Page 1 of 1

Hotspot Setup Help

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:26 am
by randallr
I've just tried my first Hotspot setup. Followed steps in wiki example.

Client laptop gets the ip address correctly from hotspot. Can't ping the gateway.

Re: Hotspot Setup Help

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 3:22 am
by balimore
I've just tried my first Hotspot setup. Followed steps in wiki example.

Client laptop gets the ip address correctly from hotspot. Can't ping the gateway.
----
hello,
make sure your user as authenthicated, if not your user will unreacheble from gateway.
with hotspot system i think more flexible to make authentication first.

regards
Hasbullah.com
----

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 3:49 am
by randallr
Problem is that I can't get to a login page on client computer... Can't ping hotspot. Browser can't get anything.

Hotspot wlan1 ip is 192.168.100.1
pool1 is 192.168.100.100-192.168.100.150

test laptop get's 192.168.100.150 and gateway.

I'm sure Im missing something basic.

Do I need to setup web proxy seperately? Or something else?

Thanks

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:17 am
by SweetSunday
I am experiencing exactly the same problem - my client associates with the hotspot and gets a correct IP address from the hotspot IP pool but that's it. The user 'admin' with no password is already created yet I'm not even offered a log-in page.

Likewise I can't ping the hotspot gateway from the client, and can't ping the hotspot gateway from the other side of the router hotspot is set up on, nor even from Winbox connected to the RB512 which has the hotspot interface actually on it - from there I don't get a timeout or 'destination net unreachable' message, just a long silence and maybe a response rate of 1 in 20 pings or so, an error rate of 80%!

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:34 pm
by mipland
Hy, have you disabled the conn-tracking? If yes, the hotspot is unable to redirect the client to it's login page.
Have you seen my Hotspot howto? It's HERE

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:52 pm
by randallr
Connection tracking is enabled.. that's not it....

My test is on a routerboard 112. straight out of the box. enabled dhcp and hotspot packages.
Setup wlan1 and ip addresses, and ran hotspot setup.

Again, laptop connects to rb112 and gets ip address per the pool assigned in hotspot setup.

no pinging. no IE page can be displayed.

Any other ideas?

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:37 pm
by jarosoup
Does your Hotspot router have valid DNS configured? Does it have an Internet connection? The hotspot won't function properly if DNS can't be resolved.

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:55 pm
by randallr
Actually I'm on vacation.. RB112 has second card - acquiring Internet through hotel wireless and dhcp client.

RB112 can ping and resolve dns.

Hotspot assigns their dns addresses.

Test laptop does have dns.... will resolve to ip..

I've tried typing in the gateway IP in the browser. Nothing.

Question-
what needs to go in 'dns-name' on the profile?

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:42 pm
by jarosoup
You are best off leaving the dns-name blank - if it is invalid, it'll break your hotspot.

Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 2:51 am
by mipland
Follow at the letter my howto, and you will have a basic (but functionally) hotspot.

Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:59 am
by randallr
I changed the dns-name to blank.
Still didn't work.

I went through the 'setup' routine again.

Now it works.

Go figure....


Thanks everybody