Community discussions

 
stef84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:00 pm
Location: Assisi
Contact:

cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Tue May 16, 2017 7:03 pm

Hello everybody.

I've install 14 Access Point ( Mikrotik cAP Lite) in a Hotel.

All the access point is connected with lan in a switch and is in the same network, and all have the same SSID and WPA2-EAS.

I've planing the setting of the access point radio not disturb the one with the other, and use this setting:

AP1, (channel 2422):
 
 /interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 band=\
    2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce disabled=no mode=bridge radio-name=\
    AN_1P2_CH3 rx-chains=0,1 ssid=HOTEL tx-chains=0,1 \
    tx-power=10 tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=802.11 \
    wps-mode=disabled
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=\
    dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa2-pre-shared-key=password
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/interface l2tp-server server
set caller-id-type=ip-address
/interface wireless access-list
add signal-range=-120..-80 vlan-mode=no-tag
/ip address
add address=10.30.30.14/24 interface=bridge1 network=10.30.30.0
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=10.30.30.1
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Rome
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=193.204.114.232
/system identity
set name=AN_1P2_CH3
AP2, (channel 2462)
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 band=\
    2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-eC disabled=no mode=bridge radio-name=\
    AN_1P1_CH11 rx-chains=0,1 ssid=HOTEL tx-chains=0,1 \
    tx-power=10 tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=802.11 \
    wps-mode=disabled
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=\
    dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa2-pre-shared-key=password
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/interface l2tp-server server
set caller-id-type=ip-address
/interface wireless access-list
add signal-range=-120..-80 vlan-mode=no-tag
/ip address
add address=10.30.30.15/24 interface=bridge1 network=10.30.30.0
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=10.30.30.1
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Rome
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=193.204.114.232
/system identity
set name=AN_1P1_CH11
AP3: same config AP1, IP 10.30.30.17

AP4: same config AP2, IP 10.30.30.18

AP5: same config AP1, IP 10.30.30.19

AP6: same config AP2, IP 10.30.30.20

etc etc.

With this setting i've same problem, The client sometimes stay connected to AP with very low signal and do not connect to the AP with greater power.

Is possible the problem might be on the 40Mhz channel? Is necessary a to have different setting?

Thanks
MikroTik MTCNA
 
Shadeofspirit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 12:15 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Tue May 16, 2017 10:26 pm

1)to set up APs i recommend to use capsman - it will help you to manage/update/etc all points in one place
2) you should make 2 rules: one allow signal better than... second to disconnect with low signal

Отправлено с моего Redmi 3S через Tapatalk
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
stef84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:00 pm
Location: Assisi
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Wed May 17, 2017 1:22 am

Thanks for the replay friend.
Sorry for my question, but i'm only a pratician and sorry for the stupid question. I would love to learn so much.
I use rb750 to route all traffic.
It's possibile to set CapsMan in the rb750 for control all AP?
I's possibile to have a sample of the rule to controll low signal and Connect to the AP with better signal?
Thanks very mutch
MikroTik MTCNA
 
idlemind
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Wed May 17, 2017 7:52 am

/interface wireless access-list add disabled=no interface=<wlan-interface> signal-range=Min,Max
This should help disconnect and prevent low quality connects. It's not an exact 100% fix, roaming and managing connection quality in wireless depends on the wireless client in equal amounts as the wireless access point. You should be able to run capsman right on the routerboard you have. I'm not sure of any limitation for that specific model.
 
Shadeofspirit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 12:15 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Wed May 17, 2017 9:11 am

Sorry for late replay. The rules are like signal ranger -79..120 action accept and signal ranger -120..-80 action reject. you should create them in access list. Allow rule will allow to connect users only with good signal and reject rule disconnect with low. Try to test with different ranges - Best values dependent on particular situation. About rb750 - i don't remember but you can look in additional packages for your RB if there is capsman package.

Отправлено с моего Redmi 3S через Tapatalk
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
stef84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:00 pm
Location: Assisi
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Wed May 17, 2017 5:55 pm

Hello friends for help me and replay.

I test the capsman in my house. I've a RB2011L to set the capsman and i connect it an cAP Lite for test.

The system is work very fine.

I've set the access list in caps-man ( Rb2011), It's ok this setting rule?

In the Hotel, you can recommend me to use the same channel (example chanel 6) on all access points, or you recommend using two channels, for example chanel 3 for AP1, AP3, AP5, AP7, AP9, AP11, AP13 and chanel 11 for AP2, AP4, AP6, AP8, AP10, AP12, AP14 ???
What is the better solution for a correct planing?

Thaks very muth

stefano
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MikroTik MTCNA
 
Shadeofspirit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 12:15 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Wed May 17, 2017 6:11 pm

Hello friends for help me and replay.

I test the capsman in my house. I've a RB2011L to set the capsman and i connect it an cAP Lite for test.

The system is work very fine.

I've set the access list in caps-man ( Rb2011), It's ok this setting rule?

In the Hotel, you can recommend me to use the same channel (example chanel 6) on all access points, or you recommend using two channels, for example chanel 3 for AP1, AP3, AP5, AP7, AP9, AP11, AP13 and chanel 11 for AP2, AP4, AP6, AP8, AP10, AP12, AP14 ???
What is the better solution for a correct planing?

Thaks very muth

stefano
1) About signal range: as i had sad my example doesn't "perfect". It is just averaged level - in your particular situation signal level can be a little bit other (but i don't think it will differ a lot)
2) set "interface" to "all" or don't forget to add all caps to it (in this case also make caps static)
3) About channels: in some cases it will be batter to set different channels manually to caps (i didn't test with 6.39.1 but on some older versions of ROS there where some problems with auto channel in capsman)
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
stef84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:00 pm
Location: Assisi
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Wed May 17, 2017 7:58 pm

Thank you very muth for the explanation and sorry for my bad english.

Tomorrow i go in the hotel for re-setting the device with capsman.

I planing this situation, and use two chanel ( 2422 and 2462) for all the device. What do you think?

I don't now if is better use "auto" channel for all device, if 6.39.1 routerOS is supported and have no bug.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MikroTik MTCNA
 
Shadeofspirit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 12:15 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Wed May 17, 2017 8:43 pm

looks good.
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
stef84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:00 pm
Location: Assisi
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Thu May 18, 2017 2:07 pm

Nothing....
The campsman not work...
i see the device, see the ssid but wen i try to connect, my client not connect to it...
I don't understend were is the problem.
For the moment, i set all the access Point with old configuration, (bridge Ethernet+Wi-Fi) but the system don't respond very well.

I've set in all' AP, the Acces List with "-79.. 120" and disable the "default forward" in the wlan1 setting.

In this mode, in the access list section, not possible for me assign "accept" or "reject" in the access list.
MikroTik MTCNA
 
Shadeofspirit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 12:15 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Thu May 18, 2017 2:38 pm

Nothing....
The campsman not work...
i see the device, see the ssid but wen i try to connect, my client not connect to it...
I don't understend were is the problem.
For the moment, i set all the access Point with old configuration, (bridge Ethernet+Wi-Fi) but the system don't respond very well.

I've set in all' AP, the Acces List with "-79.. 120" and disable the "default forward" in the wlan1 setting.

In this mode, in the access list section, not possible for me assign "accept" or "reject" in the access list.
when you enable capsman and connect APs you will have new interfaces - if you don't have vlans and so on add them to the bridge with your local net, or in capsman in "datapaths" you can set "bridge" .
There are two modes of CAPS: in first capsman just set WiFi (also you can update your APs and so on)
In other mode it creates UDP tunnel between capsman and AP

One more advice: if you have setup with more than 2 devices and want to set smth new - just try to do that with 2 devices and test all you want with them, only after that roll up to other device. it will save your time and nerves
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
coldspot
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:33 pm

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:09 am

Can you please give script of both ap and router sides. Will be very thankful.
One more thing please. Can review cap lite vs cap vs any tenda if possible.
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:34 am

In a hotel situation for 2.4GHz be sure to only use 20MHz channels, protocol=802.11, set distance=indoors, ht-guard-interval=long and only use channels 1,6 & 11 (2412,2437 and 2462).

The access rules you already know about.
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz
 
coldspot
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:33 pm

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:44 am

In a hotel situation for 2.4GHz be sure to only use 20MHz channels, protocol=802.11, set distance=indoors, ht-guard-interval=long and only use channels 1,6 & 11 (2412,2437 and 2462).

The access rules you already know about.
Why to use 20 Mhz and why 1,6 and 11 channel? Can you please explain?
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:54 am

To minimise interference between neighbouring accesspoints.
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:49 pm

In a hotel situation for 2.4GHz be sure to only use 20MHz channels, protocol=802.11, set distance=indoors, ht-guard-interval=long and only use channels 1,6 & 11 (2412,2437 and 2462).

The access rules you already know about.
Why to use 20 Mhz and why 1,6 and 11 channel? Can you please explain?
In the 2.4GHz spectrum there are 11 channels each separated by 5MHz (13 or 14 in some countries)so with 20MHz Channel width there are only 3 channels that do not overlap. Channels 1,6 & 11 are the only ones you can use that allow AP's to operate in the same space without interfering. Using 40MHz channel width only decreases the number of non-overlapping channels.

In a hospitality site we configure the 3 channels so that adjacent AP's frequencies do not overlap, adjust the tx power so the coverage only just overlaps between AP's and we use access lists to ensure clients with a weak signal are forced to find a better AP.

Capsman (6.40.x) now allows you to specify the three frequencies (2412. 2437 & 2462) in theconfiguration and the AP's will workout which of the 3 channels is best to use. It can also remember the channel choice for faster startup from reboot, and you can specify how often they recheck to see if they are on the best channel.

Image
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz
 
Deaqui
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: cAP Lite in Hotel: 14 Access Point Setting

Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:45 pm

Hello Stef84,
Did you manage to implement the installation?
What speeds do you offer customers with Cap lite?
I am thinking about installing them in a small hotel with 30 rooms and I would like to know what result they have given you.

Greetings.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 22 guests