extension-channel=Ceee 
        
Here's the effect of that configuration on the interface details, please note the "current rate set" section:
 1 M BR name="AP02-MasterBR-5Ghz" mac-address=E4:8D:8C:D5:41:6C arp-timeout=auto radio-mac=E4:8D:8C:D5:41:6C master-interface=none 
        configuration.mode=ap configuration.ssid="Jorbu" configuration.max-sta-count=30 configuration.multicast-helper=default 
        configuration.tx-chains=0,1,2 configuration.rx-chains=0,1,2 configuration.guard-interval=any 
        configuration.country=united states configuration.distance=indoors configuration.hw-retries=0 
        configuration.hw-protection-mode=none security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm 
        security.group-encryption=aes-ccm security.passphrase="password" datapath=JorbuDatapath l2mtu=1600 
        datapath.client-to-client-forwarding=yes datapath.bridge=bridge1 channel.width=20 channel.band=5ghz-a/n/ac 
        channel.extension-channel=Ceee rates.vht-basic-mcs="" rates.vht-supported-mcs="" current-state="running-ap" 
        current-channel="5260/20-Ceee/ac/DP(23dBm)" current-rate-set="OFDM:6-54 BW:1x-2x HT:0-23" current-basic-rate-set="OFDM:6" 
5GhzBad.PNG
After downgrading to 6.37.3, the interface started up the same exact way. I had to recreate the "Configuration" object in order to make it work properly. Here is the config in 6.37.3
 1 M BR name="AP02-MasterBR-5Ghz" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1600 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:D5:41:6C arp=enabled arp-timeout=auto 
        radio-mac=E4:8D:8C:D5:41:6C master-interface=none configuration.mode=ap configuration.ssid="Jorbu" 
        configuration.tx-chains=0,1,2 configuration.rx-chains=0,1,2 configuration.guard-interval=any 
        configuration.country=united states configuration.distance=indoors security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk 
        security.encryption=aes-ccm security.group-encryption=aes-ccm security.passphrase="password" 
        datapath.client-to-client-forwarding=yes datapath.bridge=bridge1 channel.width=20 channel.band=5ghz-a/n/ac 
        channel.extension-channel=Ceee 
Here's the interface details, note the "current-rate-set" property (6.37 seems to print out a lot less detail than the newer version):
 1 M BR name="AP02-MasterBR-5Ghz" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1600 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:D5:41:6C arp=enabled arp-timeout=auto 
        radio-mac=E4:8D:8C:D5:41:6C master-interface=none configuration=Configuration_Jorbu5Ghz current-state="running-ap" 
        current-channel="5260/20-Ceee/ac/DP(23dBm)" current-rate-set="OFDM:6-54 BW:1x-4x HT:0-23 VHTMCS:SS1=0-9,SS2=0-9,SS3=0-9" 
        current-basic-rate-set="OFDM:6" 

5GhzGood.PNG
Please note, I was also able to reproduce this issue in v6.38; and have not found a way to allow the 5Ghz radios to reach the higher MCS in either 6.38 or 6.39rc7.

Aside from downgrading, has anyone found a workaround for this?

Re: Issue CAPsMAN controlling 5Ghz radios on 6.38 and 6.39rc

Posted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:34 am
by intelfx
Same issue here (RB2011 as controller, wAP ac as AP). Moreover, my QCA6174 card consistently gets a firmware crash when exposed to such AP; it took me over an hour to understand what's going on...

Just set them manually.
/caps-man interface set YOUR-AP rates.vht-supported-mcs=mcs0-9,mcs0-9,mcs0-9
(repeat that "mcs0-9" once for each spatial stream you have on the AP in question)

Re: Issue CAPsMAN controlling 5Ghz radios on 6.38 and 6.39rc

Posted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 9:21 am
by nz_monkey
This is a known issue and should be fixed in 6.39rc12

Re: Issue CAPsMAN controlling 5Ghz radios on 6.38 and 6.39rc

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:56 pm
by Jorbu
Updated to RC13, all appears to be working fine. Radios now advertise SGI too:
AfterRC13-5GhzSGI.PNG