Page 1 of 1

Why would a wireless interface be enabled but not running?

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:07 pm
by bigcw
Bit of a strange one that I am seeing on 952Ui-5ac2nD. We have around 250 in service as CPE and they are randomly doing it. Customers report this as the wifi has stopped working.

When I log in to the router's console the wireless interfaces are enabled (ie 'not disabled') but are not running ie no R against them.
[admin@cpeXXXX] /interface> print
Flags: D - dynamic, X - disabled, R - running, S - slave
 #     NAME                                TYPE       ACTUAL-MTU L2MTU  MAX-L2MTU MAC-ADDRESS
 0  R  ether1                              ether            1500  1598       2028 6C:3B:6B:3E:6C:93
 1  RS ether2-master                       ether            1500  1598       2028 6C:3B:6B:3E:6C:94
 2   S ether3                              ether            1500  1598       2028 6C:3B:6B:3E:6C:95
 3   S ether4                              ether            1500  1598       2028 6C:3B:6B:3E:6C:96
 4   S ether5                              ether            1500  1598       2028 6C:3B:6B:3E:6C:97
 5   S xxxwifi-2g                          wlan             1500  1600       2290 6C:3B:6B:3E:6C:99
 6   S xxxwifi-5g                          wlan             1500  1600       2290 6C:3B:6B:3E:6C:98
 7  R  ;;; defconf
       bridge                              bridge           1500  1598            6C:3B:6B:3E:6C:94
Also, if I look in /interface bridge port both of the wireless interfaces are showing inactive.
[admin@cpeXXXX] /interface> /interface bridge port print
Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive, D - dynamic
 #    INTERFACE                                                                  BRIDGE                                                                  PRIORITY  PATH-COST    HORIZON
 0    ;;; defconf
      ether2-master                                                              bridge                                                                      0x80         10       none
 1 I  ;;; defconf
      xxxwifi-2g                                                                 bridge                                                                      0x80         10       none
 2 I  ;;; defconf
      xxxwifi-5g                                                                 bridge                                                                      0x80         10       none
Is there any reason why a wireless interface that is 'enabled' would not be 'running'?

Chris

Re: Why would a wireless interface be enabled but not running?

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:21 pm
by R1CH
Wireless interfaces in AP mode don't show as running unless a client is connected.