Community discussions

 
dksoft
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:56 am
Location: Germany

CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:45 pm

Hi,

I have a CCR1009 and several wap AC, all with 6.39RC72 and CAPsMAN.
Clients can connect via 5GHz but not via 2.4GHz if the configuration is set via CAPsMAN.
Clients do not get an IP address via DHCP. Using torch on the wap AC 2.4GHz interface, I can see that DHCP packages go and come from the CCR1009.

If I disable CAPsMAN and set the same parameters by hand on the wap AC, clients can connect via 2.4GHz.

Any idea, what I could try to fix the problem?

Thanks for your help and best regards,
dksoft
 
Shadeofspirit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 12:15 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Sat Apr 15, 2017 11:06 pm

Please, give capsman config for 2.4

Отправлено с моего Redmi 3S через Tapatalk
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
dksoft
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:56 am
Location: Germany

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:25 am

Thanks for your reply. Below are my configurations.

I noticed, that the CAPsMAN forwarding channel shuts down if I connect to the 2.4GHz network.

When I connect to 5GHz, the channel works and the display "channel: 2412/20-Ce/gn(20dBm), SSID: MTIK-24, CAPsMAN forwarding" and "channel: 5180/20-Ceee/ac(23dBm), SSID: MTIK-50, CAPsMAN forwarding" stay.
If I try to connect to 2.4GHz both displays disappear and only "managed by CAPsMAN" is displayed.

Also I the problem disappears if I do not use the CAPsMAN channel but enable "Local Forwarding".


[admin@router] /caps-man configuration> print
0 name="CFG-5180" mode=ap ssid="MTIK-50" country=germany
security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm
security.passphrase="Foo!Bar!" datapath.bridge=LAN channel.frequency=5180
channel.control-channel-width=20mhz channel.band=5ghz-a/n/ac
channel.extension-channel=Ceee

1 name="CFG-2412" mode=ap ssid="MTIK-24" country=germany
security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm
security.passphrase="Foo!Bar!" datapath.bridge=LAN channel.frequency=2412
channel.control-channel-width=20mhz channel.band=2ghz-b/g/n
channel.extension-channel=Ce
Setup: Dt. Telekom FTTH, CHR on Promox, ZyXEL GS1900-48HP, WAP AC. MCTNA
 
Shadeofspirit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 12:15 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Mon Apr 17, 2017 9:26 am

Thanks for your reply. Below are my configurations.

I noticed, that the CAPsMAN forwarding channel shuts down if I connect to the 2.4GHz network.

When I connect to 5GHz, the channel works and the display "channel: 2412/20-Ce/gn(20dBm), SSID: MTIK-24, CAPsMAN forwarding" and "channel: 5180/20-Ceee/ac(23dBm), SSID: MTIK-50, CAPsMAN forwarding" stay.
If I try to connect to 2.4GHz both displays disappear and only "managed by CAPsMAN" is displayed.

Also I the problem disappears if I do not use the CAPsMAN channel but enable "Local Forwarding".


[admin@router] /caps-man configuration> print
0 name="CFG-5180" mode=ap ssid="MTIK-50" country=germany
security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm
security.passphrase="Foo!Bar!" datapath.bridge=LAN channel.frequency=5180
channel.control-channel-width=20mhz channel.band=5ghz-a/n/ac
channel.extension-channel=Ceee

1 name="CFG-2412" mode=ap ssid="MTIK-24" country=germany
security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm
security.passphrase="Foo!Bar!" datapath.bridge=LAN channel.frequency=2412
channel.control-channel-width=20mhz channel.band=2ghz-b/g/n
channel.extension-channel=Ce
Can you test your config on stable 6.38.5? (i had tested on rb3011 with capsman and hap ac lite as cap - all works good)
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
dksoft
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:56 am
Location: Germany

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:23 am

I "torched" somewhat deeper into the problem and found that disabling "Allow Fast Path" on the CCR bridge that bridges my LAN and the CAPs solves the problem.
Also "Local forward" on the CAPs solves the problem as expected, but I want to use the CAPsMAN forwarding.

