Community discussions

 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

CAPSMAN - How to persuade clients to choose 5GHz over 2GHz?

Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:08 pm

I do not want to make "clickology" on each device to set "Preffered band" to 5GHz but want to set it somehow in CAPSMAN.
Do you have any idea?
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
darkprocess
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: CAPSMAN - How to persuade clients to choose 5GHz over 2GHz?

Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:19 pm

Use a different SSID name.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: CAPSMAN - How to persuade clients to choose 5GHz over 2GHz?

Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:40 pm

Thanks but it is obvious solution which needs entering credentials on each device. I am looking for "band-roaming" solution.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24141
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CAPSMAN - How to persuade clients to choose 5GHz over 2GHz?

Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:42 pm

This was discussed before. Given similar signal level, most OS will prefer 5GHz. But since 2GHz propagates slightly better inside buildings, you should have better 2GHz signal.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: CAPSMAN - How to persuade clients to choose 5GHz over 2GHz?

Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:30 pm

I know that it has been discussed but I do not agree ... most Windows's settings for WiFi is "do not care"/"Any" and IMHO they choose band according to particular driver implementation however I am asking if there is any way to control it manually with CAPSMAN.
I have about 50 computers in mixed 5/2 environment and 80% of them connects to 2.4GHz even the 5GHz's band is comming from same AP. I would like to manually move them from 2.4 to 5 GHz to "free" 2.4 bands.

I have been fighting for a few days with problem of 9 WiFi networks which have apperead from nowhere and polluted my 2.4 bands. There was no method to persude devices to use 5GHz and 2.4GHz signal has been taken as it was stronger but the quality was badly bad.

These rogue AP appeared to be installed in newly bought air conditioners. Imagine .... fresh full power AP installed in each room and interfering with configured network ... if only I could move users in CAPSMAN to 5GHz, there would be no connect/dissconnet to 2.4GHz "disco" during looking for solution.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1134
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: CAPSMAN - How to persuade clients to choose 5GHz over 2GHz?

Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:45 pm

Correct me if I'm wrong, but what you are looking for is what other people also asked before- band steering. A rather "hackish" thing in its nature, but is reported to work as expected on some other vendor devices. I had an idea of how this can be implemented on Mikrotik AP using RADIUS MAC authentication with some scripting, but, unfortunately, have never been able to find the time to work on this.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: CAPSMAN - How to persuade clients to choose 5GHz over 2GHz?

Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:00 pm

Yes. It is what I am thinking of .... but without radius please ... built in CAPSMAN as kind of easy ACL rule.
Do you imagine making scripts for each MAC? Unless you implement MAC list in ROS :-) which despite this particular problem could simplify many other things.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: CAPSMAN - How to persuade clients to choose 5GHz over 2GHz?

Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:38 am

Access lists will allow you to control what device connects to which AP but you have to manually decide.

Perhaps you could do some OUI lookup to determine 5GHZ capable devices or deny access for a while and see if they connect to 5GHz and if not then allow 2GHz ?

It would be a good trick if we could solve this but I haven't had time to look too hard at this.
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests