Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

CCQ

Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:22 am

Hello

Is CCQ a good way to see for best channel? or better to look at signal levels?

What is good CCQ for reliable link?

Thanks :-)
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 967
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:02 am

i dont know what ccq is, but i can say its usually pretty low on all of my links..but they all work well.

so maybe its not that important?
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:15 am

(read-only: integer: 0..100) - Client Connection Quality - a value in percent that shows how effective the receive bandwidth is used regarding the theoretically maximum available bandwidth. Mostly it depends from an amount of retransmited wireless frames.
 
User avatar
chvdr
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 8:53 pm

Re: CCQ

Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:30 pm

Hello

Is CCQ a good way to see for best channel? or better to look at signal levels?

What is good CCQ for reliable link?

Thanks :-)
i think that it is good idea to look for a best channel using CCQ levels.
but signal level is the only one we usually wathch everytime we look for a best channel, because there is usually many wireless clients to one interface.
sometimes we have such problem: good signal level but ping time grows... only to clients with a low CCQ level. i usually do disable/enable to the ap interface and after enabling, everythings go ok. sometimes the things go better right after stopping the bigger downloader for a minute.
the problem like that never disapeared with "channel change".

suggestions?
C. G.
 
jfan
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:04 pm
Location: United States

Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:57 pm

We have links that keep CCQ values above 80%. Is it good? What's Mikrotik's recommended value for a reliable link?
 
yogid
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:14 pm
Contact:

Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:13 pm

We have some problems with it, too. On our interfaces we have always 80%-100% CCQ, on this interface is conecting about 6-10 clients. Value of this parametr is on all chanels. What we can do with it?! Is any solution!?
 
Biggs
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 5:24 pm

Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:51 pm

Use snooper along with Freq. Usage to select the best channel.

The CCQ must be as close to 100% as possible.

The signal is important, but -75dBm with ~80ccq is better to me than -60dBm with ~20ccq.
 
User avatar
vmiro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 6:53 pm

Sat Nov 25, 2006 11:54 am

The signal is important, but -75dBm with ~80ccq is better to me than -60dBm with ~20ccq.
You're right! In environment with lots of interference, the signal quality will be low. You can receive signal with high amplitude (strong signal) but it can be distorted due to interference, multipath...and therefore it can't be decoded. So, like Biggs said:

75dBm with 80CCQ is better than 60dBm with 20CCQ !
 
User avatar
chvdr
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 8:53 pm

Sun Nov 26, 2006 10:47 pm

We have some problems with it, too. On our interfaces we have always 80%-100% CCQ, on this interface is conecting about 6-10 clients. Value of this parametr is on all chanels. What we can do with it?! Is any solution!?
hi, there!
how you can have 80-100% CCQ... we have usually 35-45%. and the things seems to be good. what actually the CCQ level depending from. antenna equipement, wireless interfaces... or what?

regards,
C. G.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1817
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:39 am

We have some problems with it, too. On our interfaces we have always 80%-100% CCQ, on this interface is conecting about 6-10 clients. Value of this parametr is on all chanels. What we can do with it?! Is any solution!?
hi, there!
how you can have 80-100% CCQ... we have usually 35-45%. and the things seems to be good. what actually the CCQ level depending from. antenna equipement, wireless interfaces... or what?

regards,
C. G.
If I'm understanding CCQ right it's a retry counter. So reducing retries
increases CCQ. Selecting the Data Rates to the values which are used
most, reduces retries and should therefore increase CCQ.

regards,
Stefan
 
EunaFita
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:50 am
Location: Floraí - Paraná - Brasil

Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:06 pm

So, with this setting probabbly you can disconver if a user are creating NOISE in your network?

Ive found these problem last week. ultil i discover the what is CCQ(thanks the TOPIC)

I have a user that signal is -89, with CCQ 37, according to this TOPIC we can think if the lower CCQ create noise in network.
I remove the user from the signal and the ping of entire users in the signal are fine. i add the user in the signal the ping goes from 2 3ms, to 400 800ms.

Search for low CCQ users is good to low the Noise and performance in Network?

For me solve a big problem.

Regards
Rafael Bortoluzzi

PS: Sorry my bad spelling rsrsrs

Att
Rafael Bortoluzzi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Binser and 27 guests