Yes, problem also appears with stable 6.38.5.

I will try with a HAP AC later today.
Setup: Dt. Telekom FTTH, CHR on Promox, ZyXEL GS1900-48HP, WAP AC. MCTNA
 
nicutdk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:06 pm

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Fri May 05, 2017 2:02 pm

Hi

I think the problem is capsman. Maybe have bug with 2.4 auto.
Same problem with ccr 1016 and ccr 1036 with capsman with auto freq.

If you define manual freq and chose in provision that freq works fine.

Regards
 
ivicask
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Croatia, Zagreb

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Fri May 05, 2017 2:22 pm

Thanks for your reply. Below are my configurations.

I noticed, that the CAPsMAN forwarding channel shuts down if I connect to the 2.4GHz network.

When I connect to 5GHz, the channel works and the display "channel: 2412/20-Ce/gn(20dBm), SSID: MTIK-24, CAPsMAN forwarding" and "channel: 5180/20-Ceee/ac(23dBm), SSID: MTIK-50, CAPsMAN forwarding" stay.
If I try to connect to 2.4GHz both displays disappear and only "managed by CAPsMAN" is displayed.

Also I the problem disappears if I do not use the CAPsMAN channel but enable "Local Forwarding".


[admin@router] /caps-man configuration> print
0 name="CFG-5180" mode=ap ssid="MTIK-50" country=germany
security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm
security.passphrase="Foo!Bar!" datapath.bridge=LAN channel.frequency=5180
channel.control-channel-width=20mhz channel.band=5ghz-a/n/ac
channel.extension-channel=Ceee

1 name="CFG-2412" mode=ap ssid="MTIK-24" country=germany
security.authentication-types=wpa2-psk security.encryption=aes-ccm
security.passphrase="Foo!Bar!" datapath.bridge=LAN channel.frequency=2412
channel.control-channel-width=20mhz channel.band=2ghz-b/g/n
channel.extension-channel=Ce

That datapath.bridge=LAN. can you check if your 2ghz caps are actually properly bridged with that bridge(Bridge > Ports) and that you set your DHCP server to that bridge interface.
 
chrisk2305
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:23 pm

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Fri May 19, 2017 2:39 pm

I have exactly the same issue with rb3011 as capsman and hap ac. Is there already a know solution to this? disabling fast path on the bridge does not fix the problem for me, Thanks
 
chrisk2305
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:23 pm

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Mon May 22, 2017 8:04 pm

anybody got an idea? Thanks!
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Mon May 22, 2017 8:32 pm

please contact support@mikrotik.com about this issue and include the support output files from CAPsMAN and CAP.
 
anuser
Member
Member
Posts: 405
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Mon May 22, 2017 9:44 pm

In general CAPSMAN forwarding works for me on 2.4Ghz. I´m currently running 6.40rc8
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1717
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Tue May 23, 2017 1:43 pm

Channel width = 20MHz conflicts with extension channel = Ce which needs 40MHz

A. Remove extension channel or set width to 40Mz.
B. Avoid b/g/n ... set it to g/n only to have more throughoutput.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
chrisk2305
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:23 pm

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Wed May 24, 2017 8:02 pm

@Bartosz: Tried both settings but capsman shows both wireless interfaces as disconnected as soon as I try to login to the 2.4ghz network.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1717
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: CAPsMAN not working on 2.4GHz, 5GHz OK

Wed May 24, 2017 8:58 pm

OK ... or rather "not OK "

B. It is not necessary ... it just should make WiFi faster..

So try C
C. Is 2.4 interface bridged with 5 GHz one and LAN in CAPSMAN ? Local forwarding connects it dynamically to local bridge but with CAPSman mode you need to bridge it manually.
Real admins use real keyboards.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests