Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
karyal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:09 pm

Ap problem on one sector - poor performance

Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:43 pm

Hi, i have a strange problem on a sector.
Connected clients vary from under 1 km to over 20, and performances are quite poor (2 megs to the client, one meg to the ap)
Radio is quite loaded, 27 clients, and sometimes ack timeout is wild, around 400

The first idea that came to my mind was there are too much people connected, and some of them are either too far or have signal problem (because of the ack timeout).

I started to remove people from that sector, starting from the ones with higher ack timeout and lower signal (and some ack timeout are strange, 350 with a distance of 2 km and an 80 signal level)

I had no luck in fixing things, eveng going down to less than 15 connected users..
I started removing all of the people and testing each connection and this quite always good (with most of them at 9 mbps hdx)

I checked for interference, but the behaviour is consistent on every frequency (5 ghz)

I'm running out of ideas....
 
brasileottanta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:52 am

Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:08 am

Hi

I have identical probs , but in 2.4GHZ band. I reduce ( but no solving ) the effect switching from B to G mode ..

With 9 / 10 client every work .

what type of board you have ? And what type of card ?

Bye
 
User avatar
rickard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 1:29 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:23 am

Hi

I do have the same problems her to :-( i have 8 users on a RB532 and this is on one sector of 4 , i have tryed every chanel but no luck i have switch the antenna and coax and the radio card.... the only thing left is the RB532 card... the speed on that sector is max 512 kb to 1 mbits...
the oteher 3 ones have 12-25 mbits...

Thats trange...

//Rickard
 
karyal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:09 pm

Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:53 am

Hi

I have identical probs , but in 2.4GHZ band. I reduce ( but no solving ) the effect switching from B to G mode ..

With 9 / 10 client every work .

what type of board you have ? And what type of card ?

Bye
rb532 - cm9
 
karyal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:09 pm

Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:58 am

Hi

I do have the same problems her to :-( i have 8 users on a RB532 and this is on one sector of 4 , i have tryed every chanel but no luck i have switch the antenna and coax and the radio card.... the only thing left is the RB532 card... the speed on that sector is max 512 kb to 1 mbits...
the oteher 3 ones have 12-25 mbits...

Thats trange...

//Rickard
At least i'm not the only one :)
The only thing i noticed that's strange is that even if bandwith usage is higher on download then on upload (far higher, up to 6:1 ratio) the packet rate is pretty much the same (and high, around 1000 pps at 2 mbps which is REALLY high in my experience).
as it happens to you some other sector are much more loaded (up to 38 clients) and use much more bandwith, with no problems.
I suspect the problem is p2p related, as we do not limit p2p usage (nor we want to).
I'm trying a thing to fix it, so far it seems to be working.. cross you fngers, will report..
Bye,
Ricky
 
brasileottanta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:52 am

Tue Nov 21, 2006 2:06 am

Hi ,

but Karyal , how the traffic influence signal streght ?

Bye
 
karyal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:09 pm

Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:35 am

Hi ,

but Karyal , how the traffic influence signal streght ?

Bye
it does not, in fact in my situation there is no signal problem at all.
All the customers are connected with an -80 dbm or better.
The problem is that wven with good signal performances are poor.
BTW i also tried with nstream, but it didn't solve
 
maxfava
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:30 am

Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:51 pm

karyal,
What kind of hardware do you use on the client side?
Are they mexid B/G standard?


Max
 
User avatar
sidney
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: South africa - Pretoria East

Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:28 pm

Hi to all

we have the same problem here on our ap a rb500 with 4 Atheros AR5213
our ack times are from 56 to 322 too 360
i have swiched of our wlan4 with has helped a bit
wlan1 = noise -79 ack 56 only 2 clients
wlan2 = noise -88 ack 360 only 5 clients
wlan3 = noise -78 ack 57 only 4 clients
running b & g mode on 2.4ghz
two client can only link in b mode as they used to be able to link g mode

our clients are useing TPlink wireless cards

also odd one i am using a rb500 at home and my ack is 360 although
the speed is fine for me as we want to change and start using rb112 for the clients

last point we were told to use boosters so i have 1w boosters on each wlan with 120' sector anntennas

how now
sidney
 
maxfava
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:30 am

Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:16 pm

use indoor ack mode, if the client are far less than 500 meters.
 
karyal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:09 pm

Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:24 am

karyal,
What kind of hardware do you use on the client side?
Are they mexid B/G standard?


Max
MT rb 112 + cm9

It's all 802.11a 5ghz
 
maxfava
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:30 am

Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:37 pm

Try indoor ack mode rest default

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crucker, Urajmal and 33 guests