Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
pkcie
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:19 pm
Location: Ireland

SR2

Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:45 pm

Some Questions from a novice

I have a RB500 with 1 cm9 and 1 R52 the cm9 is connected to an 2.4ghz Omni.The R52 is for 5ghz backbone.

The coax (lmr400) from the RB500 to the omni is about 1m long.My clients are all connected to the AP through Osbridge24xlig and their signals range from -69db to -90db.A client that is half km away from the AP and has a good LOS is getting a signal of -87db.

Id like to improve the signal to my clients.

Instead of of the RB500

I have Just purchased an RB121 and was thinking of putting in 2 SR2 radios and shorten the coax to the omni and also get some high quality pigtails.Hopefully this would improve the signal.

My questions are.

1.How good are the SR2.... i have 2 cm9 2 R52 and 4 8602 (how they compare)

2.What pigtails would you recommend fro the SR2 in the RB121
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:24 pm

I would go for a higher gain Omni like 12dBi. If thats not the issue i would look at polarisation, bad connectors or something. I have clients connecting from 2km away using Linksys WRT54Gs and 11dBi panels getting between -70 to -80 on RB532 with R52. The OSBRiDGEs should at least perform the same.

/Henrik
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:00 pm

The SR2 is an excellent card, but I would not see the need to use it if your clients are not equally as powerful!

I agree with Diganet - Check your cables and pigtails.
 
User avatar
nickb
Member
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Southeast Kansas
Contact:

Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:35 pm

R52 is better than CM9, you could try using the R52 to broadcast.

We love SR2's, they are excellent broadcast cards, and your clients don't need to be "as powerful" for it to work fine.

I also advise using a 12dBi broadcast omni.

You should have no problem putting an SR2 into the RB532, but be careful about using the RB152 I'm not certain that it can supply enough power to drive two SR2 cards along with the R52 feed card.
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:14 pm

the SR2 does have good receive sensitivity but is it worth paying so much when the R52 is nearly as good... I guess it depends on your SNR and overall noise floor too. There is no point having a card that works down to -97dbm if the noise floor is at -90dbm!
 
User avatar
pkcie
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:19 pm
Location: Ireland

Thu Dec 14, 2006 2:56 pm

Thanks for the information.We replaced the coax and made it shorter 3meters down to 3ft and we got about -3db more :) the omni we are using is a Stella Doradus Antena 24 2360 Omni ... 10db polarity V beamwidth 10 degrees.


The signal has improved a (lot) to the clients

Now all i have to do is find out why my noise to the floor is so high...-92 probably something to do with the phone exchange across the road :evil:
 
Chipi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:02 am

Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:27 pm

The SR2 didn´t work with interferences.... not a good card for me....

I prefer R52 or Senao NL2511 (802.11B 200MW)

Regards
----------{Microcom Argentina SA}----------
Distribuidor Mayorista MIKROTIK en Argentina

http://www.microcom.com.ar
 
bushy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Ireland

Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:49 am

Even if the exchange is not even near the frequency you are using it may swamp out the radiocard ( i can't see a $30 radiocard having much in the the line of real filtering ) . To give you something to go on , have got a good "client connection " to one of those omnis at the far end which is connected to 20ft of lmr400 and cm9 set at "default" in MT for test , at about 20kms no problem. The "client " end was a directional + cm9 though but still .....
 
hgb
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 8:03 pm

Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:50 am

The SR2 didn´t work with interferences.... not a good card for me....

I prefer R52 or Senao NL2511 (802.11B 200MW)
how could you compare a 65mw card with a 400mw card ?
the R52 and cm9 are the same 65mw ,,

SR2 for broadcasting with 12 omin will give you a good -db in the client side , and if you used a better high gain directional antennas in the clients with small beam the -db level will be better ,

finally if you want a good recieve level but with higher much price for each client to increase the distance you may use the LS2 , which has also SR2 card built in an 180 MIPS mhz processor , but it just work as a client bridge , your sensitivity may be increased with 6db or more for each client :)
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:38 pm

Just because it has more transmit power doesn't mean its actually a better radio. It just means it has more transmit power.

Quite often, more power means more noise which hurts signal. I'm not saying the SR2 is a bad card, I'll probably be running that or something similar for my shot into town, but the R52 and CM9 are excellent cards. All it takes is a bit of reading to find out.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:14 am

The SR2 does have bigger ears tho

Ive seen Sr2 hold on at -92
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:19 am

I love the SR cards. Three of them anyway. I haven't been impressed with the SR9 so far. It seems that the SR2 with 5Mhz or 10Mhz set do me just as good as the SR9. It could just be that theres to much 900 crap running here.

I need the SR5s to make good links in New Orleans and I look at it like this, if you have the power you can turn it up, but if you don't you can't, now you are doing a truck roll to upgrade the radio. So it's cheaper to install the SR5 from the start.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests